We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mill House - Perfect for hen weekend away”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
29 Bedrooms, 15 Bathrooms, Sleeps 1
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robbie B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Impressive house but in great need of extensive repairs and renovation. Our party with many children where extremely disappointed the pool was out of action because of damage from previous guest( apparently ) the pool could have only been described as a bio/health and safety hazard. Everywhere you looked something was broken from the snooker table cloth/ pockets torn, Jacuzzi pump broken,glass shower doors hanging off, no door locks working, bouncy castle held together with a plastic bag and tape, to be honest I have forgotten more than I have listed. Ormidale house is far from the description on the website and previous reviews and would benefit from a major cash injection from an owner who would care for the building. If I wasn't joined with family and good company the weekend would have been a total disaster.

Date of stay: June 2016
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Ormidale House
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2016
This is a very surprising and upsetting review to receive. Our previous positive reviews which the guest mentions are all pretty much current, as the dates will show. I am very sorry about the swimming pool - a party staying on the Wednesday before they arrived on the Friday did indeed contaminate the pool and we couldn't recover it in time for the guests on this visit. We got a specialist pool consultant out on the Thursday morning and followed his advice, which was to add chlorine, filter continuously, and keep the pool shut until safe. We are certainly not afraid of spending money on the estate and we put thousands into renovations and repairs every year. Unfortunately, some guests do disrespect bits of equipment and it can take a little while to effect the repairs. Snooker pockets are on order to replace the ripped ones, and will be fitted this week. We have surveyed all our most recent guests on the estate and asked for their honest views on the properties in terms of value for money, accuracy of web-description, standard of housekeeping, quality of estate facilities. We have had fantastically enthusiastic responses with 90% of answers giving us 5/5, and the others almost all rating us at 4/5. We have been told we undersell the place and that the photos don't do it justice. These have been from family parties, retirement get togethers with people in their sixties, young groups for hen weekends and 30th birthdays, all sorts of different sorts of groups. So, while we are very sorry about the swimming pool and surprised and upset by the fact that you think we are so close to being a "total disaster" we wont be panicking just yet. The bouncy castle is perfectly functional, even with the gaffa tape and plastic sheeting repair, and for most of our guests, that is certainly good enough. The house is always let to groups of friends, or colleagues. It isn't a hotel, and not all our doors lock. We had the snooker table recovered at a cost of £2,000 just over a year ago. A week later the new cloth was ripped by the guests. We decided at that point, that we were better off repairing the rip and allowing people to play in a relaxed way. It is a beautiful old billiard table from 1910. But most parties contain teenagers and children. And most parties drink. We consulted with guests before agreeing that worrying about your good housekeeping deposit being forfeit in the event of a newly ripped baize would be worse for our guests than playing on a table that is less than pristine, but perfectly playable. We think this is a practical and sympathetic way to run the estate. Whenever guests tell us anything is wrong, we always respond and try to fix it. This party raised not a single objection to anything while with us, and the lovely hostess of the party expressed gratitude for the state of the house and grounds and facilities and gave our staff macaroons and tablet to say thank you. It is very upsetting to get a 1/5 review and a title like "beware" but it is not reflective of general guest reviews and experience....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla M
1 review
“Mill House - Perfect for hen weekend away”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Myself and 15 other ladies all stayed in the Mill House on the Ormidale Estate on the weekend of 10 June 2016. It was perfect for our weekend of hen activities, especially the large downstairs living/dining area. Having the hot tub, sauna and access to the pool as well as the large grounds meant everyone had a great time. The house meets the description on the website but the pictures do not do it justice - it's beautifully renovated. Gavin and Adele were very helpful and we appreciated them being on site for questions and assistance. Would definitely recommend!!

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2016
Thanks so much. We love it when you say the pictures don't do it justice!!! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle...
1 review
“The old barn”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The managers gavin and adele were fab, the house was great and there was so much to do and see. Beautiful location. Definitely recommend. Good facilities for cooking and bbq and anything we needed help with was given!

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2016
We are so pleased to read this great feedback on our new estate managers. So are they!!! Thanks for coming.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig C
1 review
“Stag weekend”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had an excellent weekend in the old barn. There was 10 of us on a stag weekend here. The old barn was exactly what we were looking for with the large grounds and set up we couldn't disturb anyone else, hot tub, games room, bikes, pool, football pitch, unexplored estate and tennis court all with equipment ready for use at any time. The estate managers were excellent, meeting us on arrival and help in arranging a mini bus to run us to dunoon for a day out and anything else we wanted at any time. Good weather allowed us good use of the outside area too, perfect for a party. Highly recommend the ormidale estate.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
As you know, we don't accept many stag weekends, and when we do we charge a significant bond against behaviour and treatment of the fabric. You guys repaid every iota of faith that we displayed in you and it will be my pleasure to send your entire goodhousekeeping deposit back to you. Thanks for choosing Ormidale and for looking after the Old Barn so nicely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything went as planned
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
angelamf4...
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Had a wonderful stay with a large group of us, can't wait to go back.What an amazing location, beautiful scenery and great for walks. Even better to come back to Ormidale and enjoy a drink around the blazing log fire before sitting at that long dining room table, like being on a film set.Although the house was steeped in history it had all the essential conveniences of modern life to make the stay comfortable.

Date of stay: December 2015
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigyboy...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great House”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Went for a weekend with a big group of friends for a birthday. House was brilliant, loads to do, bedrooms are nice and downstairs rooms are all cracking. John was really helpful in the lead up to the trip. Would easily rent again.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
I am pleased you had such a great time and I hope we see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing