We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salen Hotel”
Review of Salen Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Acharacle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Acharacle B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Visited the Salen on two occasions during our stay and on both visits the food and service was very good.We stayed in a fantastic lodge across the bay from the restaurant and would recommend a trip to this beautiful area for walks and exploration

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamlSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 154 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

We chose to have Friday lunch here on a wet friday lunchtime whilst holidaying in the area. We were welcomed and shown to a table in the conservatory with views over the loch and were served by friendly staff. The menu was varied, the food fresh and very tasty. We had a very pleasant experience here and would definitely visit again, possibly to sample the evening fare.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just come back from another excellent evening meal for 2 at the Salen Hotel. We always go out for one evening meal when we are up here and every time we have been to the Salen hotel the food has been excellent.
The newly built conservatory (which has replaced the old slightly run down extension) is great - warm, cosy and welcoming. The food was great as usual and it is all very reasonably priced (including a good wine list). I struggle to understand any reviews which refer to "overpriced" or "disappointing" - it certainly isn't.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLT_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Came here a few weeks ago with a couple of friends, the hotel has had a total facelift and is now a beautiful welcoming hotel with a nice front for customers to sit out on! The food unfortunately was average and slightly over priced. The owners themselves are warm and welcoming and have their children running around who are equally welcoming and very polite! I would go for food again as maybe this was just an off day on the food front .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After reading the reviews of this hotel we were a little wary regarding the service but we soon learnt that we shouldn't judge a book by its cover!

The service was fantastic and really fast. We were seated at our table with a beautiful view of the Loch and our meal was brought to us really quickly.

The food was beautiful and definitely deserves more credit that It has. The portion sizes are just right and reasonably priced. I can't wait for another meal here !

Whatever teething problems they had they have definitely worked through them.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank georgie8614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had lunch here with a group of friends. The food is above average pub grub (amazing fresh langoustine) and the beer well kept. They went to lots of trouble to make sure our children had a good time and were happy for us to order off menu to keep the kids happy. Decent inns are few and far between in this part of Scotland - definitely worth planning your trip to call in. Previously we have sailed here (there is a smart new marina with pontoons a short walk away) and the new management have made a big effort with their refurbishment. Haven't stayed here but the rooms look nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomtheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just recently returned from a week's holiday in the Adnamurchan area during which, we ate at the Salen Hotel twice. The food is very good here and the hotel looks like it's recently been refurbished. The staff are very friendly and the landlord is a lovely guy. The service, however, is not that great but the food more than makes up for it and the atmosphere in the bar was very good. Will definitely go here again when we next visit the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LickyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salen Hotel

Address: Salen, Acharacle PH36 4JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Acharacle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Acharacle
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Salen Hotel Acharacle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing