We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“...Something missing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colintraive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colintraive Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“...Something missing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Bar staff very friendly and helpful. Room - great views and comfy. Enjoyed the food and beer. Had booked based on recommendations and to re-live childhood family holiday memories -which we did.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to leave a day early, which we expained to the landlady who was very understanding - however when we came to leave and settle our bill - lets just say we were disappointed with the total - especially when we had booked nearly 12 mths in advance, at the full price (not one of the many offers noted on the website)! And had eaten and drunk there on every occasion. To rub salt in the wound the landlady had not mention this face to face over breakfast and had "left" when we were due to settle the bill.

We travel to Scotland on many occasions throughout the year, so if not for the above, we would have returned with our group of friends and family in 2013.

The customer experience is all about how you feel especially when you leave - we felt let down and disappointed and what we would have thought was a fair price now left us feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H0lidays50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
It is great to read that you obviously really enjoyed ever aspect of your stay with us, the food the room and our staff. I have taken a moment to reply to you because I too recently had to cancel a holiday due to ill health, and had to pay for the entire holiday. Most people have travel insurance and perhaps you do too but havn't thought of claiming on it. Yes I was sympathetic when you told me but did not feel it appropriate to discuss cancellation policy over breakfast. Our cancellation policy is 7 days prior to arrival and this is clearly stated on our web site. Unfortunately having only 4 rooms means that at weekends in particularly we are constantly having to refuse bookings and cannot afford to hold rooms and then not occupy them. I do hope this wouldnt influence another visit in the future and I would offer you £20 credit for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    59
    14
    12
    3
See reviews for
57
165
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here 27th Jan using a deal from itison. What a fab find. We were upgraded to a better room with a beautiful view free of charge, because it was available. The bed was huge and super comfy, lovely fresh sheets. The bathroom decor was a bit worn, but that is just a comment not a complaint as it was a great deal. Food (especially breakfast), atmosphere and staff all great.
We will definitely go back during the summer to tour the area and this time will bring the dog and take advantage of the lovely walks nearby. Not for lovers of boutique style hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a stay. Arrived on Friday 4th Jan after staying with family at the edge of Loch Ness. A truly stunning drive from Inverness to the hotel. Lovely welcome when we arrived at the hotel and a very clean and comfortable room. Everyone that looked after us at the hotel could not have been more helpful. The food was absolutely superb and we particularly enjoyed the fish pie. A great base from which to explore the Isle of Bute as the ferry is right on your doorstep. Would thoroughly recommend the hotel to every type of traveller. We stayed with our young son who was made very welcome but equally it would appeal to couples, small groups and especially to those travelling on their own due to the warm welcome and continued great service when you are there. We are looking forward to our return trip in May (hopefully)

Room Tip: A sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stop off here a few times every season as we pass on the yacht - free moorings, good food, dog friendly in the bar, and great walks beside it. Standards are consistently high and will not disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The owner,staff and locals were very welcoming,friendly and helpful,making our two day stay very relaxing and pleasant.Ferries on the door step and within easy driving distance through beautiful scenery allowing access to places like Dunoon.Lovely walks also in area surrounding hotel. On arrival we were offered a room upgrade for a token sum,making it difficult to chose as both rooms were lovely!We loved the room we decided on.Bar area was very cosy with a log fire burning and the food served in the bar restaurant area was delicious.The breakfasts in the dining room were also delicious.It's no wonder that this hotel already has been awarded the Tripadvisor certificate of excellence! You must go there! We will return in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We are just back from a relaxing stay at the Colintraive Hotel. Arrived on Saturday afternoon and relaxed reading the Saturday papers. Saturday night the village had a bonfire with fireworks, so we went along to that. Staff and owner were all very friendly and accommodating. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. We would recommend the langoustines and scallops. Cooked perfectly and beautiful presentation. The steak pie was also delicious. Great atmosphere in the bar later as well. We also had our breakfast a bit later the next morning, which gave us a longer lie in! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AP2011Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nice, clean, small hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful, room clean with very comfy bed. Food excellent. But......on checking the bill on our return I noticed I had been charged £8 for 2 half-pint bottles of Becks Blue non-alcoholic beer (they cost 50p each on the internet). No problem with the hotel making a profit but this was outrageous. I ended up feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllLegs, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and it was good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel prices for beverages are always higher than a general pub and the internet unfortunately. I am sure you were happy with the particularly discounted rate you paid of £69 instead of £110 B and B for the two of you in a sea view room with a bottle of bubbly and chocolates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colintraive
3.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
10.6 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
21.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colintraive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colintraive Hotel

Property: Colintraive Hotel
Address: Colintraive PA22 3AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Colintraive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colintraive Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Colintraive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing