We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect relaxing, secluded get-away!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
120 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 120 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mattc2468
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect relaxing, secluded get-away!”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is the perfect get-away destination for all families and parties. Around the house there's plenty of countryside to be discovered, and on site there's plenty of facilities for activities including a small football pitch, tennis court, and a spacious indoor pool. Mark the on-site staff member was excellent, he helped us with any questions we had and showed us how to operate the hot tub and sauna. The whole house had the comforts nailed to a tee with a games room, relaxing living room and a lovely bath robe for every guest! Would 100% recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2017
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are glad you had a great time and have taken time to tell the world. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B
1 review
“If carlsberg did holiday homes”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful house, so well equipped. Particular fan of the bath robes (one per person) which were put in each room, and actually meant clothes were optional. Gardens superb, perfect for activities - tennis, football, swimming, herbology. Extremely spacious, perfect for large evening meals. Built for large groups, ideal for party atmosphere, with huge communal areas. A few midges, as you would expect at the time of year, but not detriment to weekend as a whole. Would return in a heartbeat

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2017
I am glad you had a good time. We had a busy June with loads of parties and great weather - I am glad the midges didn't put you off. Thanks for taking the time to place a positive review for the benefit of other potential guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Trip!”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A big group of us stayed at Ormidale for my friend's birthday and we all had an amazing time. The house itself was great with such beautiful surroundings. There was plenty to do ranging from taking a dip in the pool to playing tennis or football. On a rainy afternoon there was a large selection of board games and a comfortable, sociable living room/kitchen to relax in. I had a fabulous time and would definitely visit Ormidale again for a few more days of luxury!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thanks for coming and thanks for taking the time to review us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulricha...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Atrocious management, nice property.”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

As you will read from other reviews, I also stayed in this house with a group of friends in January 2017.

The house itself was nice and spacious for our group, with the added bonus of a hot tub and sauna.
On the second day we noticed the timetable for the indoor swimming pool stating which ‘house’ could use the pool at a dedicated time.
A few of us attended the pool at our allocated time slot which, sadly this was cut short due to the pool being freezing cold.

Before attending we were told there would be staff on site at all times, but we did not see anyone that represented Ormidale House or indeed on behalf of John (the owner). This prove difficult at the start of the getaway as we could not locate the key for the property and is wasn't until a friend opened the door we realised the property was unlocked. This meaning the property was insecure for a time until we got there which was a bit of a concern.

Overall the visit was great regardless of the minor issue of a cold swimming pool, but this wasn't the end of our dealings with Ormidale House. After our group leader (the birthday girl) eventually got a reply from John about the return of our security deposit, she was met with serious allegations of damage to the swimming pool area. After lengthy emails, some of which are borderline slander towards our group, it became apparent that John was adamant that our group had caused the damage.
On presenting John with images of the pool area during our short time of using it, there was clear pictures that the area was already in a poor condition. I believe that John is just trying to find a scapegoat for the poor attention of maintenance needed to this area and thought that blaming a “young” group would solve his problem.
John has shown a clear unprofessional approach to this issue which has now escalated to legal proceedings.

This is still going on and sadly, what started as a good few days away celebrating a milestone birthday with a group of friends, which in itself is extremely difficult to plan in the first place, has turned into nothing but being called names, being accused of criminal damage and dealing with a very unpleasant person.

From the emails/phone calls that have taken place John has come across as being an unapproachable, arrogant and an unreasonable person.

During the course of this all we asked from John is show a record of maintenance to the area which he is unable to proceed, showing a clear lack of responsibility as the owner in my eyes.

After reading other reviews which shown similar issues to ours, we are now in contact with those persons who were also in the same situation in regards to security deposits not being returned.

Therefore, if you are looking for a professional owner to take care of a special event I would avoid this property and John at all costs. It has clearly not been worth it all and it has put an extreme about of unnecessary stress for the event organiser, who again was the birthday girl who should have great memories of her celebrations but sadly its now resulted in court proceedings.

I hope this review helps you in your choice for picking a nice property for a special occasion as it should not be this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2017
I also hope this review and the others from the same group helps potential renters pick their property. We don't want the sort of group who do £2,000 worth of damage and then deny it. They could have had money back if they had accepted responsibility for their actions and apologised for them. They didn't.

We won't just give in to people who threaten us with bad reviews.

Over 90% of parties get a full refund of their good housekeeping deposits.

Any party - of any age - who are prepared to respect the property will be treated with respect themselves.

Vandals and louts are not welcome.

As a result of this party's behaviour we will now take a higher deposit per head from groups who are higher risk.

They will, like every other group that behaves themselves, get their entire deposit returned.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe J
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special Birthday Trip Ruined!”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

In January 2017 my friends and I travelled to Ormidale house to enjoy a 2 night stay to celebrate our friends’ birthday.

Upon arrival, there was no one there to greet us let alone hand over the keys to let us into the property.

Myself and the lead party member, after waiting about 10 minutes (hoping someone would show) went to look around the estate for assistance, it was cold outside and we were keen to get in, unpacked and settled. We were unable to find anyone on the estate, after going round several buildings and knocking on doors.

We walked back up to the house and tried the door – it was already unlocked and the keys were in fact on the table inside. Hesitant, of course – not knowing if anyone was inside, we all ventured in.

The house was beautiful; it was spacious and was host to multiple bedrooms, large kitchen/living space, games room, sauna and a hot tub – we could have hoped for.
Once unpacked and settled in, we enjoyed our stay in this house over the 2 days.

As the hours ticked by each day we began to notice a few things that weren’t quite right – mould growing around the window on the inside, mould in one of the bathrooms, the sauna door was broken to name a few…

On day #2 a few of us went to take advantage of our time slot for the indoor pool – it was freezing! We didn’t stay long before we had to come back to the house to warm up again. The floor which surrounded the pool was in disarray, the tiles had warped from what I can only imagine as years of water ingress causing the tiles to shift up, crack and become angled – it’s lucky no one got cut on them. From the videos and photos we took of each other in the pool, the damage can be seen clearly.

These were the things which unsettled me about the property itself, what really shocked me however was the attitude given from the owner upon our return.

Days after being home again, the lead member of our party received a distasteful email from the owner, Mr John Davis accusing us of causing £2000 worth of damage to his property. We were named a ‘drunken species of fools’ ‘reckless’ and ‘liars’ when we informed John of what was the truth.

The accusations go as follows:
Damaging the pool area causing the tiles to crack, being loud and boisterous on the first night after hours as his staff claimed to have heard us ‘hammering on the wall’ (we were not in the pool on the first night, we were nowhere near that area on the first night. We saw nobody on the estate the whole time we were there.)

Furthermore, the employees never communicated this to the owner until weeks later when we were asking for the deposit back. John told us that he had come up to visit the estate not long after we stayed and had seen the poor condition of the pool and actually told us that upon initial inspection he did think it was poor maintenance and he would have to pay for it to be restored correctly and would lose business until such time, however at this point (clearly as john has seen the employees have not been keeping the pool in a good/clean condition at all) the employees threw out the accusation that we damaged it.

Surely if we had been behaving in that manner, then why didn't the staff that heard us causing such ‘business threatening’, extensive damage leave the room they were apparently in and come to see what was going on? LET ALONE waiting until we had left and ONLY when we asked for the deposit to be returned!! As an employee of any company you would naturally respond sharply to any suspicion of damage being caused. John Davis was unable to provide an answer to this question… furthering my anger that he is wrongly ACCUSING us.

After multiple nasty emails coming from the owner of the estate he has refused to provide any evidence or time stamped photos of the damage he was accusing us of thus continuing to be stubborn and pin the blame on us. We have since got multiple trades people to look at the damage from the photos we took and the opinion of ‘poor maintenance’ is shared across each independent review.

The vast majority of us that stayed here are young professionals. Combined, some are working full time and the others are in full time Edinburgh based university education.
Furthermore, before we left, we all chipped in to clean the house top to bottom and leave no stone left unturned. Bought/replaced all toilet roll and black waste bags, 2 members of our party even scrubbed the mould found in the bathrooms and bedrooms and re-hinged the sauna door again out of respect.

I personally left a £300 Bluetooth speaker by accident. This took around 1 month to be returned to me after a series of flippant emails/phone calls.

I would urge anyone who is looking to stay here, not to! What was supposed to be a pleasant 2 night stay in beautiful surroundings to celebrate our friends’ birthday has now turned to an ongoing legal battle with a highly unprofessional, foul mouthed landlord who lacks respect entirely. Totally ruined our trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2017
This is now the 5th review published from this extremely badly behaved party, from whom we withheld the goodhousekeeping deposit as a result of them doing over £2,000 damage to the pool. We take 180 bookings every year - and we take good housekeeping deposits from about 2,500 guests every year. If we were in the habit of withholding deposits without justifications, there would be a lot of noise and a lot of reviews on TripAdvisor mentioning it. The vast majority of the groups who book with us behave very well, and they get 100% of their deposits back. This party did £2,000 worth of damage to our recently renovated swimming pool shower area - and then repeatedly denied having been in the swimming pool at the time the damage was done even though we could hear them doing it. They were a large party celebrating a 21st birthday party, and they were the only group staying on the estate! . They did extensive damage to the floor. We have photos of the damaged floor, taken the morning after. Their response has been "If you don't have time-stamped photographs of us in the pool that night, and if you don't have photographs of the floor tiles NOT damaged, time-stamped for the day that we arrived, then you cant prove it was us." This has been an extremely unpleasant experience and time-consuming business. My staff members bedroom is next to the area of the swimming pool in question. The youngsters - the only guests on the estate - were jumping up and down and hammering on the wall that separates the pool shower area from the headboard of their bed. There wasn't an ounce of doubt about who was in the pool and what they were doing. We could clearly have refused to refund anything at all to the party, but I felt sorry for the few party members who we assumed probably weren't involved in the vandalism. In order to demonstrate goodwill and a sense of fairness, I actually offered to refund the whole deposit against damage of every individual who was not in the pool at the time, provided those who were in it admitted the damage they had done and apologised. I thought that was an extremely generous offer. They decided not to even respond to it. We are now taking higher deposits from groups where we perceive a higher risk, in order to ensure that our property is respected. This will lose us some bookings, but that is fine. We are always full, and we just need to ensure that we have groups of guests who take responsibility for their behaviour, for our properties, and for each other.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshnandw...
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible Venue”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed in the Mill House for our friend Cameron's Hen party.

Firstly, the house itself is awesome. The kitchen was really well equipped for cooking for 25 people.

The rooms are all super comfy, complete with a robe each, which was a lovely touch.

Hot tub and sauna are great additions to the house!

Best til last, the gardens! Nothing better than a walk in nature at 6am, even if the weather wasn't up to it and neither were the rest of the party! Great place for exploring.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
I am glad you all enjoyed yourselves so much. Thanks for taking the time to review us so nicely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gideon L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible stay, incredible location, incredible experience!”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Ormidale was an enormous success! One of the best few short holidays i've had. The area is gobsmackingly beautiful and only outdone by the class of the people who manage it, and the incredibly comfortable and impressive accommodation. Who could expect such a first class house in such a remote and stunning location. Of all my times traveling around in Scotland, this left its mark as one of the best. Don't forget to visit the loch and climb the water stream path behind the estate!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Thanks for coming. And thanks so much for the kind remarks. We really enjoyed having you and it was a pleasure to find the house so well looked after by you. Full return of good housekeeping deposit as usual!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing