We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,082)
Filter reviews
2,082 results
Traveler rating
1,219
527
186
87
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,219
527
186
87
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening reception across the street made to order omelets complimentary drinks private access surf hut great stay free breakfast outlet mall family vacation spring break atrium destin beach housekeeping sand code
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,044 - 2,049 of 2,082 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Overall, our stay was "o.k.," but I'm not sure we would book a room here in the future. Our first night in, our room smelled absolutely horrible -- a mixture of rotten bologna and air freshener! We propped open the door for some time hoping to air it out, but to no avail. We were so exhausted from the drive that we toughed it out and hoped it would be better in the a.m. Not so. Additionally, we had excessive partiers right next door who played drinking games and shouted obscenities from the hallway until 2 a.m. We called the front desk at midnight and were told they would send someone up to quiet them. It never happened.

The next morning, I requested a room change and we were graciously granted such. Our new room smelled much better and we were blessed with quiet neighbors, although even at conversational volume, we could hear every word they said. I cannot stress enough how thin the walls are in this particular hotel.

Our room was nice and clean, and housekeeping was prompt and efficient, though we observed one housekeeper washing our drinking glasses with what looked like windex and...her bare fingers.

The complimentary breakfast was pretty good with lots of choices and the made-to-order omelets were superb. We took advantage of this just about every day.

The pool was clean but very, very small. Fortunately, there were never too many people using it at the same time. The little pool bar didn't seem to be opened very often, but when it was, the female bartender was, without a doubt, the nicest employee we encountered during our stay.

The beach is only a short walk across the road, and we found most motorists to be very considerate in stopping to allow us to cross. Don't bother with the beach gate access code the front desk clerk will provide you with --- it never worked. Just reach through the bars and open the gate from the other side.

The hotel also offers a free shuttle (van) service to within a 5 mile radius. The drivers were always very courteous and friendly.

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MissFahsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! We were there for seven days. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant any time we needed anything. The room was very clean and comfortable. We made sure to stay on an upper floor to avoid the noise from the first floor. We ate at the hotel restaurant twice and had excellent service each time. Food was excellent. "Cooked to order" breakfast was excellent.
The hotel is located in a quiet section of town which made for easy walks to the beach. We were a tad disappointed that we couldn't even see the beach from the hotel parking lot. I believe that there are a few rooms that have somewhat of a view (extra charge of course) but not worth paying for because it would be an extremely limited view at best. The outlet mall is an extremely short drive away also. We would stay there again and would recommend it to friends. Even though
there is a short walk to the beach, it is definetly worth the price.

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DivaMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Great hotel. Our room was very clean and ready early. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The pool and hot tub were clean and we had plenty of fresh towels. We stayed one night before we checked into our condo for spring break. It was a busy night but everything went well for us. I would stay here again. If this hotel had a beach veiw I would consider staying the whole week.
Easy access to the beach just no view.

Date of stay: April 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2007

The hotel was clean and the complimentary breakfast was good. We requested late check out (our flight wasn't until 5 PM) and were given a check out time of 1 PM (only 1 hour later). However, the late check request was not passed along to the housekeeping staff and we were hussled out of our room at 12:10! I know, it's only 50 minutes early but....

I would stay there again but I will see what other options I have first.

Date of stay: February 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuffyDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2006

My family of four stayed for three nights in early October. It was a fairly nice hotel, across the street from a stunning beach. But compared to other Embassy Suites we've visited, this property was slightly below average overall, especially with regards to staff friendliness and the complimentary breakfast buffet. We found some staff members to be indifferent to the point of coming across as borderline rude. (Staff members with the kind of curt attitudes you might expect in NYC, but not in Destin.) Service was slow at times on the breakfast buffet. The variety of food was mildly disappointing. (For example, no ham or tomatoes for the cooked-to-order omelots.)

Perhaps more importantly, this hotel is in an area of Destin that is completely dominated by condos. Many of the condos are considerably more attractive and more luxurious than the hotel. Although the hotel is arguably less expensive, we wish we had paid more to stay in a nice condo. We think it probably would have been worth it.

Date of stay: October 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MemphisMojoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews