We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Braw!”
Review of Garmoran Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Acharacle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garmoran Square
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in the MacRuari apartment, just perfect! Everything we needed was there. Enjoyed local walks, trip to Mull, bike ride, Arisaig games &dining at Ardshealach lodge&Loch Shiel hotel. What a great wee place! (Just unfortunate weather wasn't better,) but hey-ho, will definitely recommend to others. Thanks again...... :))))))

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HotelInspector14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review, glad you found so much to see and do during your stay and enjoyed eating out in the area. We hope to welcome you back to Garmoran Square in the future

Many thanks
Susan MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 50 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was the holiday of my dreams! Stayed in Tioram Cottage in 2011. Luxury at its best at very affordable prices! I had already read the reviews before and was impressed...but it was even better seeing it in person! Susan and Kenneth are exceptional in what they do! Comfortable, quiet, clean and yet again perfect in every way! With heated floors as well. The view...OMG!!!!!

The only negative thing is that I didn't want to leave!!!! A perfect getaway place.

Will be back for sure and can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Many thanks for your great review, it was lovely to have you come and stay at Garmoran during your holiday in Scotland. You are still the only guests we have had from Malta, but we would love to see more.

We hope if you are ever visiting Scotland again that you come and see us at Garmoran

Thank you for posting your photo's with your review, love the one taken of the deck.

Best Wishes
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just wanted to say a big thank you to Kenneth and Susan for such a wonderful week at Garmoran Square. The accommodation was everything we could ask for and the location was fantastic for day trips around Ardnamurchan. It really is a special part of Scotland – scenery, places to visit, people and amazing beaches! We have taken home lots of lovely memories so thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Many thanks for your great review, I am so please you really enjoyed your holiday in our area, we think it is a very special part of Scotland and it is always great when guests agree and remind us of this!

We hope to welcome you back to Garmoran again in the future

Many thanks
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just returned from a lovely break to Garmoran Square where we stayed in the MacRuairi 1 bedroom cottage. This was perfect for our family (2 adults and a baby), the cottage is extremely well equipped and Susan & Kenneth were kind enough to provide a travel cot for us. The area is beautiful and well worth the long drive out to Mingarry Point. We really enjoyed a day trip to Tobermory from Kilchoan which is about a 50 minute drive from the cottage where you can catch the ferry service. I would recommend that you sample the catering option that Susan promotes, we had a lovely meal on our 1st night which was in the fridge on our arrival and just required heating up. It included local seafood and venison and at £15 a head for 3 courses was great value and an excellent alternative to cooking ourselves

Room Tip: Sample the catering options that are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArcticMonkey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Many thanks for your great review. It was nice to hear how much you enjoyed our lovely area and your trip to Tobermory. Garmoran Square is a good base for a holiday if wishing to do day trips to Mull, the Small Isles or Skye. We were happy to provide the travel cot, we always welcome children and hope people find that the cottages are child and baby friendly.

We hope to be able to welcome to Garmoran again in the future.

Many thanks
Susan MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

... because I'm worried it will be overrun with bookings and I would never be able to get it again!

Just back from a short break. We stayed in Macruairi, which is a one bed cottage, but it is far from small. The living room/dining room/kitchen is light and airy with views on all sides. The bedroom has plenty of storage and thoughtful touches, including bath robes, an alarm clock and hair dryer - which you don't always see in a holiday rental. Even better you can plug the hair dryer in right next to a mirror - so infuriating when the only socket is miles away from a mirror!

The bathroom has a deep bath which fills up in no time at all and a marvellous power shower which really does wake you up double quick in the morning!

This cottage is the best equipped I have ever stayed in and is luxurious without being OTT and you feel you can't touch anything for fear of breaking stuff. A great selection of DVDs for all tastes and books and games are also provided if you just want to chill out and stay in.

We can fully recommend and have already booked another cheeky break later in the year. Really looking forward to it and seeing the hosts Susan and Kenneth, who are extremely welcoming and clearly have worked very hard to bring such a high standard of accommodation to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Many thanks for your great review - love the way your describe the cottage, think I will borrow some of your wording! I am really pleased you appreciated all the things we have put into the cottages, we tried hard to think of everything we would want when on holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Garmoran later in the year.

Best Regards
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just back from a long weekend at Garmoran Square. Stayed in Macruairi the 1 bedrom cottage. What a joy. The very best self catering ever! Susan is a lovely welcoming host. This area is so beautiful and the people friendly and helpful. Would recommend without reservation. Will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doreen346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Many thanks for your great review, we so glad you had a lovely stay in MacRuairi, as our 1 bedroom apartment this is a great get away for couples. So nice to hear how much you enjoyed the area and how friendly and helpful you found everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Garmoran Square

Best Regards
Susan MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in the Tioram accomodation for 4 nights in September and it was the most relaxing and peaceful few days i've had in a long time. The apartment is super modern and the floor to ceiling windows open out onto beautiful views regardless of the weather. All the fttings and fixtures are top notch and i couldn't fault it. The main bedroom has a huge jacuzzi bath and the silence at night is fab.
All the surrounding countryside is amazing and there's lots to do if you love the outdoors. We took our little well behaved dog with us too and she particularly loved the underfloor heating :). We will definately return and would highly recommend this place if you want to relax & unwind.

Room Tip: Tioram has three good sized bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Many thanks for your great review, we are so pleased you loved the interior and floor to ceiling windows, we really do believe these are one of the things that make Garmoran Square special, the fact you can sit and watch the changing weather, light and wildlife with Ben Resipole as a backdrop!

Hope to welcome you to Garmoran again in the future

Best Regards
Susan MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharacle
0.1 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
9.4 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
130 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Strontian Hotel
The Strontian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Strontian
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garmoran Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garmoran Square

Address: Mingarry, Acharacle PH36 4JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Acharacle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Acharacle
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garmoran Square consists of 4 luxury 5 star apartments situated on the picturesque West Coast of the Scottish Highlands. Each is unique and has been tastefully, decorated, with quality fixtures and fittings throughout — open fires, log burners, solid oak and slate floors, satellite TV, spa baths, and under floor heating throughout.Fantastic 11.5ft ceilings and floor to ceiling windows frame the stunning scenery. All bedrooms are en suite, drying rooms are provided and pets welcomed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garmoran Square Acharacle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing