We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend, fantastic accommodation!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ormidaleh...
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend, fantastic accommodation!”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our group of friends including myself had an absolutely fantastic time staying at the Old Barn and Garden Cottage in September. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and the weather was the cherry on top of the cake. We certainly plan to come back next year as we all enjoyed our weekend.
The property was clean and tidy when we arrived and had all facilities required to make the ideal weekend away (especially the use of hot tub)!
Making reference to the comment below, I can confirm the deposit was returned when the bank details were provided.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRamsay12...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT GIVE DEPOSIT IN CASH!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Being a bit green behind the ears. We handed over an £800 deposit in cash to John the estate manager. We left the place clean and tidy. No damages. Been trying ever since to get the money back only for calls/texts/emails to be ignored. It's nothing short of daylight robbery.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2015
This is completely inaccurate. The deposit was 100% returned to the person who booked the holiday as soon as they supplied their bank details. They will confirm this if asked. They asked for this review to be taken down and Tripadviser refused, even thought the person writing it dint book the holiday or ever deal with us. The person who booked with us said they would give us a 5 star review. Also, it wasn't £800 and the estate manager isn't called John. Apart from that, really fair comment.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The recreational facilities
Liked least: The Wifi was a bit dodgy.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LSinclair...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent - would highly recommend”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A group of 13 stayed here in May 2014 and had an excellent 3 days. The house was very clean and we were impressed with how spacious the rooms were. The kitchen was large enough to cook our meals for 13 people, and the 14 seater dining room in the house allowed us all to eat our meals together. All of the rooms provided towels and dressing gowns which was very handy to use to go in the sauna or out to the hot tub. The garden area outside was lovely, and we made use of the large garden table along with the bbq in the sunny weather. The private hot tub was very popular with our group.

The games room was a great hit with the boys in our group, spending a lot of time on the ping pong table especially. This was perfect to keep them entertained especially if the weather was not particularly good. The tennis court is not of the highest standard but it is useable and was great fun - tennis rackets and balls are all provided.

The couple who run the estate were exceptionally helpful and welcoming. They were on hand to answer any questions, and gave us advice on what there was to do in the nearby area. We had an emergency one of the nights and they were more than willing to help us with the situation. They were a very nice couple.

Overall it was a wonderful place to stay and we will most definitely consider returning in the future. Great value for money!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of facilities you are provided with - whether you want to relax or be active there is something for everyone to do.
Liked least: Midges!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Onsite facilities & helpfulness of the management
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fiona F
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing propery - very poor customer service”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the property in mid February 2014.

The property itself is a lovely building, but the interior is showing signs of wear and tear and could benefit from general upgrading, overall it was clean but not spotless. The bedrooms are small, but we fully expected this and they are all comfortable with nice beds and linens. The rooms however are in need of decoration, with chipped and marked walls, and generally could have been cleaner. The lounge area is lovely, large room which is furnished with comfy sofas etc. The kitchen is decent but not luxurious, and again, clean but not spotless. The bathrooms are OK, again, just a bit shabby but functional.

We found the house to be warm enough, but only by keeping the oil filled radiators running all the time upstairs.

We didnt use the garden area as it was Winter, but it didnt look great, bare earth/rubble with tables and chairs, so not ideal for sitting out in the Summer.

I think the property is a good comfortable 3* property, which is great but it is marketed, and charged as top end luxury and I dont think it meets this standard.

The facilities are generally poor - the swimming pool is dirty, with chipped tiles and walls, and in general need of refurbishment - the pool use is also restricted to certain times of the day, we were told we could use it from 9-10am - not ideal whilst you are on holiday and I dont think this is made clear on the website.

The games cottage is poor, whilst the web-site does indicate that this isnt luxurious we were still disappointed - it is freezing cold and damp, and has old shabby equipment, e.g. pool cues with no tips, table tennis bats which are falling to bits etc etc. The stairs to the lower level are also very steep so I wasnt confident leaving younger children in there unattended as felt this area was unsafe.

The tennis courts and practically derelict - an old net strung across an old court - not what you expect for this rating of property.

Prior to arriving at this property you are sent an email with a long list of rules/regulations and it really drives home that this property is top end luxury. We go away as a group every year and we have stayed in some genuinely luxurious properties which are far superior to this one. This property presents itself as 4/5 star which is mis- leading and meant we were disappointed with the reality.

We paid a £400 housekeeping deposit in good faith however we had real problems getting this back - this was not because of any damage/deductions from the deposit, the owner just didnt return it, then told us it had been returned to my bank when it clearly hadnt. We made approx 6 calls, and sent 3 emails, it was eventually returned around 3.5 weeks later - this is unacceptable as there was no reason for the delay, the owner was also rude when we rang to chase this.

Whilst the house was not what we expected in terms of standard, overall it was still a pleasant trip, however our dealings with the owner following our stay mean that I would not recommend this property - the owner needs to re-assess how he interacts with customers - customer service was very poor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The customer service from the owner
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2014
We have undertaken a survey of the last year's guests in the Old Barn. We got 93% of respondents giving a 5 out of 5 rating and over 80% giving us an excellent value for money commendation. This beggars my belief as a review. The people reviewing it weren't clients of ours. While they were trying to get back a deposit that we couldn't track to our actual client, the actual client was persistently trying to get us to expedite a refund of the full booking amount - via an insurance company - because one member of one family couldn't attend. The upshot they were aiming for was a weekend party for 12 with a net spend of exactly zero. I think they actually achieved that, too. We were also told that everybody who had attended had loved the house and wanted to rebook.

Most of the complaint here seems to focus on my behaviour as owner, which is quite ironic, given that I did reluctantly go along with their request and thus ensured there was a free holiday for all concerned. The whole thing leaves a bit of an unpleasant taste in the mouth. The swimming pool is opened on demand to Old Barn guests whenever they like, in addition to the two hours a day privately reserved to the Old Barn guests. Only four hours per day are reserved to the other parties. New games equipment for the games cottage is constantly provided and replacements are always available, as our welcome folders make clear. As it happens, the property has been redecorated since these guests were in. On the rare occasions we get any negative comments, we always respond politely and apologetically. On this occasion I think we have been thoroughly traduced, and these people have been a little bit less than straightforward!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a social gathering”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We visted early in March to celebrate a big birthday. We wanted somewhere that was easly commutable for the weekend from the Central Belt, somewhere we could walk, talk and enjoy being away from the buzz.

We found the social space in the Old Barn brilliant, the kitchen had all we needed, the dinning room was cosy. The open plan living space was great for mixing and the wee TV room was a great space for the 4 kids who were with us to enjoy themselves within earshot of the grown ups.

Comfy beds and lovely linen were a bit of a bonus. Bedrooms were not enormous, they were a grand for a restful nights sleep.

We did not make much use of the swimming pool but liked having a sauna and hot tub. It added to the sense of luxury that made this feel like a special event.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A proper space to socialise for a big group.
Liked least: No pub/ restaurant within walking distance
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the weekend with us and we hope we'll see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing