We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Argyll.”
Review of Colintraive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colintraive Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is an all too seldom chance to combine the experience of luxury with locality. This is not a chain hotel run by a salaried manager. This is a genuine heart and hub of a community owned and shared with all by the owner herself who exudes warmth and welcome to her locals in the bar and her patrons stepping in. The menu, which can be enjoyed in the restaurant or bar; the guest's choice, offers a real taste of local produce and character with a personal panache which betrays the owner's respect and thoughtfulness for her guests whom she recognises and greets immediately yet quietly, inspiring a calm familiarity. The food is simply delicious. The views from the fine accommodation are stunning.
A visit to this hotel is an absolute necessity for anyone wishing to experience the Argyll, Scotland, and indeed Britain.
Thank you Patricia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 341 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after dinner, so unfortunately didn't have chance to try the king scallops on black pudding which had been highly recommended by friends that had visited previously, but instead we enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar- great atmosphere and the lady working behind the bar was very friendly and gave us great advice on what we could do while we were in the area!
I had the luxury seafood salad for lunch the next day which was to die for... The best salmon I have ever eaten!
We stayed in room number 2 which had beautiful views and were very well cleaned.
Patricia, the owner, was wonderful and always around to help if we needed anything.
Overall a fabulous experience in Colintraive and we are very much looking forwards to our return trip to the hotel in September!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Jane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our first day in Argyll and we headed out for a drive to see what we could see. As this was a 'bimble' we didn't bother with a map and just went off - after a lovely drive along the coast from Innellan, we headed in land and drove through the hills. Scenery is just amazing, whichever way you look.

We saw the sign: 'Colintraive Hotel - 6 miles' at the side of the road, about an hour into our drive and ready for a break (with a five year old who was getting fidgety) we headed that way. It was a good choice.

On arrival, we pulled up in the car park and were directed towards the community garden and heritage centre that sit alongside the hotel. It was nice to stretch our legs and let the little one explore the lovely gardens. The heritage centre was good - small, but full of 'real' history from Colintraive, with interesting pieces on previous inhabitants and how the community has changed over time.

After a wander around we headed inside the hotel for lunch. It was nice to see parts of the building that were relatively unchanged from the photographs in the heritage centre. The bar area, where the food is served was compact and cosy, it became full while we were there, showing how popular it can be.

There was a good range of options on the menu - with a good deal of local produce, which is what you would hope for. Food was served quickly, freshly cooked home-style, with good flavours. I had the local fish pie - fantastic, with lots of filling; my husband had the king scallops on black pudding, which were also good. Our little boy enjoyed the fresh 'fish fingers' and yummy home-made chips - great meal for a child, and nice to see nothing from a packet.

This was a great find on our random journey and our little boy has already asked if we'll be going back :) Everyone we met in the hotel and shop were very friendly, helpful and provided a nice, genuine service. Definitely worth a stop on your journey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The food and sevice and everything about the hotel is excellent would highly recommend to others.
The hotel is in a great location for walking, cycling, kayaking and sailing with lovely views and just a short hop away from Bute.
The fish and seafood dishes are very very tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail22345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you so much, was great to have sporty minded people like ourselves staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Awesome views, nice room, courtyard and (polish) barmaid was very efficent. Thats where it ends!!
Meal was cold maybe as it was served on cold plates. Burger was burnt. Plus side fish was tasty. When we were approached by the manager, we didnt recieve an apology instead a confrontational arguementative stand off!!! When we asked for a room with a view, the response was "what do you expect for a groupon deal, go outside and you will get a view". Spoilt experience :-((

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cocktail74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

In all the years I have owned the hotel, I have never received complaints about other guests staying until your party checked in. From making a scene in the restaurant with all your theatrics disturbing other diners and knocking on other guests doors in the middle of the night and running around in the hall way disturbing other guests. Even the housekeeper complained at the mess you kindly left the rooms in. Your meal was cold because you chose not to dine immediately it was served, and as you so kindly pointed out that you were missing teeth, a char grilled burger was perhaps not your best choice. Having checked out your other review would appear that strangely enough the temperature of food seams to be a consistent issue for you. I notice you omitted to mention that we re cooked your entire meal for free. Your comments re Groupon are total lies I said that your voucher was valid for a country view room which it clearly states, oh and for the record you had a Wowcher not Groupon. Quite frankly you have some nerve considering your behavior whilst staying with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went into the Colintraive Hotel for lunch after we came off the ferry and after the horrific smell from the toilets as we entered from the car park, quickly decided just to have a quick coffee. I asked the woman if they did cafe latte etc and I was told yes, they did all kinds of coffee. I ordered a cafe latte and an americano and thought it strange that the woman went into the back area away from the coffee machine, but thought there was perhaps another one. When she came back, my coffee was an ordinary coffee with milk!! I did inform her that it wasn't a cafe latte and was told a latte was just a coffee with a lot of milk!!! I did try it and it was insipid - I informed her that this was in no way a latte and that she should have used the machine to which she replied she knew how to use it but it was broken and decided just to offer me the coffee???? She did refund my money, but argued the point about what a latte was - I THINK THAT YOU NEED TO GO AND GET LESSONS ON HOW TO TREAT CUSTOMERS AND HOW TO USE A COFFEE MACHINE. Will def. not eat here if you don't even know how to make a proper cup of coffee.
Re toilets - the smell is horrendous and not a good first impression for new customers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

All this over a freshly made cup of coffee. I am very sorry but as explained on the day the machine was out of action and I immediately gave you your money back. I can assure you the toilets were not disgusting as they cleaned well every morning and you were in not long after cleaning. I am sorry you had such a bad coffee experience but no need to exaggerate, your companion did not complain about his coffee which was of the same fresh brew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the colintraive hotel for 2 nights 31stJul/1stAug and had a lovely stay. Our room was very comfortable and we looked over the hills at the back of the hotel. The food was very good .... not cheap.... but you got a lovely meal. Everything was very clean and to a good standard. Patricia and her staff do very well, Alison in the bar was always very helpful and soooo nice as was the young girl doing the rooms. Since there is nowhere else to eat anywhere near I was a bit dissapointed that they did not do bar meals or snacks. The ferry to bute is only 2 minutes from the hotel door and if you want somewhere peaceful, quite, and just a lovely bit of the countryside this is the place to go ....

Room Tip: room number 2 is the best room it's lovely with views accross the Kyles of Bute . We were in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, particularly about our staff.
We offer bar meals every day from 12 to 3ish sometimes longer, and from 5.30 to 8.30pm every day of the week. We offer cakes, scones, soup and sandwiches at all hours of the day. Our restaurant is also open for meals the same times as the bar is. We hope to see you back in Colintraive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colintraive
4.2 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
285 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
481 reviews
7.2 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
11 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
467 reviews
10.6 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colintraive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colintraive Hotel

Address: Colintraive PA22 3AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Colintraive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Price Range: $160 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colintraive Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Colintraive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing