We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think of it as an addition to the Crieff dining scene.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barley Bree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barley Bree
Ranked #1 of 4 Muthill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Think of it as an addition to the Crieff dining scene.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

It seems rather inappropriate that the Barley Bree should rate one out of two merely in Muthill when I'm sure it could hold that position against much stiffer competition in neighbouring Crieff.
We have eaten there on several occasions but most recently for lunch. The home-baked bread was superb and the menu whilst not overwhelming you with choices was nicely balanced and even the fussiest diner would have found something to tempt him. The food was indeed excellent, the wine list gave a wide choice at reasonable prices and the service was attentive and friendly.
The Barley Bree is definitely worth a small detour if you're anywhere in that neck of the woods and certainly a restaurant that we will return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingScotsman92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    27
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
32
120
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights in june 2013 and it was the highlight stopover of 2 weeks touring central and east Scotland. The local food has a french influence and between us we ate 4 different meals over 2 nights, all of which were excellent. Food at neighbouring tables was going down equally well. Service was excellent from all staff from arrival to departure, at all meals and between meals. Well worth a big detour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Booked for dinner and an overnight stay. Room 3 (standard room) was clean, the bed very comfortable and the bedding of a high quality. I was disappointed though by the shower (electric) and the room layout. Only mirror in room was on the inside of wardrobe door which made drying my hair a bit of a chore. At £105 B&B, facilities could have been better. Dinner was good, the food being of excellent quality, with the exception of a sirloin steak which was extremely fatty. Breakfast was lovely- the bacon in particular. We enjoyed our stay however total bill was fairly hefty, with main courses costing £20 upwards.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend between Christmas and New Year for a treat. The room was excellent - very good quality furnishings, comfortable beds and all the usual facilities.

We really came here for the food though as that is what it's known for. The three course menu was fantastic. We had home made bread to start which was a great touch, as were the amouse bouches of spiced parsnip soup. Great starters ( guinea fowl terrine / red snapper), the venison was fabulous, as was the made to order tarte tatin. Great service too. The food is not cheap but it is worth it - good for special occasions or a treat! The breakfast was great too - they use very good quality ingredients that they don't try and be too fancy with.

We will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Received vouchers for Barley Bree from friends, we were advised to book dinner and what a wonderful experience it turned out to be. Room spotlessly clean and power shower brilliant. Menu small but varied, every course beautifully presented and perfectly cooked, service friendly and unobtrusive. First visit but certainly not the last, would recommend to anyone who enjoys excellent food and service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill_strachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Last week was at least our 6th visit to this wonderful restaurant and, without exception, the food, from the amuse bouche to the petits fours with the coffee at the end, is always beautifully presented and utterly fantastic. The French chef is an incredible talent in the kitchen and, although the menu isn't huge, there is something for everybody and I can guarantee you will not be disappointed whatever you choose. On a couple of occasions while making my booking I cheekily asked if their Lamb Shank will be on the menu that night (mouthwateringly delicious!), and each time they have made a point of doing so - such a lovely touch (you wouldn't get that in London!).
Add to this the fact that is is also a very pretty restaurant set in a centuries-old inn with original features and rustic charm, exposed brickwork, log fires, etc. owned and run by a tremendous chef and his lovely Scottish wife who really know their stuff and are very eager to please. We love it and it's always high on our list whenever we find ourselves in Scotland.

Oh, and by the way, I know for a fact that a VERY well known chef from the local area dines there on a regular basis, recommendation or what?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galefours19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had dinner here with friends. It did not disappoint - excellent in all respects. Friendly and professional service, fantastic food and wine, lovely surroundings. It is not cheap, but represents good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comrade98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muthill
6.1 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
3.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barley Bree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barley Bree

Property: Barley Bree
Address: 6 Willoughby Street, Muthill PH5 2AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Muthill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muthill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barley Bree 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful Perthshire less than an hour from Edinburgh and Glasgow. Award-winning restaurant with 6 guest rooms all ensuite. The menus showcase local food, such as hand-dived scallops, venison carpaccio,apple tarte tatin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Barley Bree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barley Bree Hotel Muthill
Barley Bree Muthill, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing