We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic weekend at Glen Clova!”
Review of Glen Clova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen Clova Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back from wonderful stay with Dumfries ramblers group at bunkhouse at Glen Clova. Despite being in the cheaper accommodation, we were royally treated by all staff. Breakfasts and dinners were outstanding quality and choice, made with local produce. The staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant. The place was very busy with the Mountain Rescue's first Duathlon but this and the fabulous weather on Saturday only heightened our enjoyment (AND we climbed 2 munros!). Sunday was pretty wet initially but awesome scenery all round and plenty low level walks on offer. Just the best all round weekend in a lovely place and hopefully next time I can take husband and dog and stay in the hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 436 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

My daughter treated me to this hotel for my birthday, i can honestly say there was not one bad thing i can say about this hotel, food service , bar,and of course the fantastic views .when you go to hotels there usually one small thing thats not quite right but not here everything was fantastic . And what can i say about the hikes just fantastic . A must for all. Cant wait to go back thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rising S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On a recent tour of Scotland we stayed with relatives in Kirriemuir who took us to Glen Clova, promising us a great lunch, and they were right. We were enchanted with the scenery and the setting of the hotel. Lunch was excellent - the venison cooked to perfection - and the service was friendly and efficient, as well as excellent value. This was a standout destination on our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ros E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a great breakfast before going up the hill for a day at the grouse. Marvellous full Scottish to keep you going till lunchtime. Will go back in a flash. The whole set up is great with the views and peace and quiet. You feel the glen has not changed for hundreds of years and mobile phones don't work till you are up the hill ( bonus)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Took a drive up to the Hotel on a Sunday for lunch with my wife. Stunning scenery, great location and a real destination for a nice day out. Great value for money with lots of home made food which is well priced and very well presented. We had food and drinks sitting outside on the patio, in the sunshine, with live band playing in the back ground............ what more could you ask for??! Well done to the team and keep up the good work! Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: well worth the journey!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayDeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

3 of us had 4 nights here on a hiking holiday and it was EXCELLENT in every way. Lovely rooms, comfortable beds and faciities, friendly and helpful staff, very good food, real ale,and a beautiful area (if the weather is right!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barkerSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Called to book a room for one night and advised to call speak to the owner the same evening to get dinner,bed and breakfast rate and discuss rooms (our 15th wedding anniversary so wanted it to be as pleasant as possible) Meantime I reserved a room.
Same evening spoke to owner who was short in manner and said that there was nothing else she could give me just for one night and that they don't actually do a dinner bed and breakfast rate. Then she asked me for a £50.00 deposit, in the same breath.
Perhaps I got her at a bad time, but poor show from an informational and manner point of view. Pity I was looking forward to it but put off now.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Saskia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office assistant at Glen Clova Hotel at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and we are disappointed that you have written a review without even staying with us. Unfortunately you did catch us on a very busy evening and we can only apologise for the manner in which you were spoken to. The weekend you were enquiring about we have very limited availability and you were requiring a room with a nice view and something a little special for your anniversary and that’s why we advised that there wasn't anything we could do for you. Once again we can only apologise for the way the situation was handled and do hope that you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton of Clova
17.2 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
577 reviews
12.4 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
133 reviews
14.2 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
286 reviews
18.5 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Clova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Clova Hotel

Address: Glen Clova | Nr Kirriemuir, Milton of Clova DD8 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Milton of Clova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Price Range: $117 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Clova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the idyllic serenity of the Angus glens, Glen Clova Hotel is the perfect get away. Our historic country hotel dates back to the Drovers Inn of the 1850's. The charm and allure of the hotel has been carefully preserved and we have exactly what you need to relax and escape. Our hotel provides the utmost pleasures of modern day living combined with a feeling of history. This is the ultimate Scottish get away. 10 en-suite rooms, bunkhouse that sleeps 32 with en-suite facilities & eight luxury lodges that sleep between 2 & 6 people and each have their own hot tub and sauna (prices vary depending on time of year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glen Clova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Clova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing