We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house and lovely location!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
116 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah-Ma...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house and lovely location!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This house has everything you need! The hot tub was fab and it really was a great place to stay for a few days. It had all the cooking utensils you can imagine and really did provide us with everything we needed for a large group getaway.

There is lots to do within driving distance and the scenery is stunning.

Definitely recommend :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2018
We get large groups of all sorts staying - families, corporate parties, groups of friends of all ages. We try to make it as comfortable and welcoming as we can for anyone and to equip it as well as we can. Nice that you appreciated the location and the scenery, which I guess we sometime take a bit for granted !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirstin L
1 review
“I'm probably going to buy a hot tub now because I didn't know how much I loved hot tubs before this trip”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

The main highlight for me was the hot tub, I could sit in there all day and all night given the chance. But the whole place was great, the kitchen and lounge were huge (two dishwashers!), the beds were comfy, the area around the house was so lovely to walk about and explore. We did have to pay a deposit for it but it came back really quickly (like a week or two after our stay) which was ideal (we are poor students lol). It is west Scotland though so beware of midgies if you are outside at night!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2018
Thank you for choosing Ormidale, for posting a review, and for looking after the place so well that we could give you back 100% of the deposit against damage. We love doing that!!! Sorry about the midges. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

So much fun, great houses and the housekeepers are extremely friendly. It's only a short car ride from many fantastic places like the Kyles of Bute. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2018
I am really pleased that you appreciated the efforts of our housekeeping / on-site staff. They do so much to keep our guests happy, answer queries, solve practical issues and smooth over any problems, and it is really nice for them to get credited in this public way - so THANK YOU for doing so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashley879...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for our Hen party weekend”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

We had a wonderful 3 day stay at The Mill House in May. The location of the houses is beautiful and the house itself is lovely. It was made even better as we had glorious sunshine the whole weekend.

The hot tub was brilliant, I think we used it all day on the Saturday :) Myself and one other party member used the pool, as stated in description it's not a warm spa pool but we found it refreshing and really enjoyed it. John and the Estate Managers were super - they made the effort to come and introduce themselves, we were even allowed to visit the big house and have our picture taken there.

The house is a great size, at first I was worried that 17 adults wouldn't fit but we did and it never felt crowded. The rooms are great - some are double beds, twin beds and a couple are bunk-beds (the 4 ladies that shared this room, loved it). We never had any issues getting ready in the rooms.

As I have said, there were 17 (female only) adults in our party, aged from 20 upwards and I received the full deposit back once we had left.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Thanks, Ashley for choosing Ormidale and for publishing such a lovely review. We market as for 14 adults plus up to 8 kids, but there are occasions when we allow as many as 18 adults to share the 9 bedrooms. I am glad you thought they were ok because we describe them all as tiny!! It was lovely to host your party and I am glad you enjoyed the estate as much as you did. we hope to see you again. good luck with the wedding....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebby02
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Family Party House”
Reviewed May 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect place for a large family birthday celebration. Spacious, comfortable, warm, extremely well equipped with a jacuzzi and sauna that were almost permanently in use. Glorious location with a super abundance of walks, stunning scenery, and lochs to investigate. The hosts Rob and Debbie were very friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to help. All in all a fabulous and fun week. Thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post a helpful review for others to see and judge us by. I am so glad you had a great time, despite our fairly atrocious weather that week. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlameLily...
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large family gathering and celebration for one week in the Easter holidays”
Reviewed April 26, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous setting, very comfortable beds that could be moved and adapted to suit the group, fabulously well equipped and spacious kitchen and larder area, a dining room table that could be extended to seat 26 people, the open fire, the hot tub in the snow, the sauna, the large TV, the brook running through the garden and the warmth and comfort of underfloor heating. Not to mention the glorious landscapes all around especially for walking, cycling and painting, the delightful and very hospitable Rob and Debbie who took care of our every need and the charming and immensely friendly local people. And there was much more besides. This week went above and beyond my expectations and was a holiday that we will be talking about for a long time to come.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review and share your positive experience of Ormidale. We were desparately hoping you would write a public review because you said such nice stuff in our private feedback forms. We get a lot of 5/5 ratings from customers on those guest satisfaction surveys, but you were the first person who ever decided to give us 6/5. So, thank you!!! We look forward to seeing you again soon....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauraprin...
Millport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amy’s hen”
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful big house with stunning scenery, very well equipped kitchen with plenty of space for all our party to sit round tables play games and just have a great time. The hot tub was brilliant even though it was so cold outside, beds were comfy, as it says on the site some of the rooms are small but they are only for sleeping in. Would love to come back in the future, the on-site staff were very friendly and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2018
Thanks so much for the kind words about the staff and the facility. We always do our best and it is very nice to be appreciated. Freezing cold weather still, but open fire, the sauna, the swimming pool, and the hot tub make up for it!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing