We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning”
other travelers have booked this property
Entrance to The Old Sawmill stunning views over the bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to The Old Sawmill stunning views over the bay
Peaceful,Cosy&ComfortablArdnamurchan Holiday Cottage close to sea with stunning Views & Wildlife! Beautiful View from Idylic setting  over the Bay where Otters are seen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Entrance to The Old Sawmill stunning views over the bay
Peaceful,Cosy&ComfortablArdnamurchan Holiday Cottage close to sea with stunning Views & Wildlife!
Beautiful View from Idylic setting  over the Bay where Otters are seen
Rear Gardens
Relax in the beautiful gardens
Rear Gardens
COZY UP BY THE LOGBURNER or watch the birds through the windows on the feeders
Open Plan Living area
Kitchen/dining area
DoubleBedroom
Twin room  Bright comfy & cozy
One of our gorgeous Kits in the Sawmill
Double Room Red Stag WITH MEMORY MATTRESS
Hallway with map and info
Utility with Large washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, freezer
Kitty at the table
White tailed Eagle see by our guests
Mummy enjoying her scones
Garden Bridge
Slow Worm basking in the garden sunshine
Stags to FRONT of cottage rutting and roaring in the Autumn
Daily visits from our Pine Martens
Views down Loch Sunart to Mull from Glenborrodale Bay
The bay  great for fishing, watching Otters and Birds. Deer seen swimming in the Loch too !!
Glenborrodale Bay , cottge on right side
Our Pine MartenMummy  in the garden
Ardnamurchan Sunset
Aerial view of Glenborrodale Sawmill in centre
Local Stag adjacent to cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Glenbeg, Ardnamurchan Peninsula, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bianca C
1 review
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The welcome was so lovely! You can see the effort Mrs Garnett and her family pour into making the garden outstanding and the house beautiful and clean. From the welcome scones to the underrated amazing bathtub, I would highly recommend this cottage. For family, couples & friends, this cottage fits everyone! ❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much ! We truly look forward to seeing you all again soon xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H
Dumfries
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nature Lover's Paradise”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

For a start the image shown does not do the place justice. The cottage is beautiful as are the stunning gardens. Red and fallow deer can be seen in the field adjoining the property, pine marten visit regularly and a large variety of birds and insects can be seen all round. Within relatively short distances are some of the most stunning land and seascapes anywhere in the UK and the local people are friendly and helpful. Jane and her family go out of their way to ensure that you will have the holiday of a lifetime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2017
Thank you both for your lovely comments , it was a great pleasure to meet you and we loved your super photographs - thanks xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheron...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The best cottage we have ever stayed in with the nicest hosts”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location of the old saw mill is fabulous in glenborrodale,we had a wonderful welcome from Jane and Joe with a lovely welcome hamper and home made cake, the cottage is equipped to a very high standard,everything you could possibly want is there, the garden is a delight lots of visiting birds and deer to see most nights, the highlight for us was the nightly visit of pine martens it was just amazing to see them up on the window sill. We can't recommend this cottage highly enough,beautiful surroundings peace and quiet and pine martens what more could you possibly want.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Thanks for taking time to write your review. It was lovely to meet you both and I am so glad that the Pine Marten put on the nightly show for you and didn't disappoint ! They now have celebrity status and quite photogenic too. Hope that you get time to come back again and we all look forward to seeing you sometime xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben G
1 review
“Characterful accommodation, with the warmest of welcomes, in a spectacular location - we'll be back!”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Characterful accommodation, with the warmest of welcomes, in a spectacular location - we'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Thank you for your review hopefully you can stay a bit longer next time It was lovely to meet you bothx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiseste...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Week”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay in Glenborrowdale. The cottage is very homely with everything you could need. And it accommodated 4 adults and 2 kids just fine. Especially great to have a washer + dryer as we have two under 4's. The local area is perfect for running two little boys about. We especially liked Sanna, and the rock pools at Ardtoe. Also simple things like the stream at the bottom of the garden were a big hit!
Jane and family were superb hosts - near enough to be available but invisible unless you need them. And there were some lovely touches for our arrival.
Overall we would highly recommend the Old Sawmill, and we'd love to return sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Thanks very much for taking time to write your review, Its lovely to hear how much guests enjoy staying in our cottage, hopefully we will see you all again sometime soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect family retreat in the wilds of Scotland”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We arrived in darkness after an eventful journey, to be welcomed by a warm fire and a big smile. Jane had taken the time to meet us at the cottage to give us a tour of the internal layout and make sure the cottage cosy and ready for us to relax and enjoy our first night.

The cottage has all of the comforts of home, 3 large bedrooms that are thoughtfully decorated; the lounge is spacious and comfortable with plenty of room to stretch out in front of the log burner. The kitchen/dining area is well laid out with all the mod-cons you will need for your stay and a nice surprise of a welcome basket full of goodies and essentials.

Jane has taken the time to make the cottage user friendly, with lots of information on the area and wildlife you can see and is always available to give advice on the hidden gems that only the locals know.

At first light we were out exploring the grounds and were very pleased with the cottage, gardens, setting and location as a whole. The cottage sits well off the road (4 cars passed in 8 hours) and has lots of space for the kids to explore; even a small stream for paddling in. Across the road is Loch Sunart which offers more time for exploration and hints of the wildlife in the area.

For those who enjoy nature as a whole, this cottage is perfect, in the garden we saw all of the common garden birds feeding with the occasions visit of a GS woodpecker, overhead we were treated to fly-bys from both Golden and Sea eagles. In the evening we were visited by 2 pine martens, which really enjoyed the jam sandwiches we had left out and continued to visit every time we topped up the treat. The area has very little light pollution, which on a clear night makes this cottage excellent for star gazing and if the conditions right, a visit from the Northern lights.

The peninsular is renowned for its wildlife and during our visit and walks it just kept on giving, we were lucky enough to see (to list a few) golden eagles, sea eagles, red deer, hooded crows and otters (location suggested by Jane).

I would happily recommend this cottage to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review of the cottage, we are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay , maybe next time you could try our other property, House on the Shore where the Red deer and Otters reside ? It was lovely to meet you all and nothing is to much trouble - Thank you again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggiefor...
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely 'Get Away From It All' Cottage in a great location”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Old Sawmill is a great place for a relaxing holiday on the Arnamurchan Peninsula surrounded by lots of wildlife and amazing views. The cottage is very well equipped and has everything you could need with comfortable beds, a well equipped kitchen and a lovely wood burner in the living room. The garden is a real highlight with a bird table that attracts all sorts of birds which you can watch from the living room. We also saw deer in the field beyond the garden most evenings. We were also very excited to see 2 pine martens in the garden most evenings. They even jumped up onto the window ledge to take the food we had left out. This was a real highlight for us. There are lots of lovely walks in the surrounding countryside and a ferry which you can take over to Mull for the day. There are lovely beaches nearby and the lighthouse at Ardnamurchan Point is also a really great place to visit. I would definitely recommend The Old Sawmill to anyone. Jane the host is so helpful and answered any queries that we had straight away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Its a real pleasure to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay here so much - thanks ! It was really nice to meet you all. Hope to see you again some time x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing