We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house-clean, warm, spacious & very well...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
116 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
miasmummy
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing house-clean, warm, spacious & very well equipped-Great for a big crowd.”
Reviewed December 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

17 of us stayed at The Mill House at the weekend for a girls weekend away. All the girls were blown away by how beautiful the house was when we first arrived. Ian who looks after the house met us within a couple hours of arriving & made us all feel welcome & safe. We cooked the first night & everything we needed was there including 2 fridges, freezers, dishwashers & ovens. There was loads of room for everyone to chill out & relax. The hot tub was great, was very well maintained & stayed warm all weekend. Well worth the £70 extra charge. The bedrooms were all clean with towels & robes. Some of the beds were bunks which were cosy but this is well documented in the house description & like it says-the bedrooms are for sleeping only. The rest of the house has plenty of room for everyone to spread out if they want to. The surrounding area is beautiful and the house is surrounded by trees & a stream. The only thing to be aware of is there are no shops or takeaways within walking or delivery distance so if you plan to be there for the whole weekend you really need to have everything with you. We finished off the weekend with a very relaxed late check out and didn't have to leave until 1pm, which was great for the drivers.
I've already highly recommended this house to several people & would love to come back here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FG007
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice holiday in the mill house ; however....”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Now that we had a chance to reflect on our holiday in the Argyll, here is our feedback:
Many positive points but mainly:
· Iain and Marie: very friendly and reliable. Although the water was off for couple of hours, Iain brought us drinking water to a large party!!
· Spacious cottage and beautiful sceneries. In addition to the bicycles available on site.
· The hot tub is a must (felt like heaven!!) with gas BBQ facilities.

Suggested areas of improvements:

· Communication and organisation: had to send payment details three times and no receipt or confirmation when payment is received.
· MIDGES: be aware if you are a person who gets mosquito bites (repellents, antihistamine cream, antihistamine pills, even steroids needed to a member of our group with more than 100 bites in one body!!)
· Finally: game room and swimming pool. The pool table downstairs (damp and smelly), the table tennis upstairs (not enough room and ball escaping down stairs) and the swimming pool (green stains on wall).

In summary, it’s a very nice place and we would definitely recommend it. We would go there again.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2014
We are glad that your experience was positive overall, and are very grateful you have taken the time to let us know the few negatives as well. I am sad that anything stopped the holiday from being perfect. The midges vary from season to season and year to year - last year we had a colony of bats that ate them all! Some people react badly to them, and others don't - all we know is that there many worse places in Argyll for them, as we are not particularly cursed!!! We will include more advance warning. We do describe our games cottage as "scruffy and old" on the website. Concerned by your comments on the swimming pool and we will get that put right. We will also rig something up to make the games cottage ball drop a less consistent problem, now that you have mentioned it!!! Our staff team do their best to keep everything tip top and perfect around the year, obviously. So glad you enjoyed the holiday and appreciated their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elspeth H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect venue, rain or shine!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We rented this venue for a large group of friends and family. Prior to the stay the owners were really good at keeping regular contact and answering questions about the venue.
The house itself was perfect for a large group with a seperate sitting room that, had we had children with us, they could have used.
Bedrooms were smaller in size but comfy and, given that we weren't planning on spending much time in them they did the job.
We had use of the hot tub, which again, is great in rain or shine. We also used the swimming pool and the games room outside. Again, both great for our needs.
The facilities were modern and everything that we needed was there, we were self catering for 20 people and even though we brought our own slow cookers with us, they even have a double slow cooker on site. We need not have brought any additional utensils with us as it was really well stocked.
Everyone really enjoyed the stay, it wasn't sunny the whole time we were there but the house and the facilities around it made up for the weather.
There were two staff on grounds who we saw each day, but didn't feel that they were checking up on us and they were relaxed.
Would recommend for future use.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall experience, although our friends added to that!
Liked least: nothing really... it was all very good!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply Outstanding.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

For a relaxing getaway with friends, Ormidale has no parallel. Set amidst beautiful and spacious grounds-perfect for exploring-the Mill House comfortably accommodated around 18 of our close friends and family.

Firstly, we were thrilled by how helpful John was upon booking, he made it all exceedingly easy and hassle free. Upon arrival, not only were the staff friendly and welcoming, but highly professional, polite and courteous. We cannot fault them.

Our party was initially thrilled by how large the house itself was, and even more impressed when we encountered the spacious living and dining area. This area houses a beautiful dining table, with plenty of room to fit everyone round it! The dining area flows into a generous, modern kitchen, where we found it easy to cook for many of us at the one time. I was struck by how well decorated and modern the house was as a whole. The bathrooms were stunning, and the bedrooms were spacious, clean and quiet-even with so many of us in the house!

The sauna inside the house (and the brilliant fluffy dressing gowns...) was greatly enjoyed by all. Also our access to the hot tubs and swimming pool was appreciated, and was just one of the many days we found to spend our days there!

We also enjoyed many rural walks and some even took a trip to Dunoon one day-which is a fairly short drive away. You will not be stuck for things to do whilst at Ormidale. Also, despite the fact the house is extremely large, it does not feel empty. We enjoyed many cosy nights in and found it to be very "homely".

All in all, a brilliant experience. Highly relaxing and fun, would absolutely recommend this to a friend and our party is delighted to be booking up again for next summer!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The comfortable, clean bedrooms and spacious downstairs living area.
Liked least: Cannot fault it!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2014
Thank you so much. Delighted you enjoyed it. It is lovely to get the sort of response that my staff team's consistent, every day effort, so merits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjstewart...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house, great facilities, would definitely return!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A large group of us stayed at the Mill House and were very happy with the house and the facilities. It was beautifully decorated and had everything that you would need for a great break away (fluffy robes for the hot tub, condiments in the kitchen,and games in the playroom). The owner was really helpful and flexible, letting us check out late as there was nobody due in the next day and letting me bring my dog. The hot tub and grounds were also excellent and I would definitely return in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high spec of the interiors.
Liked least: Nothing really!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2013
We are all so glad you enjoyed it. We always welcome dogs along with their owners provided you all clear up after each other when necessary, and provided only some of you go upstairs or on the furniture!!! Thanks for coming and we will welcome you back, soon, I hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jbean86
1 review
“Fabulous House!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Mill House in September 13. The house was AMAZING! Gorgeous sitting room/kitchen area and really well stocked. The surroundings were also wonderful with lovely walks in the area. We were made to feel very welcome and really enjoyed the use of the swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, trampoline and bouncy castle! It would suits many groups from families and groups of friends to hen/stag parties. I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
amazing is good, gorgeous is good. glad you appreciated it - please pass on our best wishes to your party and tell all your pals!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HazMcn
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A rural escape”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Having been a city dweller for most of my short life i was excited at the opportunity to escape the concrete jungle for a short time and explore the Scottish countryside.

When i arrived, with a party of 15 other young adults, i was very impressed at the facilities that the Mill House had to offer. Sky television, wifi (much to the delight of the 'facebook generation') a jacuzzi, a sauna and a trampoline.

The house was spacious, clean and the rooms extremely comfortable.
After reserving myself the best room the house had to offer and unpacking i took to the outdoors, just as the sun was beginning to setting. We then made full use of the BBQ facilities and enjoyed dinner outside with the last few hours of daylight.

I arose the next morning- admittedly with a bit of a sore head- and after a fry up i was ready to explore. One or two of our party took some encouragement, but eventually got out of bed and we began taking in some of what argyll and bute had to offer.

After walking for many hours up hill we eventually came to a clearing and viewed the what can only be described as breathtaking scenery.

It was a heavy heart we had to leave and i look back now already with a sense of nostalgia.

I would highly recommended the Mill House to groups of young adults looking for a tranquil setting to stay with friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2013
It is great that the group enjoyed the experience at the Mill House. we set ourselves up primarily for families - bikes, trampoline, swimming pool, etc - but it is nice that groups of adults also use Ormidale for business or pleasure purposes and we get lots of corporate awayday style bookings, now, as well as University reunions, landmark birthdays and even the occasional well-behaved hen party. with swimming pool and hot tub and sauna on site, it is halfway to a pampering venue already!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing