We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a social gathering”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lorraine...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a social gathering”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We visted early in March to celebrate a big birthday. We wanted somewhere that was easly commutable for the weekend from the Central Belt, somewhere we could walk, talk and enjoy being away from the buzz.

We found the social space in the Old Barn brilliant, the kitchen had all we needed, the dinning room was cosy. The open plan living space was great for mixing and the wee TV room was a great space for the 4 kids who were with us to enjoy themselves within earshot of the grown ups.

Comfy beds and lovely linen were a bit of a bonus. Bedrooms were not enormous, they were a grand for a restful nights sleep.

We did not make much use of the swimming pool but liked having a sauna and hot tub. It added to the sense of luxury that made this feel like a special event.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A proper space to socialise for a big group.
Liked least: No pub/ restaurant within walking distance
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the weekend with us and we hope we'll see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freyjam05
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Old Barn - the name says it all!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This property is, indeed, an old barn. Draughty, dirty and mostly disappointing.
We went for a friend's birthday and were dismayed by the state of the house - it was grubby, with dirty paintwork, ripped and stained furniture and broken appliances.

Despite explaining to the owners that we were there for a 'special birthday' celebration which would include a meal, there were not enough matching plates for everyone and none of the cutlery matched at all. The highchairs which were (eventually) supplied were old and dirty, and we were first of all offered one with no safety harness and told to 'put a duvet on the (tiled) floor in case the baby falls'.

The television in the sitting room never worked as the remote control provided wasn't the same make. 

The house was freezing - we were told it was underfloor heating but the floor was never anything except stone cold. The bedroom we were in had what appeared to be an internal door in an external wall, with a glass panel, which let in both the light and a chilly draft. We had to use the towels provided as a door stop, and use the heater from downstairs. 

 The swimming pool was cold, the walls of the pool were dirty and the water cloudy and uninviting. It's also quite deep, with no shallow end, so no good for unconfident swimmers or kids.



I'm sure this property would be great in nice weather, as it's in a lovely setting and there was a trampoline and bikes. The people who were running it seemed nice, if a bit bewildered that nothing seemed to work properly. They responded to our issues quickly and substituted the broken dishwasher for one from the shed. The urn in the kitchen was a great idea - constant cups of tea on tap!

To say our experience was not typical is patently untrue, there is a review from similarly disgruntled travellers on holidaylettings.co.uk and some on here for their other properties. To be fair, I'm not picking holes or looking for things to complain about, this is a fair representation of my experience of the house and I have pointed out the good bits too. The only reason we pointed out every defect to them is because we were concerned we would be blamed for the damage and wouldn't get our deposit back - there is no walkthrough or checklist when you arrive!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location - it was a beautiful glen
Liked least: The cold - not ideal with a small baby!!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2013
We had some problems with maintenance earlier this year, as a result of some very poor staff performance from late 2012. The staff have changed, the heating is working, the housekeeping standards are back up where they need to be and the response from guests has been positive. Even during the period this group had an unfortunate experience, we had some positive feedback from guests because they appreciate the amount of money we have spent equipping the place and making it lovely. Late 2012 and early 2013 have to go down as a blip and a dip. We tried and failed to improve performance with a management couple who were not up to the job. In the end that proved impossible. We now have the right people in place and are climbing again. We are sorry that anyone was disappointed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobel p
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Has potential, unfortunate experience”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The estate is lovely with its buildings and surround forestry. The beds ( I had a small double) was very comfortable with dressing gowns provided too. These were great for popping to the sauna, hot tub or even the jacuzzi bath (all recommended). All buildings ( I think about 40 + people on site) were booked out for the weekend - and there was always a supply of hot water. Unfortunately the out buildings did not have the underfloor heating working. (I spoke with next door to see if it was just us) Upon arrival we were told that it took 24 hours to warm up......and that it had been switched on that morning. First evening was pretty cold. I stayed in the end room of the house where the cold had made its mark on the external walls. The hot tub and sauna were lovely to use. Some of the shared facilities were not quite as luxurious. Inside you can see that an effort has been made with nice big sofa's, lamps, big TV with Sky and childrens play room. A small but easy improvement would be to have more portable heaters available and draft excluder's on the external doors. Oh and there is limited mobile signal in the property. WIfi access would be useful.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Luxury facilities available to use i.e hottub, sauna for private use & comfy bed.
Liked least: Cold & bits of building work which appeared to be unfinished.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2013
I am glad they appreciated our facilities, including the new hot tub and dressing gowns, but obviously disappointed that we only merit three stars. The underfloor heating did have a wee problem that weekend, and we supplied portable heaters. We had more available. We'll get some additional draught excluders. We'll keep trying to justify more enthusiastic reviews...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samhall1
1 review
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My friends an I stayed in the old barn for a weekend in February and had a great time. The living area was spacious and comfy. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and there was plenty room for everyone to come and go. Out the back door there is a hottub which was heated the whole length of our stay. The weather was sunny which meant we were able to enjoy walking and cycling in the beautiful area. As it was February in was cold so coming back to underfloor heating was lovely. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much bother. Overall it was a great place to come together with friends and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2013
Thanks so much. Even at a time when we had some difficulties with staff we were still delivering a 5 out of 5 experience to some guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pegada
Tavira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“get away from it all.....”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 3rd visit to Ormidale - been to Mill House & the main house - so now stayed in each of the larger properties. We love the area - the children can run about and still use the pool in winter! Despite the cold! The rooms were warm & comfortable and plenty of space in sitting room for lounging adults....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: kitchen equipment
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No1blacks...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cold.dirty and uncomfortable!!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
4
people found this review helpful

After driving 175 miles of winding roads to get to Ormidale I was so looking forward to relaxing with friends for the weekend...big disappointment! The first thing you notice is there are no outside lights so unpacking in the dark is not the best but also how cold the house was too, it just never heated up the whole weekend, the only heating were two plug-in heaters that had to be moved from room to room to keep the kids warm, bedrooms freezing too! The house was not kept to a high standard of cleanliness either with grubby carpets and floors throughout! Kitchen cupboards dusty and dirty, dishwasher broken, coffee machine filthy, no protectors used on bed linen (pillows and dovets stained), extractor fans clogged with dust, rips in furniture, kings size beds=two singles pushed together, downstairs shower a trickle, swimming pool cold...the list goes on and on! I was actually glad to get back home to spend some time in my own house relaxing before going back to work. I found Ormidale a huge disappointment with all its potential wasted! Avoid if you are looking for high end luxury, probably good for lad and ladet hols as I suspect it is more commonly used!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2013
We had real problems with this party - it is fair to say that they were not easy to deal with at any stage of the process. There were problems with the heating system (which gave them a legitimate grievance) and which have since been resolved. We gave them a very substantial discount and refund to reflect their dissatisfaction. This is a house that most of our guests absolutely love, and we get loads of repeat business. At any time of the year the house is toasty warm with underfloor heating on both floors. This review really doesn't reflect the quality of the house or the care and attention with which it is treated by the owners and staff. I am very sorry that they had a bad time, but can assure the TA community that their experience is a long way from typical. Two more recent visiting groups have offered to post positive reviews but neither of these have appeared, for some reason.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$714
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing