We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, in a superb area.”
Review of Loch Shiel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Shiel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Acharacle
Certificate of Excellence
Canonbie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel, in a superb area.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great Hotel in one of Scotlands most lovely areas. Very nice helpful staff, clean room and bathroom. Reasonable rates AND SUPERB FOOD. Easy to get to from the south via the Corran Ferry, good WiFi. Will defiantly go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 842A_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    20
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
26
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Loch Shiel Hotel is a small no frills establishment. From the design and size of rooms I assume that it is of Victorian vintage which gives it a certain charm. My room was large and comfortable with fantastic views. The evening meal was very good with a range of options available. Breakfast was a bit disorganised but good none the less. The owners are working hard to update the hotel without spoiling its original features and without doubt a very good grading this season will be excellent by next year. Beers good too!

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewen028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The young couple who renovated the Loch Shiel Hotel deserves a strong recognition. The comfortable rooms enjoy a very nice view over the Loch and the surrounding hills. The menus are various and excellent, you can eat in a warm atmosphere. We have been staying in the hotel for 3 nights and it is a perfect place for hiking hours and days in the Ardnamuchan peninsula. We look forward to coming back.

Nabil & Valerie

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nabil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We dined on the first night of a two night stay on the penninsular [we did not stay at the hotel].
The food was good as was the service.Unfortunately, we were the only dinners in the dining room.The pub and the casual dining area was busy.
The highlight of the meal was the fabulous Baileys Cheese cake with fruit compote.It was absolutely delicious.

Room Tip: We. did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Excellent welcoming staff ...great location....good food ....lively bar....could not fault anything.

Four of us were on a cycling trip through Ardnamurchan and chose the Hotel over the our normal hostel or bunkhouse. Glad we did because we had a great night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ming_Schming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at Lock Shiel Hotel, and my parents have used this hotel a few times. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The service, food and accommodation was excellent. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahnPaulstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acharacle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family had gone for Dinner tonight for my sisters birthday, and I'm glad we did! The food was excellent! It was very peaceful and welcoming and the new owners are doing a fab job, would recommend the place to anyone and everyone, definitely going back again

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerrymarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharacle
1.2 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
11.7 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
124 reviews
11.9 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
145 reviews
18.2 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
582 reviews
18.6 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Shiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Shiel Hotel

Property: Loch Shiel Hotel
Address: Acharacle, Acharacle PH36 4JL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Acharacle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Acharacle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Shiel Hotel is now under new ownership & new management. We are a small 8 bedroomed, family run hotel in the West Highlands of Scotland. Offering home cooked seasonal food, light lunches, evening meals in our friendly bar or restaurant. With views over Loch Shiel and the hills of Moidart beyond we offer a welcome escape from the hustle & bustle of your everyday routine. Great food & a warm welcome awaits ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loch Shiel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Sheil Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel Acharacle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing