We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night break”
Review of Colintraive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colintraive Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 night break”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is one gem of hotel with Patricia and her staff so welcoming and although it is a small village there is so much to do when you are there ie ferry a short walk away which will take you to Bute and then be able to explore the beauty of this island, there are other attractions in colintraive like the visitors museum and don't miss the beautiful garden that as designed by no other than the beechroad garden crew. Then there is the wonderful outdoor sculptures a few minutes drive from hotel. Do not miss Patricia's steakpie it is to die for, breakfast was excellent and the choice of dinner menu was mouth watering will certainly be back for more. Many thanks Particia. Ceaser (the dog) Allison and all the other wonderful staff. Many thanks Tony Mary and Murphy (see you soon)

Room Tip: all rooms have good views - may not be sea view but still good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    63
    15
    12
    3
See reviews for
62
172
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have recently returned from a short break at the Colintraive Hotel and can recommend the hotel to those of you who are looking for a quiet weekend break, in a small friendly hotel. The scenery in the area was breathtaking. The rooms were very comfortable and the food was excellent all freshly made and for the large part locally sourced. We had the choice of eating in the dining room or bar both were comfortable and had a relaxed feel. The hotel in general had a wonderful atmosphere and had some nice touches, display of Art for sale throughout hotel, shop and Post Office to the rear of hotel and the blackboard in the bar made me smile! The staff were outstanding, very friendly, hard working and extremely helpful. There was plenty for us to see and do (low key) and the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Isle of Bute ferry (shortest ferry crossing in the UK).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived early in the afternoon on Sunday 5th May, the bar area was extremely busy with customers having meals. We were greeted by Trisha the owner and taken to our room No: 3 what a view!!! (Trisha had upgraded us). What a great room even though it was raining outside

Really enjoyed our breakfast yummy, will be back again

Room Tip: All rooms look lovely especially front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Arrived sat 13 april for sat/sun,what a lovely hotel in a perfect location.
Shown to our room which was lovely,with views over the kyles,just wanted to get back in car to explore the area,got on ferry to short crossing to bute,stopped in rothesay,then on to mount stuart,visited the beautiful grounds,as the house was shut when we arrived.
Got back to hotel,in time for evening meal booked at 7.0,had a drink in the lovely cosy bar,then in to dining room,also very cosy with lovely views,food was excellant with nice sized portions,i had fish and chips,my friend had steak and ale pie,both delicious.
Ended the evening having a few beers,and chatting to the locals.
It is only when you get back home,traffic,streets busy busy,how laid back and how lovely this special place is.
Will have to return again to the Colintraive in the near future.
Thank you Patricia and your lovely staff.

Room Tip: room at front of hotel for lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiffyLancashireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just had a 3 night stay to chill out and relax, could not have found a more perfect location or hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much bother. The young lady who greeted us was very friendly and helpful. We had a room at the front of the house with stunning views, it was clean and comfortable. The food was amazing, with only 3 nights it was difficult to decide what to have as I wanted to try everything. Many of the ingredients are sourced from local suppliers and this is evident from the menu on offer. Make sure you try Patricia's signature dish. Whether you are looking for somewhere to stay or just need an evening meal, call in as you will not be disappointed. Thank you to everyone at the Colintraive Hotel for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 998JennyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked through an Itison Deal 2 nights B&B, had a great break in the family room, Our 8yo had a great time and was looked after by the hotel's very friendly and attentive staff. Great location in a particularly picturesque part of Scotland. Ideal for trips to Bute if you fancy a step back in time.
Food choice very good, excellent fish & chips, good value for huge portions. Certainly would return again.
Weather was excellent as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiallW443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We called in at this establishment during a short break in Dunoon. There was a substantial menu,
with many items supplied by local villagers. The staff member was very friendly;everything extremely clean and altogether an excellent place to call into.
Pete O'Brien. South Staffs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colintraive
3.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
465 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
264 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
910 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colintraive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colintraive Hotel

Property: Colintraive Hotel
Address: Colintraive PA22 3AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Colintraive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colintraive Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Colintraive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing