We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent - would highly recommend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LSinclair...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent - would highly recommend”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A group of 13 stayed here in May 2014 and had an excellent 3 days. The house was very clean and we were impressed with how spacious the rooms were. The kitchen was large enough to cook our meals for 13 people, and the 14 seater dining room in the house allowed us all to eat our meals together. All of the rooms provided towels and dressing gowns which was very handy to use to go in the sauna or out to the hot tub. The garden area outside was lovely, and we made use of the large garden table along with the bbq in the sunny weather. The private hot tub was very popular with our group.

The games room was a great hit with the boys in our group, spending a lot of time on the ping pong table especially. This was perfect to keep them entertained especially if the weather was not particularly good. The tennis court is not of the highest standard but it is useable and was great fun - tennis rackets and balls are all provided.

The couple who run the estate were exceptionally helpful and welcoming. They were on hand to answer any questions, and gave us advice on what there was to do in the nearby area. We had an emergency one of the nights and they were more than willing to help us with the situation. They were a very nice couple.

Overall it was a wonderful place to stay and we will most definitely consider returning in the future. Great value for money!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of facilities you are provided with - whether you want to relax or be active there is something for everyone to do.
Liked least: Midges!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Onsite facilities & helpfulness of the management
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fiona F
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing propery - very poor customer service”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the property in mid February 2014.

The property itself is a lovely building, but the interior is showing signs of wear and tear and could benefit from general upgrading, overall it was clean but not spotless. The bedrooms are small, but we fully expected this and they are all comfortable with nice beds and linens. The rooms however are in need of decoration, with chipped and marked walls, and generally could have been cleaner. The lounge area is lovely, large room which is furnished with comfy sofas etc. The kitchen is decent but not luxurious, and again, clean but not spotless. The bathrooms are OK, again, just a bit shabby but functional.

We found the house to be warm enough, but only by keeping the oil filled radiators running all the time upstairs.

We didnt use the garden area as it was Winter, but it didnt look great, bare earth/rubble with tables and chairs, so not ideal for sitting out in the Summer.

I think the property is a good comfortable 3* property, which is great but it is marketed, and charged as top end luxury and I dont think it meets this standard.

The facilities are generally poor - the swimming pool is dirty, with chipped tiles and walls, and in general need of refurbishment - the pool use is also restricted to certain times of the day, we were told we could use it from 9-10am - not ideal whilst you are on holiday and I dont think this is made clear on the website.

The games cottage is poor, whilst the web-site does indicate that this isnt luxurious we were still disappointed - it is freezing cold and damp, and has old shabby equipment, e.g. pool cues with no tips, table tennis bats which are falling to bits etc etc. The stairs to the lower level are also very steep so I wasnt confident leaving younger children in there unattended as felt this area was unsafe.

The tennis courts and practically derelict - an old net strung across an old court - not what you expect for this rating of property.

Prior to arriving at this property you are sent an email with a long list of rules/regulations and it really drives home that this property is top end luxury. We go away as a group every year and we have stayed in some genuinely luxurious properties which are far superior to this one. This property presents itself as 4/5 star which is mis- leading and meant we were disappointed with the reality.

We paid a £400 housekeeping deposit in good faith however we had real problems getting this back - this was not because of any damage/deductions from the deposit, the owner just didnt return it, then told us it had been returned to my bank when it clearly hadnt. We made approx 6 calls, and sent 3 emails, it was eventually returned around 3.5 weeks later - this is unacceptable as there was no reason for the delay, the owner was also rude when we rang to chase this.

Whilst the house was not what we expected in terms of standard, overall it was still a pleasant trip, however our dealings with the owner following our stay mean that I would not recommend this property - the owner needs to re-assess how he interacts with customers - customer service was very poor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The customer service from the owner
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2014
We have undertaken a survey of the last year's guests in the Old Barn. We got 93% of respondents giving a 5 out of 5 rating and over 80% giving us an excellent value for money commendation. This beggars my belief as a review. The people reviewing it weren't clients of ours. While they were trying to get back a deposit that we couldn't track to our actual client, the actual client was persistently trying to get us to expedite a refund of the full booking amount - via an insurance company - because one member of one family couldn't attend. The upshot they were aiming for was a weekend party for 12 with a net spend of exactly zero. I think they actually achieved that, too. We were also told that everybody who had attended had loved the house and wanted to rebook.

Most of the complaint here seems to focus on my behaviour as owner, which is quite ironic, given that I did reluctantly go along with their request and thus ensured there was a free holiday for all concerned. The whole thing leaves a bit of an unpleasant taste in the mouth. The swimming pool is opened on demand to Old Barn guests whenever they like, in addition to the two hours a day privately reserved to the Old Barn guests. Only four hours per day are reserved to the other parties. New games equipment for the games cottage is constantly provided and replacements are always available, as our welcome folders make clear. As it happens, the property has been redecorated since these guests were in. On the rare occasions we get any negative comments, we always respond politely and apologetically. On this occasion I think we have been thoroughly traduced, and these people have been a little bit less than straightforward!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a social gathering”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We visted early in March to celebrate a big birthday. We wanted somewhere that was easly commutable for the weekend from the Central Belt, somewhere we could walk, talk and enjoy being away from the buzz.

We found the social space in the Old Barn brilliant, the kitchen had all we needed, the dinning room was cosy. The open plan living space was great for mixing and the wee TV room was a great space for the 4 kids who were with us to enjoy themselves within earshot of the grown ups.

Comfy beds and lovely linen were a bit of a bonus. Bedrooms were not enormous, they were a grand for a restful nights sleep.

We did not make much use of the swimming pool but liked having a sauna and hot tub. It added to the sense of luxury that made this feel like a special event.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A proper space to socialise for a big group.
Liked least: No pub/ restaurant within walking distance
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the weekend with us and we hope we'll see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freyjam05
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Old Barn - the name says it all!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This property is, indeed, an old barn. Draughty, dirty and mostly disappointing.
We went for a friend's birthday and were dismayed by the state of the house - it was grubby, with dirty paintwork, ripped and stained furniture and broken appliances.

Despite explaining to the owners that we were there for a 'special birthday' celebration which would include a meal, there were not enough matching plates for everyone and none of the cutlery matched at all. The highchairs which were (eventually) supplied were old and dirty, and we were first of all offered one with no safety harness and told to 'put a duvet on the (tiled) floor in case the baby falls'.

The television in the sitting room never worked as the remote control provided wasn't the same make. 

The house was freezing - we were told it was underfloor heating but the floor was never anything except stone cold. The bedroom we were in had what appeared to be an internal door in an external wall, with a glass panel, which let in both the light and a chilly draft. We had to use the towels provided as a door stop, and use the heater from downstairs. 

 The swimming pool was cold, the walls of the pool were dirty and the water cloudy and uninviting. It's also quite deep, with no shallow end, so no good for unconfident swimmers or kids.



I'm sure this property would be great in nice weather, as it's in a lovely setting and there was a trampoline and bikes. The people who were running it seemed nice, if a bit bewildered that nothing seemed to work properly. They responded to our issues quickly and substituted the broken dishwasher for one from the shed. The urn in the kitchen was a great idea - constant cups of tea on tap!

To say our experience was not typical is patently untrue, there is a review from similarly disgruntled travellers on holidaylettings.co.uk and some on here for their other properties. To be fair, I'm not picking holes or looking for things to complain about, this is a fair representation of my experience of the house and I have pointed out the good bits too. The only reason we pointed out every defect to them is because we were concerned we would be blamed for the damage and wouldn't get our deposit back - there is no walkthrough or checklist when you arrive!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location - it was a beautiful glen
Liked least: The cold - not ideal with a small baby!!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2013
We had some problems with maintenance earlier this year, as a result of some very poor staff performance from late 2012. The staff have changed, the heating is working, the housekeeping standards are back up where they need to be and the response from guests has been positive. Even during the period this group had an unfortunate experience, we had some positive feedback from guests because they appreciate the amount of money we have spent equipping the place and making it lovely. Late 2012 and early 2013 have to go down as a blip and a dip. We tried and failed to improve performance with a management couple who were not up to the job. In the end that proved impossible. We now have the right people in place and are climbing again. We are sorry that anyone was disappointed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobel p
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Has potential, unfortunate experience”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The estate is lovely with its buildings and surround forestry. The beds ( I had a small double) was very comfortable with dressing gowns provided too. These were great for popping to the sauna, hot tub or even the jacuzzi bath (all recommended). All buildings ( I think about 40 + people on site) were booked out for the weekend - and there was always a supply of hot water. Unfortunately the out buildings did not have the underfloor heating working. (I spoke with next door to see if it was just us) Upon arrival we were told that it took 24 hours to warm up......and that it had been switched on that morning. First evening was pretty cold. I stayed in the end room of the house where the cold had made its mark on the external walls. The hot tub and sauna were lovely to use. Some of the shared facilities were not quite as luxurious. Inside you can see that an effort has been made with nice big sofa's, lamps, big TV with Sky and childrens play room. A small but easy improvement would be to have more portable heaters available and draft excluder's on the external doors. Oh and there is limited mobile signal in the property. WIfi access would be useful.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Luxury facilities available to use i.e hottub, sauna for private use & comfy bed.
Liked least: Cold & bits of building work which appeared to be unfinished.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2013
I am glad they appreciated our facilities, including the new hot tub and dressing gowns, but obviously disappointed that we only merit three stars. The underfloor heating did have a wee problem that weekend, and we supplied portable heaters. We had more available. We'll get some additional draught excluders. We'll keep trying to justify more enthusiastic reviews...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samhall1
1 review
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My friends an I stayed in the old barn for a weekend in February and had a great time. The living area was spacious and comfy. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and there was plenty room for everyone to come and go. Out the back door there is a hottub which was heated the whole length of our stay. The weather was sunny which meant we were able to enjoy walking and cycling in the beautiful area. As it was February in was cold so coming back to underfloor heating was lovely. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much bother. Overall it was a great place to come together with friends and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2013
Thanks so much. Even at a time when we had some difficulties with staff we were still delivering a 5 out of 5 experience to some guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing