We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second home...”
Review of Home Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glendaruel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home Farm Cottages
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second home...”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

What an experience!

We stayed in Cottage with a perfect garden and lovely conservatory. The accommodation itself was the highest standard you can only think of. From the furniture to the cutlery there was a high end stuff with the labels that could be found only at George St in Edinburgh. Everything tastefully decorated. I need to admit that the Cottage, despite the modern conversion, still had a lot of traditional details making this place very charming. We loved the conservatory with breath taking views onto the mountains. You were going sleep everyday with nice sound of the waterfall just across the road. The real fire place with unlimited wood was an fantastic addition to the cosy living area. Watching the Game of Thrones with the noise of burning wood, dull light and the warm from fireplace was amazing. You could easily say it is Game of Thrones themed cottage. Outside there is fully enclosed garden with access either from kitchen or the main doors. There is lots of space inside, we had a toddler with us and all his "equipment" was easily stored in the wardrobe. Place is vary warm with heated floor in bathroom. All together we think that the Cottage is the best accommodation in Home Farm Cottage complex. The local area is beautiful. The Home Farm has a great history dated back to 16th century. There is nice walk up the waterfall, it is well maintained with steps and rails. You could also walk along the road to see the stone gate, watermill and abandoned wall garden.

We had a really enjoyable stay in Home Farm Cottgaes, after couple hours you fell there like at home. The care takers Linda and Neil were very helpful. If you need internet it is available in games room, but trust me you hardly find time to go there, as the Cowal Penisula is very interesting part of West Coast.

Thank you very much Home Farm Cottages for a great family holidays!

Room Tip: Chose the Cottage as the enclosed garden and conservatory are very practical. This is the only one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucas37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thankyou for your review and we are glad we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The internet photos for these cottages barely do them justice! The location is relatively isolated, but very beautiful, the fixtures and fittings in the cottages are amazing - nothing has been forgotten! We stayed in Marjorie's cottage (4 star, sleeps 2), but also looked around the Coach House (5 star, sleeps 4) which certainly deserves its 5 star rating and has a real wow factor! The location is ideal for exploring Argyll and Bute, we visited Inverary, Dunoon, Rothesay. Had some great walks straight from the cottage, and had a surprise free tour of Dunans Castle which is just up the road. The on-site caretakers are most helpful and keep the whole site immaculate. We could not have had a better week's holiday and this cottage is undoubtedly the best SC cottage we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLJDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thankyou for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Glendaruel is certainly a beautiful part of the country and we are happy that you found our cottages a great base for exploring. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed in the Stables cottage. This was undoubtedly the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in. Classified as 4 star, should be 5. Attention to detail is superb. The furnishings are of high quality and your comfort is assured with two comfy leather sofas, an armchair, log burner (all fuel included), and all mod cons in the kitchen. They even provide washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets so no need to take these. High end 'products' are supplied in the bathroom and the main bedroom is large and comfortable. Location is great as long as you like walking and incredible scenery. Good walks from the door. There is no mobile phone signal (which we loved!) but wifi is available in the games room. We had a lovely relaxing week.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank beachstomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Stables cottage and thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Where to begin..........
The Coach House at Glendaruel is beyond stunning and such a tranquil relaxing get away, that we cannot wait to go back.

The quality of the refurbishments is exceptional and it is lovely to see such a perfect mix of modern convenience and design in a development whilst being respectful of its origins.
The condition the estates are kept in is a credit to the staff and the level of cleanliness was also above exceptional, so much so we questioned if we were the first people to ever stay!

I would have no hesitation in recommending your beautiful lodges, the added bonus is that we can bring along our little four legged member of the family and he had an absolute ball.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeyv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline S, Owner at Home Farm Cottages, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad that you, your family and your four legged friend enjoyed your stay in The Coach House and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This is our first visit to Home Farm Cottages. We were so impressed with the standard of the accommodation, facilities and walks. All walks are well maintained and of varying levels. Walked to the top of the mountain where the views were amazing reaching past Bute and on to the
Mull of Kintyre. The waterfalls across the road are beautiful. The games room in the "Cow Shed" has fantastic facilities; full size snooker table, table tennis and a darts board. There is a caretaker on site to make sure that all properties are kept to the standard expected. Loads to see and do around; Otter Ferry (not a ferry!), Portavadie, Tarbet, Byte, and our favourite beach at Kilbride Bay. I would highly recommend Home Farm Cottages for small or large parties of people wanting to enjoy the peace and quiet, as well as a great base to expeience the beauty of Argyll.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beefy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed in The Dairy last October and had a brilliant time. What a beautiful setting, very well kept accommodation. Plenty to see in the surrounding area, went to Loch Fyne Oyster Bar and Restaurant and had a lovely meal, great walks on the doorstep. I can't wait to go back, we were very lucky with the weather and took some fantastic photos.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed in Highland Cottage on a weekend break with a group of friends. The facilities within the cottage were of the highest standard and we all had a very enjoyable and comfortable break.
The games room which has a free wi-fi connection was a real bonus in the evenings. It has a full size snooker table along with table tennis and darts facilities. Would definately return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendaruel
0.0 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portavadie
Portavadie
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clan Cottages
Clan Cottages
#1 of 1 in Kilmore
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glendaruel Caravan Park
Glendaruel Caravan Park
#1 of 3 in Glendaruel
31 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Home Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Farm Cottages

Property: Home Farm Cottages
Address: Glendaruel, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Glendaruel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glendaruel
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Home Farm Cottages Glendaruel, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing