We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Camping” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Squirrel Campsite Glencoe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Squirrel Campsite Glencoe
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Visited many times so thought it high time I wrote a review. If you want glamping go elsewhere. This place is a piece of history and tries very hard to keep camping camping!
Plenty of fireplaces spread across 22 acres of natural wild glencoe valley next to the moody river coe. Majestic views. Updated shower facilities (best thing they did for years)
Sometimes they even give you free fire wood. Camp in the trees, open land or next to the river. Has an ultra quiet zone.
Staffed early til late. Eccentric handpainted signs decorate the site. At night on a busy weekend the place is dotted with campfires and a great atmosphere. Please don't come here for late night drinking or noise. Their is a great pub just down the lane with bands on weekends. Always a good place to go. Open all year. A gem. P.s Hello Jim ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Higherbranches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    61
    8
    17
    13
See reviews for
41
63
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at this campsite on our way to Skye and stopped for a night on the way home too- we loved it so much. Good facilities and great to have the option of lighting a camp-fire with fire-wood areas. The camp-site staff were friendly and the location is absolutely stunning with the river running through a stone shore- definitely would visit again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this campsite twice this year and enjoyed it both times. As it is quiet a long drive from our home I held my fingers crossed through the whole car drive with a bored toddler in the back, hoping the site will make up for it and it definitely did. Beautiful surroundings , the mountains look so majestatic especially at sunset it was absolutely stunning and given the history of the place a bit scary:). The river provided lots of entertainment for our 4-year old and so did the little stream on the other side where she spend good few hours playing with other children. The idea of families only pitches is really good as it gives the kids more opportunities to make new friends and keeps one away from a more party - minded crowd although we couldn't possibly complain about it - both times the 11 o'clock curfew was respected by other campers and it was fairly quiet at night. The facilities onsite are great , better then some hotels I stayed in (opinion shared with some of the fellow campers). The staff is friendly as is the gentelman running this place , chatty but by no means overbearing. The pub down the road serves nice food at reasonable prices. The only downsides - midgets, lots and lots of midgets and the nights get very cold a good extra warm sleeping bag or blankets recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Agnieszka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Was an excellent stay here, had the best couple of nights beautiful views form every direction, brilliant location, really good facilites and helpful staff! Loved the swimming pool lake, really nice feel to the place, lot of place for log fires, really clean toliets and showers, best campsite showers i have ever used, huge campsite with lots of choice in where to pitch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A beautiful location with fantastic facilities. was lovely to find a campsite where we could have a fire. the scenery is stunning as is the wildlife.
The toilets were clean, and the showers ho and powerful. washing up facilities were also available.
they also supply firewood which is included in the price and you can use as much as you want.
the campsite is withing walking distance of the local shop, museum, and the rest of the village.
couldn't be better.

Room Tip: There is a quiet camping area if you want blissful peace, however there are no fires allowed in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joss L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I've just returned home from the Red Squirrel Campsite and I've had the best time. The site is friendly, tidy and has great loo's and showers....including a free hairdryer, which was an added bonus for me. The site is family and dog friendly and it was wonderful of an evening having a camp fire, which did aid in keeping the dreaded midges away. I would advise that you invest in a bag of dry sticks from the garage in Glencoe to get your fire started, as the wood provided was quite wet. All staff were really nice and very helpful and it was no problem to pay to stay day by day, which is what we did. There is a great pub about half a mile down the lane (within walking distance), which offers good beer, food and live music. Don't forget your torches, as it is very dark on the site - there is no night time lighting. I would go back tomorrow if I could.....it's a very special place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wickedwooser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Red Squirrel is a great base camp for walking, climbing, cycling, fishing……clean with new toilets/showers (Porto cabins) helpful staff…….loads of room with quite parts or social camp fires areas river Coe pitches……Hotel a 10 min. walk away

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vwdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe
4.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.5 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
1.7 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Squirrel Campsite Glencoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Squirrel Campsite Glencoe

Property: Red Squirrel Campsite Glencoe
Address: PH49 4HX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Glencoe
Also Known As:
Red Squirrel Campsite Glencoe Hotel Glencoe
Red Squirrel Campsite Glencoe Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing