We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotland on a plate”
Review of Glen Clova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Clova Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On a recent tour of Scotland we stayed with relatives in Kirriemuir who took us to Glen Clova, promising us a great lunch, and they were right. We were enchanted with the scenery and the setting of the hotel. Lunch was excellent - the venison cooked to perfection - and the service was friendly and efficient, as well as excellent value. This was a standout destination on our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ros E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Glen Clova Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 425 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a great breakfast before going up the hill for a day at the grouse. Marvellous full Scottish to keep you going till lunchtime. Will go back in a flash. The whole set up is great with the views and peace and quiet. You feel the glen has not changed for hundreds of years and mobile phones don't work till you are up the hill ( bonus)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Took a drive up to the Hotel on a Sunday for lunch with my wife. Stunning scenery, great location and a real destination for a nice day out. Great value for money with lots of home made food which is well priced and very well presented. We had food and drinks sitting outside on the patio, in the sunshine, with live band playing in the back ground............ what more could you ask for??! Well done to the team and keep up the good work! Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: well worth the journey!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayDeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

3 of us had 4 nights here on a hiking holiday and it was EXCELLENT in every way. Lovely rooms, comfortable beds and faciities, friendly and helpful staff, very good food, real ale,and a beautiful area (if the weather is right!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barkerSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Called to book a room for one night and advised to call speak to the owner the same evening to get dinner,bed and breakfast rate and discuss rooms (our 15th wedding anniversary so wanted it to be as pleasant as possible) Meantime I reserved a room.
Same evening spoke to owner who was short in manner and said that there was nothing else she could give me just for one night and that they don't actually do a dinner bed and breakfast rate. Then she asked me for a £50.00 deposit, in the same breath.
Perhaps I got her at a bad time, but poor show from an informational and manner point of view. Pity I was looking forward to it but put off now.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Saskia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office assistant at Glen Clova Hotel at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and we are disappointed that you have written a review without even staying with us. Unfortunately you did catch us on a very busy evening and we can only apologise for the manner in which you were spoken to. The weekend you were enquiring about we have very limited availability and you were requiring a room with a nice view and something a little special for your anniversary and that’s why we advised that there wasn't anything we could do for you. Once again we can only apologise for the way the situation was handled and do hope that you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had a fantastic 4 night stay in a 2 bedroomed Clova lodge. The rooms are large and well fitted out, the kitchen has everything that you need (including salt and pepper) to cook a full meal if needed, although it is a very short stroll to the hotel where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner. After an early morning walk up to Loch Brandy (start from the hotel car park) it was great to return and ease the muscles in the outdoor hot tub. It was great to lie in the tub and look at the fantastic scenery and watch the swallows swooping down close to the lodge. Unfortunately the tub was not warm enough to use the first evening but there was the large sauna to use instead. Wakened to the sound of sheep in the adjoining fields each morning. Even when the weather closed in the scenery with the clouds hanging over the hills was great. Went home totally relaxed and looking forward to returning for another stay early next year. The lodges/hotel are situated in the Angus glens and there are great walks suitable for all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iandorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

After a morning cycling through Glen Clova it was great to meet up with the rest of the family who had gone hill walking at this lovely hotel. The staff were welcoming, the menu was interesting and varied and the food when it came was well presented, hot a very tasty. The hotel could not be situated in a better setting, the hills that surround it must be some of the most interesting in the east of Scotland. The run in is long, twisting and narrow but the end result is well worth it. A great choice by my son in law, we will return. The hotel has a number of family lodges next to the main building, these looked good.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton of Clova
12.4 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
129 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
381 reviews
14.2 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
365 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
15.7 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Clova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Clova Hotel

Address: Glen Clova | Nr Kirriemuir, Milton of Clova DD8 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Milton of Clova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Price Range: $114 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Clova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the idyllic serenity of the Angus glens, Glen Clova Hotel is the perfect get away. Our historic country hotel dates back to the Drovers Inn of the 1850's. The charm and allure of the hotel has been carefully preserved and we have exactly what you need to relax and escape. Our hotel provides the utmost pleasures of modern day living combined with a feeling of history. This is the ultimate Scottish get away. 10 en-suite rooms, bunkhouse that sleeps 32 with en-suite facilities & eight luxury lodges that sleep between 2 & 6 people and each have their own hot tub and sauna (prices vary depending on time of year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen Clova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Clova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing