We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
116 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patrick A
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

So much fun, great houses and the housekeepers are extremely friendly. It's only a short car ride from many fantastic places like the Kyles of Bute. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2018
I am really pleased that you appreciated the efforts of our housekeeping / on-site staff. They do so much to keep our guests happy, answer queries, solve practical issues and smooth over any problems, and it is really nice for them to get credited in this public way - so THANK YOU for doing so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashley879...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for our Hen party weekend”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

We had a wonderful 3 day stay at The Mill House in May. The location of the houses is beautiful and the house itself is lovely. It was made even better as we had glorious sunshine the whole weekend.

The hot tub was brilliant, I think we used it all day on the Saturday :) Myself and one other party member used the pool, as stated in description it's not a warm spa pool but we found it refreshing and really enjoyed it. John and the Estate Managers were super - they made the effort to come and introduce themselves, we were even allowed to visit the big house and have our picture taken there.

The house is a great size, at first I was worried that 17 adults wouldn't fit but we did and it never felt crowded. The rooms are great - some are double beds, twin beds and a couple are bunk-beds (the 4 ladies that shared this room, loved it). We never had any issues getting ready in the rooms.

As I have said, there were 17 (female only) adults in our party, aged from 20 upwards and I received the full deposit back once we had left.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Thanks, Ashley for choosing Ormidale and for publishing such a lovely review. We market as for 14 adults plus up to 8 kids, but there are occasions when we allow as many as 18 adults to share the 9 bedrooms. I am glad you thought they were ok because we describe them all as tiny!! It was lovely to host your party and I am glad you enjoyed the estate as much as you did. we hope to see you again. good luck with the wedding....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebby02
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Family Party House”
Reviewed May 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect place for a large family birthday celebration. Spacious, comfortable, warm, extremely well equipped with a jacuzzi and sauna that were almost permanently in use. Glorious location with a super abundance of walks, stunning scenery, and lochs to investigate. The hosts Rob and Debbie were very friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to help. All in all a fabulous and fun week. Thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post a helpful review for others to see and judge us by. I am so glad you had a great time, despite our fairly atrocious weather that week. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlameLily...
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large family gathering and celebration for one week in the Easter holidays”
Reviewed April 26, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous setting, very comfortable beds that could be moved and adapted to suit the group, fabulously well equipped and spacious kitchen and larder area, a dining room table that could be extended to seat 26 people, the open fire, the hot tub in the snow, the sauna, the large TV, the brook running through the garden and the warmth and comfort of underfloor heating. Not to mention the glorious landscapes all around especially for walking, cycling and painting, the delightful and very hospitable Rob and Debbie who took care of our every need and the charming and immensely friendly local people. And there was much more besides. This week went above and beyond my expectations and was a holiday that we will be talking about for a long time to come.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review and share your positive experience of Ormidale. We were desparately hoping you would write a public review because you said such nice stuff in our private feedback forms. We get a lot of 5/5 ratings from customers on those guest satisfaction surveys, but you were the first person who ever decided to give us 6/5. So, thank you!!! We look forward to seeing you again soon....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauraprin...
Millport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amy’s hen”
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful big house with stunning scenery, very well equipped kitchen with plenty of space for all our party to sit round tables play games and just have a great time. The hot tub was brilliant even though it was so cold outside, beds were comfy, as it says on the site some of the rooms are small but they are only for sleeping in. Would love to come back in the future, the on-site staff were very friendly and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2018
Thanks so much for the kind words about the staff and the facility. We always do our best and it is very nice to be appreciated. Freezing cold weather still, but open fire, the sauna, the swimming pool, and the hot tub make up for it!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hubbys 40th birthday weekend”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the mill house at ormidale for my husbands 40th birthday in january it was a amazing time of year to book after all the festivities and new year antics!! A totally chilled out weekend (well one fab party on the sat the birthday bash)! The mill house was a wonderfull size and was well maintained inside and out. Great sized kitchen with all the equipment you need for a large amount of people, kids little sitting room downstairs was fab with lots or board games toys tv etc.. i would say tho the pool was small and a bitty cold but still nice for a wee swim once in! The games cottage was in a bad way, but im sure it is scheduled for a refurb soon, all in all it was a great weekend and we would all return again to stay at ormidale!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to review us - and for choosing us for the party weekend. We mostly get complemented on the size of the pool as people expect it to be smaller but I guess 30 sq meters isn't all that big. A well-used facility all year round, nonetheless. Thanks for the booking, the business and the kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jules0505...
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hogmanay”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Ormidale was perfect for what we were looking for. We stayed in the Mill House and there were 16adults and 4 children for Hogmanay, ages between 2years old and 32!

The Mill House was beautiful and so warm, especially given that it was December and it's a large house to heat, we only had the fire on once.

Swimming pool is a bit on the cold side but didnt actually bother us as we used the private hot tub more.

The on site staff couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was a problem for them, very accommodating to any of our needs.

The "scruffy" games room is exactly what it says and the boys in our group loved it!! The girls had to drag them out of it!!!

The bedrooms are a bit on the small side but this is noted on their website so wasn't any surprise. We literally only slept in them, most of our time was spent out walking in the grounds, in the hot tub or sat around the fire or the large dining table. Kitchen is well equipt for large groups and there were more than enough pots, pans utensils.

I would definitely recommend Ormidale for any family/friends groups looking to get away. We will certainly be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for giving us full marks. I am so glad you had a great time, and that you appreciated my great new management team's efforts. Rob and Debbie are a great addition to the estate. We talk about small bedrooms and a scruffy games cottage so that we can be sure we wont disappoint people. We look forward to seeing you again another time and hope you have a great year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing