We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April in Colintraive”
Review of Colintraive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colintraive Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“April in Colintraive”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked through an Itison Deal 2 nights B&B, had a great break in the family room, Our 8yo had a great time and was looked after by the hotel's very friendly and attentive staff. Great location in a particularly picturesque part of Scotland. Ideal for trips to Bute if you fancy a step back in time.
Food choice very good, excellent fish & chips, good value for huge portions. Certainly would return again.
Weather was excellent as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiallW443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    64
    15
    12
    3
See reviews for
64
174
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We called in at this establishment during a short break in Dunoon. There was a substantial menu,
with many items supplied by local villagers. The staff member was very friendly;everything extremely clean and altogether an excellent place to call into.
Pete O'Brien. South Staffs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for one night as part of a deal with itison, Friday night. It is a lovely little hotel which had nice comfortable rooms with amazing views. The staff were very friendly. The food was amazing, with big portions and we enjoyed everything we tryed. Hats off to chef and owner Patricia for producing a fantastic meal. We had a fantastic trip and would defintely visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghaffar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for two nights through a deal with itison. Friday , Saturday nights . Lovely quiet hotel , upgraded to room with sea view as room was available at no extra cost. Could not fault the food , large portions and excellent menu for choice . Very friendly staff . Patricia , the owner and chef , always had time to chat . Would have no second thoughts to return for another stay .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redspa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lunch was gd but the bill was a shock , had a bit of cheese on my sandwich was charged £2 extra , my friend just wanted a starter scallops n black pudding n price went up fron £10.75 to£21.50 . We were not told before hand. Pasta dish creame was over cooked. But the fish was great n burger nice . There was 6 of us we all thought meal was gd but all felt terrible after shock of bill. Cud have had a steak if we knew starters were charged doubled.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hopinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad you were happy with most of your lunch. It is unfortunate that there was some misunderstanding about your order. I have spoken with the lady who served you that day and she distinctly remembers asking you if you wished a main course of the scallops dish to which you replied yes, in fact this was also mentioned when you paid the bill. We have checked our till for that day and you were charged £1 for the additional cheese and not £2 as you mentioned. The produce we provide is all local and of the best quality, unfortunately sometimes this costs more but in view of recent news on food standards we believe local is best but this can be at a price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Bar staff very friendly and helpful. Room - great views and comfy. Enjoyed the food and beer. Had booked based on recommendations and to re-live childhood family holiday memories -which we did.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to leave a day early, which we expained to the landlady who was very understanding - however when we came to leave and settle our bill - lets just say we were disappointed with the total - especially when we had booked nearly 12 mths in advance, at the full price (not one of the many offers noted on the website)! And had eaten and drunk there on every occasion. To rub salt in the wound the landlady had not mention this face to face over breakfast and had "left" when we were due to settle the bill.

We travel to Scotland on many occasions throughout the year, so if not for the above, we would have returned with our group of friends and family in 2013.

The customer experience is all about how you feel especially when you leave - we felt let down and disappointed and what we would have thought was a fair price now left us feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H0lidays50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
It is great to read that you obviously really enjoyed ever aspect of your stay with us, the food the room and our staff. I have taken a moment to reply to you because I too recently had to cancel a holiday due to ill health, and had to pay for the entire holiday. Most people have travel insurance and perhaps you do too but havn't thought of claiming on it. Yes I was sympathetic when you told me but did not feel it appropriate to discuss cancellation policy over breakfast. Our cancellation policy is 7 days prior to arrival and this is clearly stated on our web site. Unfortunately having only 4 rooms means that at weekends in particularly we are constantly having to refuse bookings and cannot afford to hold rooms and then not occupy them. I do hope this wouldnt influence another visit in the future and I would offer you £20 credit for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here 27th Jan using a deal from itison. What a fab find. We were upgraded to a better room with a beautiful view free of charge, because it was available. The bed was huge and super comfy, lovely fresh sheets. The bathroom decor was a bit worn, but that is just a comment not a complaint as it was a great deal. Food (especially breakfast), atmosphere and staff all great.
We will definitely go back during the summer to tour the area and this time will bring the dog and take advantage of the lovely walks nearby. Not for lovers of boutique style hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colintraive
3.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
475 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
937 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
251 reviews
21.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,452 reviews
11.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colintraive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colintraive Hotel

Property: Colintraive Hotel
Address: Colintraive PA22 3AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Colintraive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colintraive Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Colintraive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing