We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolutely Wonderful retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colintraive Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colintraive Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolutely Wonderful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

My husband and myself had the fortunate pleasureof discovering the Colintraive hotel. Set in the remote place of Colintraive in Argyll it is the ideal setting if you are after a remote destination to get away from it all. It is so peaceful and tranquill with plenty of views for great walks and soaking up all the fresh air. This cosy hotel awaits you with a very warm welcome, this is great for dog lovers as our dog was made to feel welcome too and he enjoyed the fantastic walks!! There are plenty of opportunities to discover local ruins and castles and it made for a wonderful break with lots of fresh air and walks without seeing a soul!
At the end of the day we looked forward to our evening meal which was top class. The fresh, local seafood and fish made for avery attractive menu and tasted even better!! There was lots to choose from and every meal was fantastic, my husband who isn't actually that keen on fish had plenty to choose from and had 2 superb meals.
The breakfast again was great and you had plenty of choice but this was accompanied by the most wonderful of views looking across the Loch,simply breathtaking!!
We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return soon, one day!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneX2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    59
    14
    12
    3
See reviews for
57
165
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Great hotel with amazing views. Friendly and helpful staff. A good menu with a lot of local produce i.e. locally caught scallops and langoustines. Also plenty to do nearby, with a picturesque path around the peninsula good for cycling. Would highly recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieradiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Like others reviewing here, we had only planned a single night at the Colintraive, but found it so congenial, the staff so welcoming and helpful, the food so tasty and the location so perfect that we ended up staying for all of our long weekend.

I can't understand anyone who would find it overpriced. The food was inexpensive for the quality. We tried the massive steak and guiness pie, the Winston Churchill venison sausages, fresh haddock, fried, baked and steamed, and the exquisite fish pie. All of them were fairly priced. Of course we avoided any of the really expensive epicurean feats. But if you wanted those, you could have them too.

The bar - £3 for a pint of lager - can't even get that price in my local these days! Music on the Saturday, friendly local every night. Reminded me more of Ireland than the typical west coast hostelry.

The large room overlooking the bay cost about £40 less than you would pay for the same quality in Glasgow, Edinburgh or the Western Isles. It was warm on a cold, wet March evening and the bed itself was of gargantuan proportions. The power shower was a gas too.

As for the location, step out the hotel, turn right and walk down the coast. After a bit you'll see a sign for a grassy knoll 1.5 km's away. I think they actually meant 1.5 km's vertically, since it took us two hours to reach the top. On the way we happened across a lashings of the famous star jelly, left behind by a recent meteorite storm. Also happened upon a large chunk of gold (turned out to be just iron pyrite) but gave us a moment's head rush!

Fifty yards to the right you'll come the ferry to Bute, runs regularly from 5.30am till 8pm and only takes a few moments. That meant we could visit Bute, but still come back to the comfort of the Colintraive Hotel. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mevagissey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

We have stayed here a few times, and always been made very welcome. Patricia and her staff are always friendly and helpful. We usually eat at the bar rather than the dining room and the blackboard has a large selection of interesting food and friendly tips too. We love the scallops and black pud, steaks and pasta dishes. Wine is good value. The bar is cosy especially in winter with a real fire blazing and locals having a pint. We are always served a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saxonMevagissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

we traveled down from oban to have lunch with friends from the isle of bute,they recommended the colintraive hotel to save us the journey to rothesay , told us it was an award winning hotel , looked a bit ropey from the outside , not very well manicured the wife said.anyway we went into the bar and waited to be served and waited then finaly the waitress arrived obviously just had e a cigarette i got it right in the face horrible i hate that! did,nt even wash her hands
So here we go into the food and service if iam paying £20 to £28 per head i would at least expect a table cloth not some old pub table iam sorry maybe its me, we ordered the local prawns that Arthur had caught ,glad arthur did,nt see what was done for his hard efforts , cooked to a pulp, as for the hand dived scallops they were like power balls over cooked a simple dish with a sauce that had not been reduced , pure wine probably added at the last minute ,as for the two rib eye baugettes ,the garnish was nice but was like eating leather , nice wine cant complain and a decent price would have went well if the food was up to a reasonable standard,i think the so called chef might have slept with a chef ,iam sorry but this stuff is GRIM we did,nt bother with desert enough was enough this is not my full review because it would not be printed .but theres an old Scottish word for what we were served and it starts with a S and end in an E. hope you have better luck than us , take your credit card or go over the water to be where you,ll find a couple of nice restaurants that will not "RIP YOU OFFFFFFFFFFFF" GET MY POINT!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank obanseafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia W, Owner at Colintraive Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2016
All I wish to say is that I know you are confusing us with some other location. We do not and have never served steak baguettes, and dont offer Arthurs langoustines or Scallops in a sauce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Dead flowers in tubs at entrance
Some lights not working in room
Toilet roll holder falling off wall
Very hard and rough towels
Furniture scratched
Food good
But what a view!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyremanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

We spent two days and one night here. The room was lovely - nicely updated with *superb* light and views. The bathroom was ok - I have a particular hatred for electric showers but was otherwise fine. The weather was bitter - subzero and snowy and the bathroom was a little chilly but the room was very warm, toasty even.

The bar is a charming, welcoming place with friendly locals and a good fire. We had a good dinner there - my scallops were simply superb although my steak was closer to medium than the rare I ordered. My wife had a steamed haddock which was excellent but enormous! Over all a good, straightforward, meal. Breakfast was taken in the very civilised dining room and accompanied by our newspaper of choice. Good coffee and very good bacon.

A word on the service - the boss, Patricia, is lovely - very warm and happy to serve. She has a nice knack of being perfectly friendly without swamping - a nice and rare combination. We also took the dog out for a snowy morning walk. The walking is excellent roundabouts but the dog is even better.

We had great fun and would certainly stay again. This is not a 5 star or super luxury boutique place, but it is very sound and whatever the decorative shortcoming (in the bar perhaps, and staircase also) they are more than balanced out by the charm of the hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank navraggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colintraive
3.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
10.6 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
21.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colintraive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colintraive Hotel

Property: Colintraive Hotel
Address: Colintraive PA22 3AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Colintraive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colintraive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colintraive Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Colintraive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing