We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halligan hits the highlands with his ragged crew !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seafood Cabin

Seafood Cabin
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Skipness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opening dates for 2016: 29th May - 30th September. Every day apart from Saturday! The Skipness Seafood Cabin is a seasonal, family run venue that prepares and sells locally sourced, fresh seafood dishes. It also provides a variety of homemade cakes and scones. The Cabin is set in the idyllic village of Skipness, which makes up for its removed, some may say isolated, location with beautiful scenery, easy walks, beaches, castles and stunning views of the Isle of Arran. The restaurant aims to provide an easy going relaxed atmosphere where everyone feels comfortable and leaves well fed and satisfied! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Halligan hits the highlands with his ragged crew !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Dog,bike and Wellington friendly if you want the best food ,accommodation and views in an historic setting,castle,graveyard ruins , beach and woodland back to back what more could any family want.
We even returned with a superb takeaway puppy Finlay as a life time souvenir , and a reason to return so he can visit his mum !
A must do trip for mixed aged family trippers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janerees_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    37
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pirnmill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sometimes, I put my bike on the ferry from Lochranza to Claonaig and cycle here for the excellent seafood. Most of the tables are outside, so come on a nice day if you want to enjoy the place in its entirity.

The food itself - get a seafood platter. You can sample everything on the menu with this, and I recommend you do.

The food's expensive here, but it's all locally caught and exquisite.

Words cannot describe how good the Seafood Cabin is - just go there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AonghasScarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A restaurant like no other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This is, quite simply, our favourite place to eat in the whole world. If we don't visit at least three times every summer, we are miserable for the rest of the year. We love the food, the people and the place, and so do our dogs! If you like seafood, you really should try the Crab Shack experience - you won't be disappointed , and if you go on a fine day you will be stunned by it!

Helpful?
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb Fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a delightfull spot this little "crab shack" is in - views - mmm! - and food so mouthwateringly excellent - we were lucky to have a gloriously sunny day as only downside is you have to eat "picnic" style - so that means outside. But God was the food glorious - fresh - best mussles I have ever eaten - small but incredibly sweet - not from the "mechanical" debearding plants in some parts. We had a sharing platter of the best of the best - so much salmon in all its forms, oysters, scallops and the bowl of mussles on the side - with some lovely soft brown rolls and a truly excellent bottle of white wine (was tad sceptical on what that would be) - but very happy to say I was in Heaven on all counts. Well done to the staff and all whom produce such a delight - can't wait for my next visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgnetma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Seafood Cabin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Unique venue and certainly offers a different and most welcoming dining experience. I highly recommend the crab salad. I've had that every time I visit and not been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Cabin also viewed

 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to Seafood Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing