We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
74 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 35
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hlevene20...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A wonderful place to holiday with kids. There was so much to do on site! Games in the house, a jumping castle and a trampoline, walking through the woods - within the estate! - Plus soft play in the leisure centre in the town nearby (Dunoon?), and archery for the bigger kids. There was plenty to do, and I would have loved to explore the nearby beaches. Beautiful scenery too. Really enjoyed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2017
So glad you enjoyed the week - despite the variable weather. We love having people from far-flung bits of the UK and showing off our spectacular scenery to appreciative strangers. I hope we see you again soon. Cheers John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonschwab...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Half term break”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a wonderful time in this very comfortable & well equipped house. Plenty of space lots to do for adults & children of all ages! Luxurious beds, linens & plentiful towels. Somewhat erratic showers - but manageable!
Wonderful grounds & a scenic area.
Would love to come this way again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
Thank you so much for coming and for bothering to post a positive review - we enjoyed having your group to stay and would love you to come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abamberge...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Lovely house, was really perfect for a week with extended family. Kids and adults had a fantastic half term spent in Ormidale. A few minor issues such as pool at cool temperature so only a joy for serious swimmers, but on the whole would certainly recommend. Beautiful and huge grounds - we hardly left the property all week as there was plenty on site to keep everyone busy and happy

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
I am so glad you enjoyed it. We usually keep the pool at 22 to 24 degrees which is good for active play and swimming but not "spa style" - the hot tubs are there for those who prefer to lounge in warm water. Sorry if that was cooler than you wanted. Thank you for choosing Ormidale and taking the time to place a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra N
1 review
“A house full of history, charm and charisma”
Reviewed February 7, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Which bedroom to choose? They all have such character! We had the top floor to ourselves and the kids, with access to all other areas. Such a treat! You've got to get some friends together and rent this place and have a candle lit dinner around the lovely big table. Very special, very Scottish I think (as says a Czech girl). Such a unique experience and wonderful atmosphere with super friends! The owner John is so easy going too, and doggies are welcome!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2017
THANKS FOR TAKING THE TIME TO REVIEW US; YOU WOULD BE AMAZED HOW FEW OF OUR SATISFIED GUESTS DO BOTHER TO LOG ONTO TRIPADVISER! THANKS FOR THE KIND WORDS AND FOR CHHOSING ORMIDALE. WE LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU, THE KIDS AND THE DOGS BACK, SOON!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartRWi...
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Argyll Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Nestled in the Argyll hills, Ormidale is a hidden gem and the perfect place to get away from it all.

We stayed in the stunning Ormidale House and found it to be everything we wanted - and more. The house has everything you would need for a holiday and boasts large bedrooms, public areas and even a huge games room with a full size snooker table, darts board and lots of other games. Look out for all the amazing celebrity signed pictures and framed sports shirts - including one from Scotland's favourite son - Andy Murray. There are TV rooms with Sky TV on hand, a large dining room or lounges with real fires to cosy up beside on cold nights.

Ormidale is perfectly placed to explore Argyll but if you fancy staying put you will find a swimming pool, hot tub, tennis court, football pitch or just relax around the vast grounds.

The owners have spent a lot of time and effort making sure Ormidale offers the perfect experience.

We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2017
Thank you very much for the positive review, and appreciation of the effort that the team put into making Ormidale the best place it can be. The majority of our satisfied guests don't take the time to post a positive review, so we are grateful when some do. Andy Murray came to stay a few weeks ago and we have a photo of him in front of his signed shirt!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e0ghainn
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a tonic for the January blues.”
Reviewed January 26, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is not our first stay at Ormidale and will hopefully not be our last. I've stayed here without the kids in tow and have had a whale of a time, this time with the kids, two little ones and a teenager, and we had a wonderful time. Such a child friendly place with plenty to keep them occupied no matter the weather. The house is a grand old home oozing with character, clean and tidy with sumptous beds, and a pleasure to explore and relax in. I can't think of a similar location in Scotland which offers you this opportunity to gather together with so many friends and family under one roof in such enjoyable surroundings. We will certainly be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2017
Was great to see your group back, and thank you for the kind comments as well as the continuing business. We will look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully with the delightful wee boys as part of the party!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rblu5
2 reviews
“Beautiful Location, Excellent Facilities”
Reviewed January 14, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Had an excellent 3 days in this beautiful location. Stayed in the barn which was spacious and brilliantly equipped and attended a wedding in the main house. There was everything you need and things you didnt know you needed. We used the hot tubs despite the cold outside weather and the games room in the main house.

The wedding was beautiful held in the main room of the main house and had plenty of space for the 30 odd guests. The meal was held in the dining room. It is a perfect space and location for anyone considering getting married here.

I would recommend anyone to visit here for a holiday or an event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you enjoyed the trip and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing