We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem in the heart of Western Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mambeg Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Garelochhead B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2011

There is a little gem in Western Scotland.
Head to Garelochhead and to the small hamlet of Mambeg
You are greeted by a goose called Daisy and a proud Shetland pony called Muirfoot Munroe.
Park up and you instantly greeted by one of the best hosting couples at a Country House I have ever experienced.
Nothing is a pain or a trawl.
The breakfast is phenomenol!
The accomodation like a home from home.
If you want peace, quite and some home comforts then head here!
Absolutely spot on!
And Classic Cars to boot ....................Heaven :)

Room Tip: Look tired ;)
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martinj883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Mambeg Country Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 64 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed to be near to Faslane base to see our daughter off on deployment.Arrived a little late and asked the host for a taxi number to get to the local pub he refused and instead offered to take us there himself.
The room was lovely and comfy and the view from our room was stunning.Couldn't have wished for better hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Dave was there to greet us on arrival. Very friendly greeting, showed us straight to our room, gave us all the information about the hotel facilities then asked what our plans were so he could offer suggestions. Even offered to drop us in town later when he was going there. Village within walking distance, excellent pub with good grub in Garelochhead. Had a great sleep, breakfast was delicious and I could not be more pleased with the stay. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmuirone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed one night. Nice rooms, good en-suite pleasant dining room convenient and beautiful location.

Enjoyed both the evening meal and breakfast especially the homemade soup. Attentive but not overbearing host.

Good sized rooms, mine with a view down the loch. TV in the room and a big DVD collection to choose from. Although why you want to sit in your room watching a movie in such a nice location is a mystery.

Downsides: A little on the pricey-side (probably a consequence of being close to the Faslane base), although the evening meal was good value and very tastey. The total bill was higher than B&B's elsewhere in the area. The Freeview wasn't in full health on the TV with the picture freezing in mine and other rooms. We were told that repairs were in hand.

Free WiFi with no messy passwords with sufficient line speed to watch live TV on a phone (the 6-nations grand-slam decider).

Overall I would recommend a stay here. I suspect in nice weather it's truly spectacular and a bit of submarine spotting as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingalloverA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We were really pleased with our choice of Guest House around the Loch. The owner was very friendly and helpful with information about the surrounding area, the room was very clean and we had a beautiful view of Loch Gare from our bedroom window. It was only a 30 min drive to Loch Lomond via a beautiful scenic route and there were lots of walks nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiusyGino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We have stayed here 3 times now as our son is based on the naval base across the loch. David and Marion are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend staying here to anyone alone as a couple or with children it is very quiet and relaxing, and the accomodation is excellent. Can highly recommend Marion's breakfasts too.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gino_667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Good location to explore Glasgow / Loch Lomond area.

Even though we somehow thought we were going to to stay in their "Family Room"(which looked more spacious in their website), our room was "ground floor room".

It was very clean, spacious enough bedroom and the bathroom was also spacious.
Only the downsides were that the bathroom had a blocked door which is connected to the Hall so one could hear us while we use the bathroom, bedroom was facing to woodland so we didn't get much view nor light(the weather wasn't great either, though).

There are 2 extra heaters in both bedroom and in the bathroom so that we could turn on and off whenver needed.

The stay was very pleasant, owner couple was very friendly and helpful, my kids never got bored as there were a huge collection of DVD in the dining room to watch for free of charge.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AmeliaDublin39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garelochhead
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
0.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 4 in Garelochhead
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardencaple Hotel
Ardencaple Hotel
#2 of 4 in Rhu
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mambeg Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mambeg Country Guest House

Address: Garelochhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Garelochhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Garelochhead
Price Range: $89 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mambeg Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mambeg Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing