We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveler rating
281
119
36
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
119
36
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubbunk househill walkingstunning sceneryvenisonmacaroni cheeseunderfloor heatinggreat lunchreal aleself cateringfood serviceloch brandysconespeace and quietgreat facilitieslovely walklocal produce
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 469 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Guys fishing trip. Stayed in the hostel part of the hotel. We paid £17 per person plus an addition £8 for breakfast. The rooms were basic yet clean. Our room had 4 beds, a shower and a toilet. Beds were small. I'm 6ft and my feet were out the end of the bed. Bedding was provided and was clean.

We used the hotel both nights for food and drink. Food was nice with a good selection of dishes on the menu. Bar was well stocked with a good variety of beers, ciders etc. There's a games room with a pool table and dart board right beside the bar. We spent most of our time in here.

Staff were great. Really friendly, flexible and helpful. Allowed us to eat in the bar to watch the football on the TV. Breakfast was what you would expect. A selection of cereals, fruit juice with the choice of hot dishes inc full breakfast. Coffee and tea provided, including refills.

No Sky TV although they did have WiFi. This was patchy throughout the hotel.

Enjoyed my time here and would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

After several hours walking through and over Corrie Fee we decided to stop off for a meal and a drink on our way home. The food was fantastic, the staff very welcoming and the prices reasonable. This was a fantastic end to a brilliant day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent a few nights here with our family-9 in total- and had a Fabulous time. Food was really wonderful, think the pâté is the best I've ever had. Everything was clean and nicely decorated. Staff were all wonderful and went out of their way to be helpful and go the extra mile- really makes all the difference. Can't wait to go back. Nothing was too much trouble and the proprietors were so helpful too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us!
Many thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Summer afternoon tea al fresco, outside the front of the hotel on a glorious Scottish summer's day. All the best attributes of Scottish hosptiality, in a location that is simply stunningly beautiful. Worth the trip up the length of the Glen to get there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are over joyed that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and enjoyed the stunning views.

We do hope that you come and visit again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at a hideaway lodge for 4 nights, mid week. We had stayed at the Glen Lodges 3 times previously with a large group of friends but this time thought we'd try out the hideaway lodges for 2 people. The lodges cannot be faulted, the rooms are huge and the facilities are great, you get your own private hot tub on your balcony and a sauna in your bathroom area. You also have your own BBQ (all you need to bring is the coals). The views are amazing, with rabbits and alot of birds near by. We walked up the path behind the lodges to glenesk, again great views.

I would highly recommend these lodges, the prices look a bit steep but when you arrive you will see why.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Many thanks for taking your time to post a review. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our hideaway lodges!

Hope you will visit again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews