We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely short trip away from home.”
Review of Barley Bree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barley Bree
Ranked #1 of 4 Muthill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had the Barley Bree recommended to us by a friend so decided to treat ourselves to a night away and dinner.

The rooms are really cosy and comfortable - huge soft bed dominates the room (we had room 5) and there is a small but clear and practical shower room. Nice tea tray with free water and a little bottle of Barley Bree whiskey.

But it's all about the food. The restaurant is lovely - the log burning stove was lit so although the restaurant was quiet it was really warm and welcoming. The staff are lovely and friendly and happy to help with food or wine selections. The menu is small but really interesting and well put together. I had the peat smoked haddock with noodles, soy, ginger and chilli and curry sauce and other half had the watercress and spinach soup, main was gloucester old spot pork loin with Stornaway black pudding stovies for both of us. Delish. We shared a pear tart tartin for dessert and was truly excellent.

Breakfast was also very good.

Weather was awful while we were there so we didn't get out and about in the countryside but it's a lovely part of the world and lots of nice walks near by if you want to walk off the lovely food.

Staff and owners are great and welcoming. Was just criminal that the restaurant wasn't busier but think the weather was putting people off - I do hope so as this place deserves to be super busy.

Was a really nice mini break and we will definitely return for another visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 and was very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheehlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 221 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our second visit to Barley Bree and the food, value and service were all excellent again. The staff were friendly from start to finish including organising a special mothers day treat, the dinner was beautiful. They offer a simpler children's menu also but our daughter would happily have eaten anything from the main menu. There really is nothing to fault.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montgomery008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for one night and will definitely return. After drinks round the log fire we had a delicious dinner, graciously served. The cuisine is refined, and beautifully presented. Fabrice and Alison deserve every success.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Barley bree for 1 night in September while on a fishing holiday at nearby Lochlane and Laggan fishings. The room was really lovely with a wonderful bath tub relaxation after a long day fishing on the river earn; we had dinner which was of a most excellent standard and cannot be faulted in anyway the meal was excellent value and was truly delicious so much so that I am now regularly disappointed when I eat out. The staff are lovely and we can't wait to return in the very near future .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked an evening dinner and overnight stay for Valentine's Night having been here previously for a gourmet Wine Dinner back in March 2008. The hotel is quite atmospheric with very friendly service from the owners Fabrice & Alison. We were initially very suprised with our room since our last visit - they have since been modernised and made the rooms extremely comfortable... full marks! Our meal was terrific, starting with Champaigne & canopies followed with a beautifully designed 6 course dinner then coffees with Baci di Dama and brandies to complete the evening in front of a roaring log fire.
Breakfast was full Scottish selection and we were even presented with a loaf of home-made bread on checking-out.
We would certainly re-visit, but as the TV advert says " keep this a secret please".

Room Tip: Try room 212
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigG99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Fantastic food in this lovely restaurant , beautifully presented,wonderfully fresh food with great attention to detail from Fabrice
great friendly service , small family run restaurant with rooms ....stayed one night in a delightful cosy room with seriously large comfy bed .....would definitely recommend a stay here

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollycatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

On this, our third, visit to Barley Bree I find I haven't yet written a review. This may well be because I really don't want too many people knowing about this little gem. We first came here in November 2011 for a birthday treat, followed that with a necessary getaway to absorb some life-changing news in May 2012 and we are here again to celebrate both my birthday & a significant milestone related to the news mentioned above. As I write this is the first of two nights, my birthday tomorrow, and we are already thrilled. The welcome, the room (superior double as always), the food (inventive, tasty & fairly pricef) & the wine list (perfection) have been superb. As was being recognised & remembered.
I guess my message is - don't come - we want to keep it for ourselves but, in fairness to Fabrice & Alison, this is a lovely place.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muthill
6.2 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
816 reviews
3.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
594 reviews
3.4 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Gowanlea Bed & Breakfast
Gowanlea Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Muthill
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barley Bree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barley Bree

Address: 6 Willoughby Street, Muthill PH5 2AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Muthill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muthill
Price Range: $131 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barley Bree 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful Perthshire less than an hour from Edinburgh and Glasgow. Award-winning restaurant with 6 guest rooms all ensuite. The menus showcase local food, such as hand-dived scallops, venison carpaccio,apple tarte tatin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barley Bree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barley Bree Hotel Muthill
Barley Bree Muthill, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing