We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
285
124
38
22
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
124
38
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub hill walking stunning scenery macaroni cheese venison underfloor heating real ale scones food service lovely atmosphere self catering loch brandy peace and quiet lovely walk climbers bar great facilities local produce
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 483 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

Great location and a very cosy place to visit after a cold walk up to Loch Brandy with great hot chocolate and beer. Lovely atmosphere with nice music and friendly staff. Cosy rustic decor with fishing rods and staghorns on walls.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank gtripper2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear gtripper2017, delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Loch Brandy is a well renowned walk in the area and I’m glad you embraced it even on a cold day!

Hope to see you again soon!

Many thanks Glen Clova Hotel Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

Great welcome and a real treat for sore legs after tackling the munroes.

Huddle around a fire and tuck into a tasty drink and some delicious trips.

The memorabilia is inspiring and I’ve spent many a time sink into one of there is maps planning out our next adventure.

Good quality non alcoholic beer is a nice touch for the drivers.

Well worth the adventure

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear JRoaming, many thanks for your lovely review on our Climbers Bar...it’s an area that’s very special to the hotel and is often very well received by customers.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Many thanks

Glen Clova Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018

We stayed in one of the self catering lodges which was extremely comfortable and warm with underfloor heating, hot tub and sauna, both very welcome after a day out!
We spent our week exploring the area. We’re not big walkers so looked for local attractions, Glamis Castle,Blair Athol, Braemar and Dundee for the Jute works and the new V&A, All worth visiting
The hotel was very accommodating, we had three excellent evening meals, one in the restaurant, pre booked before our arrival as it was our first evening and our 35th anniversary, and the other two in the bar, all the staff were very friendlyand welcoming.
This definitely on our list for a return visit

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0Violet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Many thanks 0Violet for taking the time to post such a lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us.

There are some fantastic visitor attractions within a short drive of the hotel and lodges and it’s great you managed to take advantage and go and see them.

We do hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Glen Clova Hotel Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely delighted with our stay at the Glen Clova Hotel.

The staff were super helpful going out of their way to organise a late dinner and early breakfast to allow us to get out on the hills early.

We stayed in the Steadings which was fabulous. Really clean and modern rooms with very comfortable beds and pillows. Recently refurbished in April the rooms have everything you need and more!

The food was very good indeed with a quaint bar for drinks and relaxation afterwards.

I cannot wait to return!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank AngelaCuthbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review AngelaCuthbert and we are delighted to hear you and your group enjoyed you stay. Well done for bagging a couple of munroes too!

I have passed your comments onto the rest of the team, it’s always a real boost when get such positive feedback.

We would be delighted to welcome you back sometime and please take advantage of our Winter Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Offer available from £139 per room. Please call us for more information

Thank you

Glen Clova Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Spent an overnight at Glen Clova and I have to say I was very plesently surprised ....... all positive comments
- Accommodation in The Steadings , great room, recently refurbished and to a very good standard
- Dinner was great , leave room for a desert
- Cosy bar for after dinner drinks
- Special request for pack lunches was no problem to the staff
- If your a walker fantastic location , bagged a Munro which was a stunning walk , Mayar

Looking forward to returning and delighted to find out I can bring my dog with me as they are 100% dog friendly

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank GrenadierGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review GrenadierGlasgow and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay. Well done for bagging a couple of munroes too!

I have passed your comments onto the rest of the team, it’s always a real boost when get such positive feedback.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your dog back into our steading rooms sometime and please take advantage of our Winter Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Offer available from £139 per room. Please call us for more information

Thank you

Glen Clova Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews