We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little place away from the Tourist rat race”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mambeg Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Garelochhead B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant little place away from the Tourist rat race”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent two nights here on our holiday on the West Coast of Scotland. We were greeted by the owner Dave who was terribly friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location was stunning overlooking the loch and it was so peaceful - a far cry from the busy main route past Loch Lomond. The room was beautiful and had loads of space. Breakfast was yummy and Dave and his wife could not have been more helpful. This was a little bit of relaxation and peace and only a very short drive from all the bits you want to see in and around Loch Lomond and the Trosachs. This place is a gem and I will recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bignettyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were up visiting our daughter and family and what a lovely B & B Mambeg Country Guest House was. Location was great, greeted by a very friendly pony and goose!
The room was lovely, clean and every comfort we required, stunning views across Loch Lomand and area. The choice at breakfast was also good, choice of fruit, cereal yogurt and of course to follow a lovely cooked breakfast.. I always like the little touches and "Mambeg" didn't fail me, at breakfast the fruit juice and milk were standing in "ice" bowls to keep them lovely and cold nothing worse than warm milk or fruit juice! The little touches in the room were the complimentary shower gel/shampoo etc, face cloth also cotton buds and shower cap! very thoughtful a definite home from home, great hosts great B&B Thanks Jan & Tim & two Jack Russel's

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debono33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

perfect surroundings , excellent hosts , top marks all round to be honest , dave the owner was very friendly , and welcomed myself my partner , 3 kids and 2 dogs after a long drive from the midlands in england , , he gave us our space but was always around when needed , the room was amazing , freeview was a bit stuttery but we spent most of our time there asleep the first nite , the breakfast the next morning was to die for , marion made the best scotch pancakes weve ever tasted , so much so my daughter asked for more ,
either way with this place you cant go wrong for anything ,
price wise , we thought it was very fair , especially when i could take my dogs ,
home from home definitely ,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlam444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

There is a little gem in Western Scotland.
Head to Garelochhead and to the small hamlet of Mambeg
You are greeted by a goose called Daisy and a proud Shetland pony called Muirfoot Munroe.
Park up and you instantly greeted by one of the best hosting couples at a Country House I have ever experienced.
Nothing is a pain or a trawl.
The breakfast is phenomenol!
The accomodation like a home from home.
If you want peace, quite and some home comforts then head here!
Absolutely spot on!
And Classic Cars to boot ....................Heaven :)

Room Tip: Look tired ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martinj883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed to be near to Faslane base to see our daughter off on deployment.Arrived a little late and asked the host for a taxi number to get to the local pub he refused and instead offered to take us there himself.
The room was lovely and comfy and the view from our room was stunning.Couldn't have wished for better hosts.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Dave was there to greet us on arrival. Very friendly greeting, showed us straight to our room, gave us all the information about the hotel facilities then asked what our plans were so he could offer suggestions. Even offered to drop us in town later when he was going there. Village within walking distance, excellent pub with good grub in Garelochhead. Had a great sleep, breakfast was delicious and I could not be more pleased with the stay. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmuirone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed one night. Nice rooms, good en-suite pleasant dining room convenient and beautiful location.

Enjoyed both the evening meal and breakfast especially the homemade soup. Attentive but not overbearing host.

Good sized rooms, mine with a view down the loch. TV in the room and a big DVD collection to choose from. Although why you want to sit in your room watching a movie in such a nice location is a mystery.

Downsides: A little on the pricey-side (probably a consequence of being close to the Faslane base), although the evening meal was good value and very tastey. The total bill was higher than B&B's elsewhere in the area. The Freeview wasn't in full health on the TV with the picture freezing in mine and other rooms. We were told that repairs were in hand.

Free WiFi with no messy passwords with sufficient line speed to watch live TV on a phone (the 6-nations grand-slam decider).

Overall I would recommend a stay here. I suspect in nice weather it's truly spectacular and a bit of submarine spotting as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingalloverA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garelochhead
0.0 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
0.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,140 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 4 in Garelochhead
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardencaple Hotel
Ardencaple Hotel
#2 of 4 in Rhu
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mambeg Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mambeg Country Guest House

Property: Mambeg Country Guest House
Address: Garelochhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Garelochhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Garelochhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mambeg Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mambeg Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing