We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely stay in a top location!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neil M
1 review
“A lovely stay in a top location!”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful birthday celebration amongst 4 families. The Old Barn is in a lovely location, so close to many of Argyll's best sites. The kids (and not a few of the adults!) loved the hot tub, pool, free bikes and games.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2017
Thank you so much for coming - and for taking the time to review us positively.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
586lornam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A wonderful stay at the house where we made full use of the hot tub and pool. Kids loved popping out for a swim whilst adults relaxed in the comfy house. A lovely spot to explore beautiful surrounding countryside and we had a great day trip to Bute and the coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Thank you for coming to stay and thank you also for taking the trouble to post a review. Kids always love the swimming pool - adults tend to prefer the temperature in the hot tub!! I am glad you got to explore the beauty of the area, as well. we are so lucky to be surrounded by such stunning scenery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser M
1 review
“Great place for multiple family gathering”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

An excellent 4 days spent at The Old Barn, Ormidale, comfortably fitting in 4 families with lots of space to spare. The kids loved the hot pool during the day, in addition to pool for which we had 2 designated hours per day dedicated to ourselves, while the adults enjoyed the hot pool at night. Set in beautiful countryside, the forest outside the back door made a perfect spot to have a secluded Easter Egg hunt for the kids.
There is a shed out the back with a number of bikes available for both kids and adults, which were used by some to take to the hills, providing excellent views to the sea and surrounding areas. Others simply went for walks directly from the house itself, while others waited until we had finished a delicious lunch at nearly restaurant “The Oystercatcher” – an absolute must.
A very relaxed weekend spent ‘getting away from it all’, having returned to Ormidale again, previously having had a great time staying at Ormidale House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
It is always nice to have repeat visitors, and I am glad you liked Ormidale Old Barn as much as Ormidale House. Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. Most of our satisfied guests actually don't find the time to do so. We enjoyed hosting you, and I am glad you appreciated our efforts to solve minor problems as they came up. Although we are not perfect, and never pretend to be, we always do our best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escape514...
1 review
“Memorable weekend”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

14 of us stayed here for a 50th birthday celebration. Stunning location and gardens, lovely to have a pool which kept kids amused, great hot tub outside the kitchen door which was used a lot. Great to have the use of bicycles too. House was warm and welcoming and the owner was very helpful and accommodating. Lots to do in the surrounding area. All in all a fab stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. Most of our satisfied guests actually don't take the time to do so. We enjoyed hosting you and I am glad you appreciated your efforts. Although we are not perfect and never pretend to be, we always do our best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertbro...
Gourock, United Kingdom
1 review
“My family had a good time at the old Barn.”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It was a " wow experience " and it was nice to have the whole family together in one house. We were a group of 14, and had an enjoyable stay.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to post a positive review. The majority of our satisfied guests don't bother to review us, so sometimes this site can look like we are worse than we are!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiP5
1 review
“A few disappointments...”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Upon arrival at the Old Barn, we noticed that the living area was not entirely clean. There was noticeable dog hair embedded in the carpet as well as several cobwebs around the ceiling. The general maintenance of the place itself was not great, with many signs of visible wear and tear. eg. chips in wall.

We were then informed our hot tub was not functioning. We were told an engineer would be over in the evening to try and fix it, however, nobody ever did turn up. Fortunately for our group, there was no party staying in the house next to us over this weekend, therefore, we were told we were allowed to make use of their hot tub. Despite it just being thirty seconds away, it involved walking over muddy grass and far more inconvenient than having a working one on our doorstep which we had anticipated upon booking.

Regarding other amenities, the sauna was good and fully functioning. I did not use the pool personally but during our stay there was issues with the shower area (broken from previous guests) which had not been fixed. Used tennis court and made use of rackets etc. however games room was damp.

A further point I would make is that the Old Barn is advertised as sleeping up to sixteen. Our party was originally to be sixteen adults (John was aware of this), however two unfortunately had to pull out last minute. Had they been there, they would have had to sleep on a sofa bed in the living room (open plan, right by the front door). Obviously this would not have been ideal so I believe this should be made more clear at the point of booking.

Regarding the bedrooms, beds were fine - large and comfortable enough. However, again, visible cobwebs in the room I stayed in. Running water in bathrooms appeared to be an off-yellowish colour so put off having a bath which was a shame as baths looked appealing. We were told that the tap water in the estate was not recommended for drinking so were supplied with plenty of bottled water for the duration of our stay. No issue with any of kitchen.

The setting estate and the surrounding area is stunning. I did enjoy my stay at Ormidale however had the general cleanliness/upkeep of the house been improved as well as communications regarding deposit (which was fully reimbursed, although delayed), I would have had more positive feedback. The biggest disappointment was probably not having use of our hot tub, however John agreed to reimburse ten percent of the overall price to make up for this.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
Thank you for the feedback; we appreciate you taking the time to do so. We don't agree with everything that you have said, especially regarding housekeeping - but we try and learn from every guest experience. The deposit was returned eight days after your departure, rather than the usual seven days, so apologies for that. Thanks for choosing Ormidale.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bren92201...
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I recently stayed the weekend in the old barn as part of a group of 14 and came across a few issues with the property.

We were told as soon as we arrived that our property’s hot tub was broken, but that we could use the vacant property’s next to us, causing us a slight inconvenience of having to cross 50 yards of muddy ground to get to it. We were also instructed by the owner not to touch the ‘temperature’ or ‘mode’ buttons for the odd reason it might confuse the engineers if the tub was to break down.

We were also informed upon arrival that the pool is only accessible at certain times of day (2 hours per property) which caused a bit of confusion and seemed pointless compared to just having it open to everyone all day.

We also found the bath tubs within the property unusable due to the yellow-ish water that comes out of the taps, whilst also facing numerous warnings not to drink the tap water. The owner did however provide us with surplus bottled water to make up for this.

The cleanliness and condition of the house came into question, with a number of cobwebs on the ceiling of the room I was staying in (Coll), whilst one of the walls in the living room (unsurprisingly not included in the photos of the property) was covered in chips and scratches, and the downstairs bathroom’s skirting board becoming detached and sticking out of the wall. In general, the house is ok to stay in for 2-3 days but of no standard where you’d live in it permanently.

The games room was also a let down, with a mediocre pool table and table tennis set up, both squeezed into a limited space, while the dart board came with one single dart to play with.

The owner did however recognise some of this and agreed to a reasonable refund.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
We describe ourselves as having a "scruffy old Games Cottage" so it is always a bit of a surprise when people complain about it being scruffy. Sometimes communication within groups in advance isn't the best - all issue like swimming pool hours are communicated to each party in advance and most of our guests are very pleased that their party receive 100 exclusivity for two hours per day in the pool. the vast majority of our reviews are 4 and 5 star and we are sorry we haven't satisfied this particular group.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing