We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect property, perfect trip”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 35
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Imogen D
1 review
“Perfect property, perfect trip”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

Amazing property, beautiful location and in excellent condition. A pretty perfect trip - couldn’t have asked for better service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you for mentioning the standard of service. We do our best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lloydscot
glasgow
1 review
“Couldn't ask for more!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in April 2018

A group large group 20+ of us stayed here in April 2018 to celebrate a 30th birthday and had an amazing time!

House is full of character, rooms are lovely, and surrounding area is beautiful. We ordered the hot tub which was just as you'd expect, great!

We took full advantage of the darts, snooker table, walks, tennis court and even managed a game of football out front.
In the evenings we all gathered around the one huge table in the dining room to celebrate.

There is loads of space, and everyone in the group commented on what a great place it was. Some are thinking of booking up again for other another birthday.

Special mention to the staff and owner, John. They really did make a big effort in ensuring we had a great stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Thanks so much for the positive review and for looking after our house so nicely. We will look forward to welcoming you back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
das302018
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house, lots to do, friendly staff”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in April 2018

Stayed for the weekend with a group of friends for a 30th birthday celebration and had a great time. Lots to do from snooker, darts, football and tennis football to hot tub and sauna. House was massive with really nice rooms. Hot water was an issue at times but not a massive concern. I accidentally broke a pane of glass in the snooker room window and by the time I was up the next morning it was being fixed without a problem and no money off the deposit. Thoroughly enjoyed our sta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Glad it was such a great success.. If we have a well-behaved party enjoying themselves and enjoying the house, we don't get stressed about the small accidental breakages that can occur (and if we can sort them out without making a deduction off your deposit, we will always try and do so.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L500rra
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Something very different!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in April 2018

Myself and a small party of friends had the pleasure of spending a long weekend here...we had such a great time! The weather was amazing the grounds around the house where fab and dogs loved the space, kids loved the pool and hot tub and also running around the house which is massive!! The house itself has such character and so very different from anything we have ever stayed in...you won’t see one bit of ikea furniture in this place!! This house gave my imagination a run for its money leaving me wondering the history of the property! If your looking for something that a big group of friends can enjoy without falling over each other and can party without having to worry about the neighbours complaining this is the place to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
It was great to have you and your family there; thanks so much for coming and for taking the time to review us so nicely as well. We love having kids in the house and gardens, and the estate is certainly heaven for dogs!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham H
1 review
“Amazing house and staff!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

I have just recently returned from a stay at Ormidale House with an all male party! And what a stay it was..the house is absolutely beautiful inside and out. Cannot fault a thing. Arranging our stay was so easy and when we arrived the staff could not be anymore helpful. And once we were settled in you would never know there was staff, event though we knew they were there for us at the drop of a hat if we needed them.
We received our good house keeping deposit back in full with no delay. We will definitely be back and can’t wait for that time to come!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Thanks so much for coming, Graham, and for taking the time to review us. We loved having you at the house and it is always a joy to give back 100% of the good housekeeping deposit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosiefram...
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful house with all you need for a happy long weekend with friends and family”
Reviewed April 7, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Having booked Ormidale House for my 40th birthday and invited a group of friends to join me I was not disappointed by the beautiful house and grounds. It was a joy to explore the many rooms and facilities before the majority of the guests had arrived. The room we had chosen was beautifully decorated and in style with the house. The house has a great way of keeping the younger members of the party close but in a separate room fully entertained in either the games room, tv room or in the gardens. The whole party were able to enjoy the fabulous local ceilidh band in the huge drawing room on our first night after sitting outside midge free in 3 degrees for a fun BBQ on the terrace. The drawing room is very adaptable and easily accommodates all of the house guests in it, perfect for a strip the willow too. On our final night we had a belly dancer who easily used this room to shimmy her stuff and get the eager guests up to participate in a workshop. The dining room and kitchen are well organised for large parties of guests, although our catering wasn't perfect it was a delight for me to avoid washing up for three days. The hot tub was an excellent way to recover from ceilidhing and the pool although slightly cool was a great place for the kids to enjoy and burn off their energy. The football pitch allowed us to have an inter-house match with some other guests and kept our lads and dads busy in any entertainment gaps. We had a fabulous Easter egg hunt in the extensive grounds which I can recommend for any Easter parties. The beds were very comfortable and clearly this had been invested in by the owners, the showers might be a good place to invest next as they were cold in some of the bathrooms. This has been mentioned before but i do feel especially for older guests that it could be the one down-side to the property. I would certainly book the house again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for such lovely remarks. I am glad you had such a good time and we really enjoyed having you for your big birthday celebrations. We love it when there is a bit of interaction between house parties... and it certainly sounded like you made the most of the house and gardens. We have actually just invested nearly £10,000 in new hot water system and showers, so we will have to investigate which showers weren't performing for you. Thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look no further , this house has it all.”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from long weekend at Ormidale and already planning our return . We had a party of 26 ranging from ages 4 - 61 and everyone had a fantastic time . The kids loved the football pitch , trampoline and hide and seek in this beautiful , warm , cosy yet grand house. They also made good use of the playroom and were in the swimming pool everyday ! Whilst the adults enjoyed golf , tennis , bike rides and walking , all within the sprawling grounds. We enjoyed eating together in the dinning room every night whilst the kids felt independent eating on their own in the breakfast room . Nights were spent either chilling in the huge lounge by the open fire , board games in the t.v lounge or snooker or darts in the games room . We also made good use of the sauna and hot tub. Bedrooms far better than website suggests and the beds are very comfortable. Plenty of storage space in the kitchen and every cooking utensil you can think of. Staff on site were pleasant and helpful but never intrusive. There is everything you could need at this house but if you want to explore -visit the botanical gardens or one of the many beautiful villages. Our family have an annual gathering and this has definitely been the best house we have stayed in , in fact , the first one everyone wants to return to. Thankyou for an amazing time

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2018
So nice to hear these kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing