We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mambeg country house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mambeg Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Garelochhead B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2012

we stayed at this bed and breakfast for one night and wished it was longer.We could not fault it in any way.the accommodation was so comfortable and the breakfast was superb.dave was very helpful.highly recommended;

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisyOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

My Son due to start at Faslane, so good excuse to drive him up to visit Lochs.
Stayed at Mambeg Guesthouse overnight and Dave and Marion were the perfect hosts.
Convenient having the double rooms which were clean, comfy with good facilities and stunning scenic views. A good hearty breakfast was very well presented and lots of choice.
Excellent value for money, no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a night during our 3 day hike of The Three Lochs Way. When we made it to Garelochhead in the evening, we had dinner at the Anchor Inn and then Dave, the owner of the Guesthouse, came to pick us up! We ended up getting two rooms joined together: a gorgeous double and a cosy triple room, sharing a spacious bathroom. It was perfect for us and the dog had lots of room to sprawl out at the end of the day! We had a delicious breakfast the following morning, after sleeping like logs. I'm a vegetarian and I was well catered for. We also had packed lunches made for us which were perfect. When we were ready to set off again, Dave drove us back to where we had finished on the walking route. He also kindly took us past a pharmacy on the way, so that we could buy some more plasters for emerging blisters!

We were incredibly well looked after and really enjoyed our stay here. I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone looking for a bit of tranquility or a little bit of heaven after walking a lot of miles!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blobina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent two nights here on our holiday on the West Coast of Scotland. We were greeted by the owner Dave who was terribly friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location was stunning overlooking the loch and it was so peaceful - a far cry from the busy main route past Loch Lomond. The room was beautiful and had loads of space. Breakfast was yummy and Dave and his wife could not have been more helpful. This was a little bit of relaxation and peace and only a very short drive from all the bits you want to see in and around Loch Lomond and the Trosachs. This place is a gem and I will recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bignettyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were up visiting our daughter and family and what a lovely B & B Mambeg Country Guest House was. Location was great, greeted by a very friendly pony and goose!
The room was lovely, clean and every comfort we required, stunning views across Loch Lomand and area. The choice at breakfast was also good, choice of fruit, cereal yogurt and of course to follow a lovely cooked breakfast.. I always like the little touches and "Mambeg" didn't fail me, at breakfast the fruit juice and milk were standing in "ice" bowls to keep them lovely and cold nothing worse than warm milk or fruit juice! The little touches in the room were the complimentary shower gel/shampoo etc, face cloth also cotton buds and shower cap! very thoughtful a definite home from home, great hosts great B&B Thanks Jan & Tim & two Jack Russel's

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debono33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

perfect surroundings , excellent hosts , top marks all round to be honest , dave the owner was very friendly , and welcomed myself my partner , 3 kids and 2 dogs after a long drive from the midlands in england , , he gave us our space but was always around when needed , the room was amazing , freeview was a bit stuttery but we spent most of our time there asleep the first nite , the breakfast the next morning was to die for , marion made the best scotch pancakes weve ever tasted , so much so my daughter asked for more ,
either way with this place you cant go wrong for anything ,
price wise , we thought it was very fair , especially when i could take my dogs ,
home from home definitely ,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlam444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

There is a little gem in Western Scotland.
Head to Garelochhead and to the small hamlet of Mambeg
You are greeted by a goose called Daisy and a proud Shetland pony called Muirfoot Munroe.
Park up and you instantly greeted by one of the best hosting couples at a Country House I have ever experienced.
Nothing is a pain or a trawl.
The breakfast is phenomenol!
The accomodation like a home from home.
If you want peace, quite and some home comforts then head here!
Absolutely spot on!
And Classic Cars to boot ....................Heaven :)

Room Tip: Look tired ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martinj883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garelochhead
0.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 4 in Garelochhead
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mambeg Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mambeg Country Guest House

Address: Garelochhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Garelochhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Garelochhead
Price Range: $91 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mambeg Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mambeg Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing