We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glencoe Independent Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Believe the hype!!!!!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Our 3rd visit to the hostel - last 2 have been 2 the caravans but only space at the cabin this time round. As usual clean, comfortable & nothing lacking. We watched deer in the field at the front of the hostel every morning & a variety of bird life. Plenty to do in the area and good eating places. Already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Wow - what another fantastic review! Thanks so much for staying again and for taking the time to post your review.

All the best
Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    37
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
79
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I've been going up to Glencoe for a long time & have witnessed the Glencoe Independent Hostel improve dramatically especially under the current ownership of Keith & Davina. I love this part of Scotland. There is something magic about the mountains & no matter if you want serious climbing/hiking or simply sitting with a nice beer admiring the views then the hostel provides a perfect base for you to enjoy whatever your pleasure may be. I've stayed in everything this hostel has to offer in the past from a dorm bed in the main farmhouse & the alpine barn to the old caravans & log cabin.

On this occasion I spent 12 days in one of the new caravans. I'd never stayed in one of these ones before & I was really impressed. The caravans are wide & arranged in a sensible way to make best use of space. Its amazing how an extra foot or so of width over the older caravans can make such a difference! To me the bathroom benefits most from this - gone are the body width showers with a tiny space in front of the toilet to step out into & in its place is a relatively spacious double width shower with more than adequate floor space to do what you need to do! Over and above the gas fire in the living room there are also much needed heaters in the bedrooms & bathroom. This made a huge difference as the temperature whilst I was there didn't really get above 5C during the day & slipped below zero at night. I also really liked the walk in clothes closet in the main bedroom, loads of space to store your clothes & bags in. The caravans was spotlessly clean & also provided everything I could possibly need for my holiday.

Location wise the hostel is perfect for me. Almost equidistant between Glencoe Village & the infamous Clachaig Inn, either can be reached in around a 20 minute walk. For hikers the Pap of Glencoe is a great walk & the car can be left at the hostel as the access path is 15-20 minutes walk away. Keith is a minefield of info on what to do in the area & also runs his own guiding company Go Glencoe. If the weather had been nicer I was tempted to ask for his services to tackle the nearby ridge but the weather was anything but nice so maybe next time!
Due to this wonderful weather I used the large drying room a fair few times - it really is a godsend for this naturally rainy part of Scotland!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Wow - what can I say! Thanks for your fantastic review, we really appreciate your custom over the years so thanks for taking the time to write this.

I'd love to head out on the hills with you for a day so I'm sure we can get out some time. All the best with your Canadian venture too.

Keith, Davina and Samuel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkmichael, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have stayed at GIH for w whole week during our hiking trip.And what a stay in was indead.We loved everything start from location( amazing views and easy access ), atmosphere( nice and cosy lounge ), friendly staff and the fact that we could come and go as we please! It was so nice to come back after all day hiking and make your dinner( lovely kitchen) and then just relax in peace and quiet.....In the mountains you dont really need too much, comfort and luxary and not the reasons we come here:) We will definitely be back in winter time with snowy hills to walk about.....And GIH is our place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parzni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Wow - what a fantastic review! Thanks for taking the time to write it, we really do appreciate it. I think you stayed in our hostel and it's great to hear you made the most of the area. We love to help people get out into the great outdoors and experience it first hand - it's why we're here!

We hope to see you again sometime.

All the best
Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Have been twice now to the Independent hostel and can't fault it at all. Both times we have stayed in the log cabin and its just perfect. Was given all the information we needed both times on how to get there and what to do when we did. The staff that welcomed us were kind and informative. Brilliant place to stay, excellent as a base camp, fantastic for walking around Glencoe and for touring up towards Fort William. Peaceful, no noise and the pub only a mile down the road!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks for your brilliant review! We do try hard to cultivate a relaxing and quiet atmoshpere, and to help you make the most of the area. Hopefully see you again sometime.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Needed a wee one night break from home. Stayed in the bunkhouse which had only the two of us in it all night. Staff were friendly and provided a good service. Love this part of Scotland and the walk home from the pub is part of the fun.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lornajeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for a great review - great to hear you had a good time.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay in the caravan at the glencoe independant hostel, this is my second stay at the above, first time in the bunkhouse and now in the caravan and both were absolutely brilliant cant praise it enough the bunkhouse was great after i done a ridge walk with two friends and the caravan with my wife and our dog was great everything you would need for a very comfortable stay just walk in and everything was there towels bedding even down to the washing up liquid would highly recommend this gem of a place cant fault it, and a great drying room for any clothes that get wet will certainly be back thanks so much for a great weekend JB

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
HI

Thanks for the fantastic review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your custom is always appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again!

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay and what a fantastic time we had, as very inexperienced walkers we decided to use Keith as a guide for the Vale to Valley walk. We felt safe and relaxed as Keith gave us lots and lots of reassurance along the way, he also gave us lots of information on the surrounding area including history and wildlife. In the "Valley" we saw some stags and dear and on the way back, keith spotted a cute mouse which posed for some pictures!! Thanks Keith.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene&Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Wow - what a fantastic review of my separate guiding business! It was great to meet you both, hope you enjoyed your last night few nights in Glencoe and weren't too sore after the walk!

All the best
Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe
4.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
334 reviews
2.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
878 reviews
5.0 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
475 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe Independent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe Independent Hostel

Property: Glencoe Independent Hostel
Address: Glencoe | Near Ballachulish, PH49 4HX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Glencoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer great value accommodation for groups, adventurous families and individuals in the rural heart of Glencoe. The accommodation comprises of our communal style Hostel with open fire in sitting room and Alpine Bunkhouse and our private pet friendly self catering Caravans (4 new, 1 economy) and Log Cabin. We can cater for individual travellers and large groups alike as well as those on a budget with private and family rooms often available. Whichever you choose, you can expect a friendly welcome at any time of the year.Free wifi in reception, top class drying room and STUNNING views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Glencoe Independent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencoe Independent Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing