We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely 'Get Away From It All' Cottage in a great...”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful View from Idylic setting  over the Bay where Otters are seen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful View from Idylic setting  over the Bay where Otters are seen
Entrance to The Old Sawmill stunning views over the bay Peaceful,Cosy&ComfortablArdnamurchan Holiday Cottage close to sea with stunning Views & Wildlife!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Beautiful View from Idylic setting  over the Bay where Otters are seen
Entrance to The Old Sawmill stunning views over the bay
Peaceful,Cosy&ComfortablArdnamurchan Holiday Cottage close to sea with stunning Views & Wildlife!
Rear Gardens
Relax in the beautiful gardens
Rear Gardens
COZY UP BY THE LOGBURNER or watch the birds through the windows on the feeders
Open Plan Living area
Kitchen/dining area
Twin room  Bright comfy & cozy
Utility with Large washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, freezer
Hallway with map and info
Our beautiful Pine Marten
One of our gorgeous Kits in the Sawmill
Kitty at the table
White tailed Eagle see by our guests
Mummy enjoying her scones
Garden Bridge
Slow Worm basking in the garden sunshine
Stags to FRONT of cottage rutting and roaring in the Autumn
Daily visits from our Pine Martens
Views down Loch Sunart to Mull from Glenborrodale Bay
The bay  great for fishing, watching Otters and Birds. Deer seen swimming in the Loch too !!
Glenborrodale Bay , cottge on right side
Our Pine MartenMummy  in the garden
Ardnamurchan Sunset
Aerial view of Glenborrodale Sawmill in centre
Local Stag adjacent to cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Glenbeg, Ardnamurchan Peninsula, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Maggiefor...
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely 'Get Away From It All' Cottage in a great location”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Old Sawmill is a great place for a relaxing holiday on the Arnamurchan Peninsula surrounded by lots of wildlife and amazing views. The cottage is very well equipped and has everything you could need with comfortable beds, a well equipped kitchen and a lovely wood burner in the living room. The garden is a real highlight with a bird table that attracts all sorts of birds which you can watch from the living room. We also saw deer in the field beyond the garden most evenings. We were also very excited to see 2 pine martens in the garden most evenings. They even jumped up onto the window ledge to take the food we had left out. This was a real highlight for us. There are lots of lovely walks in the surrounding countryside and a ferry which you can take over to Mull for the day. There are lovely beaches nearby and the lighthouse at Ardnamurchan Point is also a really great place to visit. I would definitely recommend The Old Sawmill to anyone. Jane the host is so helpful and answered any queries that we had straight away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Its a real pleasure to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay here so much - thanks ! It was really nice to meet you all. Hope to see you again some time x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jem E
1 review
“Outstanding Property”
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We would highly recommend this cottage, it was just perfect. It was quiet, comfortable and had everything you could need.

The surrounding views are wonderful and the wildlife was just lovely to watch. I photographed every bird you could think of, including the little mouse that lived in the stonewall out back and the local pine martin that does visit every night. Whatever time we put out bread with peanut butter it would appear about 15 minutes later. It was a real thrill to watch it and we felt very privileged. There were plenty of deer and bucks that came right up to the fence! I didn’t have to leave the cottage to take lots of wonderful photos. However if you do decide to go out there are lots and lots of places to visit and just driving out with no particular place in mind you can’t fail but to be stunned by the magnificent scenery, the mountains are just majestic!

Our hosts Jane & Dave were such lovely, kind people who offered lots of help and lots of tips about the local areas. Thank you guys!

The garden is beautiful, back and font and the little stream at the bottom of the garden just finished it off. We sat out to enjoy a glass of wine that was left in a little welcome pack by our hosts.

I really cannot say enough about this property. For us it was just perfect. I would highly recommend this property and would personally book again.

Thanks for reading,
Jacqui

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2017
Jacqui & Boys it was lovely to meet you and we are so happy that you got to photograph so much.Thank you for your wonderul photos of the birds & our Pine Martin . We would love to welcome you again sometime , maybe in the Autumn for the 'Rut' and all the gorgeous golden & red autumn colours, Thanks again for your kind & lovely review, Janex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueant08
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"Peace, tranquillity, scenery and wildlife - lots of wildlife"”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Put the kettle on and make yourself comfortable - this may take a while. Being keen photographers, we wanted peace, tranquillity, scenery and wildlife - lots of wildlife. The Old Sawmill info suggested a chance to see the regular pine marten visitors and this was the main reason for choosing this cottage. What we got was all of the above and the most perfect place to call our home for a week.
The cottage is beautiful, inside and out. I fell in love instantly. It is fully equipped with everything you could need and things you didn't even know you needed until you came across them. The log burning stove and the most comfy bed ever are among the highlights. On our arrival there was a wonderful welcome basket of goodies, a christmas tree and a roaring fire - just what we needed after battling through Storm Barbara for 430 miles. Jane and her family are lovely and so helpful. Their passion and enthusiasm for the area and the wildlife is infectious. There are binoculars, books and bird feeders dotted all over the place. Joe pointed out which direction the pine marten comes from and what it's likely to eat. Sure enough, we had nightly visitations and fantastic photo opportunities from the most beautiful pine marten eating the jam and peanut butter we'd put out. We also may have seen the elusive Scottish Wildcat - twice!! Once, in the garden, stealing a sausage we'd put out for the Pine Marten and another time it was crossing the road in front of us whilst we were driving over to Salen. Owing to the lack of domestic cats in this area we are claiming our sightings as real but obviously we can't be sure. We also managed to tick a total of seven golden eagles, one white tailed sea eagle, one otter and tons of deer off of our wildlife watching list. Now onto the scenery. We've toured most of Scotland in our motorhome and thought we'd seen it all but this area is truly magical. I was mesmerised every time we left the cottage to go exploring. From white beaches and turquoise sea to bronzed hills meeting rocky shores, Ardnamurchan has it all. The lighthouse was breathtaking in the storm and paddling in the sea on Christmas day (obviously in my wellies) in Sanna bay was a real delight. Another highlight for me was standing in the cottage garden, in the pitch dark, looking up at the stars or across the bay and appreciating the fact that there's no light or noise pollution. It's like you're in a different world - a world you never want to leave. Unfortunately, work beckoned and we had to return to reality but we really hope to repeat our perfect Christmas in the Old Sawmill someday.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
We really are so pleased that you had such an amazing time and enjoyed Ardnamurchan and The Old Sawmill, it is so truly aweinspiring and so special.Nothing is to much trouble for our guests so we are genuinely so happy that you had such a wonderful time here .
We would love to welcome you back and look forward to seeing your photos of the Pine Marten and Wildcat xxxxxx
Thanks again for the super review, Janex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in fantastic location for Ardnamurchan & all its wildlife”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed at The Old Sawmill with my boyfriend and a few friends in November 2016. I had been to Ardnamurchan before but they hadn't so I wanted to pick the best possible cottage to stay in not too far from the cake shop in Acharacle (sadly closed in November!)! The Old Sawmill looked fantastic in picures and we were not disappointed. We brought a camera trap with us in case we didn't see the pine marten in person but we need not have worried as we saw one every single night (twice one night or possibly 2 martens?). We saw red deer and fallow deer (hinds, stags and juveniles) almost every day from the cottage and a plethora of garden birds. During the holiday in general we also saw golden eagles several times and otters several times, including a whole family (female, 2 cubs and a male). One of the otter sightings was in the bay right opposite the cottage.

The cottage itself is very cosy with very warm duvets so staying in November was no problem at all. In fact you could almost sunbathe in the garden on some days! The log fire is a real treat and part of the reason we chose this cottage. The facilities/items provided are well beyond any holiday cottage any of us has stayed in and the welcome we got from the owner and her son was beyond compare.

In summary I cannot recommend this cottage enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & welcome
Liked least: Coming home!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
Thanks guys for taking time to review our cottage :) we are so glad that our cottage was everything you wished for and that you saw all the wildlife that lives at the Sawmill !! The otters have been quite bold lately as we have seen them several times and also a pair of Sea Eagles over the bay.WE look forward to seeing you all again for more live wildlife encounters !!! Thanks again for choosing to stay with us xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L
Lauder
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise”
Reviewed October 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A super well equipped and comfortable cottage in a stunning location. A warm welcome from the owners and a lovely hamper started our holiday on a positive note. The cottage has everything you could need, the gardens are beautiful and a truly peaceful location. Not one thing to complain about and we hope to return again next year,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super comfy beds
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
Thank you so much for taking time to review our cosy cottage, we are so glad that you both enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming all of you next year xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennieB19...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely stunning location. Wonderful heartfelt welcome. Cottage and gardens beautiful and peaceful. A great base to explore the whole Ardnamurchan peninsula and further .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thanks for your lovely review , so glad you had such an enjoyable stay ! Looking forward to welcoming you both again xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lissyinth...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is beautiful it is ideal for relaxing and enjoying the wildlife that is right on the doorstep. Or for exploring this stunning peninsula.

If you choose to stay at the cottage there is plenty to see from; pine marten, frogs and bats at night to bees busy during the day enjoying the beautiful gardens, the many different birds, the elusive otter down at the bay or watching for deer camouflaged in the land immediately outside the garden. Also we think the 'pine marten' is actually a pine marten family, as we were lucky enough to spot them every night eating the bread and jam we left out on the bird table and there was definitely a baby in the group.

Even if you don't spot the wild life, 10 minutes sitting at the bay eases all your troubles away.

Should you wish to leave the cottage, it's centrally located, perfectly to explore the peninsula in all directions, weather you turn left or right out of the cottage you wont be disappointed!

Inside the cottage is clean, and cosy and much bigger than the pictures suggest. Although it feels big, with lots of natural light and picturesque views,it still feels cosy. It is so well equipped you literally need to pack, clothes and food and that's it. Throughout the cottage has been carefully stocked with all you need, there is loads of storage for all your things, there is lots of information about the area provided by the owners, there is lots of wild life books and informative pictures in most rooms to help you identify what you see.The beds are comfy, the decor is lovely and very fitting. There is loads of activities for both you and the kids, books, games and much more that's if you can get them in from outside to explore (good for any rainy days). We went with 3 kids and they all thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Finally, the owners are genuine and lovely people. We were given a warm welcome from Joe and later by Jane to ensure we were happy when we arrived. And not forgetting the yummy welcome treats which were greatly appreciated by all!

We have already booked again for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2016
Well ! Thank you Kathy for your very kind words and we are really pleased that you all had a great holiday. Yes the Pine Martens are now a family and have been very busy showing off their new addition :) We have set up cameras to discreetly record their progress. The otters have also been putting in an appearance in the burn too this week !
We all look forward to seeing you all next year in August and if there is anything at all we can do for you please do not hesitate to let us know - Thank youxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing