We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing break.”
Review of Glen Clova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Clova Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing break.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely break in one of the clova lodges and cant wait to return! We stayed in a two bedroom lodge which was beautiful and super clean and cosy. The staff were lovely and really helpful especially the hotel manager called Lesley who went out of her way to go and get me a hair brush from the shops in Kirriemuir on her way home as I had forgotten mine. Also the staff in the bar and restaurant were lovely and friendly we could even bring the dog in to the cosy wee bar!
The scenery and setting of the lodges is amazing especially relaxing in the hot tub underneath the stars at night. The sauna also worked a treat and the peace and quiet was just great! Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovebirdsscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    95
    29
    18
    12
See reviews for
94
167
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently visited the glen Clova Hotel for a meal as it was our anniversary. We have been here a couple of times but this time were shocked at a member of staffs attitude towards us, the manager of the hotels abrupt and rude manner was off putting although the meal was cooked beautifully and bar staff very pleasant!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryjaneRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosehearty
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from one of the hotels Hideaway lodges. Wow!
On arrival at the hotel we were met with a very friendly warm welcome by the Hotel manager (Lesley I think her name is) Swiftly checked in and given a voucher for the hotels restaurant for a free desert, which was very nice (so was the sticky toffee pudding)
We made our way up to the very snowny Cameron Lodge, set in the wooded area behind the main hotel. Into the lodge to find they had kindly made sure the heating (including underfloor heating) was on for us, thankfully as there was a fair bit of snow on the ground when we arrived. There was also a few helpful things provided for us, i.e. a pint of fresh milk, breakfast orange juice, tea, coffee and sugar.
The manger came upto the lodge after about half an hour to make sure everything was ok for us, she offered to go through how to work things if we needed and told us a wee bit about the lodges which was nice.
The log cabin itself. The photos don't do it any justice regarding space, they are a lot bigger than we thought they were going to be. The décor is very nice throughout. The kingsize bed is very comfy with good quality bed linin. The toilet/shower/sauna room is nice also. The open plan kitchen/living area is also well set out and spacious. Comfy leather chairs with flat screen tv and dvd/bluray player. Dining table and chairs with well stocked kitchen.
The patio doors open out to a decked area with table and chairs and the brilliant Hot Tub! We loved the hot tub especially with snow outside!! The hot tub is well looked after, one of their team were round every morning to do their stuff and on the morning of departure the hot tub guy was there early on to empty and clean, then fil up for the next guests arrival.
The sauna is also very good, it takes no time to heat up and is very relaxing.

We went down to the hotel on a couple of occasions to use the phone there(as there is no phone signal in the lodge) and while there had a cheeky few drinks in the Climbers bar. The bar is a very cosy rustic style bar full of old climbing, fishing and walking gear! Which we thought was quite cool! Cracking selection of malt whiskies from all over and good selections of beers and lagers too. We also ate in the restaurant on our last night which was very nice and the free pudding was just a treat!!!

The lodge and our experience on a whole was very, very enjoyable from start to finish, and hope to return again in the future!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent an fabulous few days bringing in the new year at this delightful family run hotel. As a large party, we took over the whole hotel and were made most welcome - even our dog! The rooms are well appointed and comfortable; the food outstanding, the entertainment was brilliant, but most of all the staff were exceptional - it was so good we booked it for next year - sorry everybody else!
Despite dreadful dreich Scttish weather, whch we experinced on this trip, this place has a lot of offer walkers, cyclists or those just seeking some peaceful seclusion - with your every need catered for within the hotel. Haste us back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyJTarves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Manager at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Delighted you and your friends enjoyed you stay and that every met your expectations! Look forward to welcoming you again next year, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After booking a couple of weeks in advance, my husband and I came here for lunch on New Years Day. (We had eaten lunch here on New Years Day about 4 years ago, and were very impressed). However, this time was not the same.

We were seated in an empty restaurant for the whole duration, despite the bar sounding fairly busy. We were not asked if we would like to sit in the bar instead.

We ordered 2 main courses. My husband believed that his vegetarian lasagne had just been heated through, rather than cooked fresh. I ordered the salmon with tagliatelle (which turned out to be basic spaghetti), and the sauce was not brilliant either. We had eaten both of these dishes before in a previous visit, and they had been very different.

When asked if everything was OK with our meals, my husband said no, and explained why, to which the waiter responded by looking suprised, and mumbled something about it being New Years Day, therefore implying that we shouldn't expect any more from them. The waiter walked away with our plates, and we were not offered any apology or resolution, and left the hotel without any "thank-you" or "goodbye" from the staff.

We were understandably very disappointed, and surprised. As far as we were concerned, if the hotel chose to be open to the public on New Years Day, as we were informed when we booked, then we should expect the same standard of food and service as any other day, but it became clear to us, that the staff did not share our view.

A real shame since we have enjoyed very pleasant meals and good service from here in the past.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everised84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Manager at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you once again for your valued repeat custom, we would like to offer you our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. With any professional restaurant an element of preparation in some of our dishes is essential to ensure a timely delivery if meals to our valued customers. Hopefully you will choose to revisit us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you when you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Although we had eaten here last year and knew the quality of food and service, this was our first overnight stay with a planned early start on the hills due to the short winter daylight hours.
It's a fair distance from the main roads and shops but if you want good accommodation, good food, solitude, good hill walks and no pesky mobile phone calls, this is the place to be.
The room was nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable. The shower is superb with a high pressure and loads of hot water to massage sore shoulders.
Last time, the Climber's Bar was packed but this visit, it was very quiet so we had a choice of tables and selected one near the fabulous open log-burning stove. It might have been freezing outside but in this bar, it was toast.
Service was good and the food was just as good as last year.
We had the mushrooms for starter, the chicken and venison. Mmmmm.
The breakfast options should cover everyone's taste from fresh fruit, cereal and cooked breakfast.
Could not fault the service or facilities.
Definitely worth another visit to climb the remaining hill in that area.

Room Tip: Room 6 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StravaigingJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Most people have said everything so I'm just going to do a good/bad list!!
Good.
*Beautiful well equipped lodges. Pretty much everything you would need, including tea, coffee, sugar, salt and pepper, pt of milk and orange juice and cleaning stuff incl dishwasher tablets.
*Fab hot tub and Sauna.... exceptionally clean, really friendly guy comes every morning to maintain it.
*Wonderful setting. Every night we went out after dark looking for deer... Drive along to Glen Doll and you will see lots of them!
Take a daytime trip to Glen Doll also.
*The views... From the bedroom, lounge, kitchen, hot tub were stunning! (Stayed in Clova Lodge)
*Peace and Tranquility.
*Even the windy journey from Kirrimuir is stunning, we use to come in one road and out the other for variety, each are equally beautiful.

Bad
*The arrival time of 4pm. I know the lodges need cleaning and they were clean... Although they don't move the beds to vacuum as found a mans sock in 1 room and pair of glasses in another! But when you've had a long journey and the dark nights are coming in 3pm is more reasonable. I travel a fair bit and I've never had a later check in than 3!!
*Grumpy staff. You don't go here for hospitality!! Except for a lady who I think is in charge of the lodges (she checked us in and out) and the guy that maintains the hot tub, the rest are unwelcoming.
So as you can see they are only slight niggles so don't be put off by going because this place really is stunning!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou090669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton of Clova
17.2 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
535 reviews
17.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
347 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
186 reviews
12.4 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
118 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Clova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Clova Hotel

Property: Glen Clova Hotel
Address: Glen Clova | Nr Kirriemuir, Milton of Clova DD8 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Milton of Clova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Clova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the idyllic serenity of the Angus glens, Glen Clova Hotel is the perfect get away. Our historic country hotel dates back to the Drovers Inn of the 1850's. The charm and allure of the hotel has been carefully preserved and we have exactly what you need to relax and escape. Our hotel provides the utmost pleasures of modern day living combined with a feeling of history. This is the ultimate Scottish get away. 10 en-suite rooms, bunkhouse that sleeps 32 with en-suite facilities & eight luxury lodges that sleep between 2 & 6 people and each have their own hot tub and sauna (prices vary depending on time of year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen Clova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Clova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing