We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveler rating
281
119
36
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
119
36
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubbunk househill walkingstunning sceneryvenisonmacaroni cheeseunderfloor heatinggreat lunchreal aleself cateringfood serviceloch brandysconesgreat facilitieslovely walklocal producerelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 469 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at a hideaway lodge for 4 nights, mid week. We had stayed at the Glen Lodges 3 times previously with a large group of friends but this time thought we'd try out the hideaway lodges for 2 people. The lodges cannot be faulted, the rooms are huge and the facilities are great, you get your own private hot tub on your balcony and a sauna in your bathroom area. You also have your own BBQ (all you need to bring is the coals). The views are amazing, with rabbits and alot of birds near by. We walked up the path behind the lodges to glenesk, again great views.

I would highly recommend these lodges, the prices look a bit steep but when you arrive you will see why.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Many thanks for taking your time to post a review. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our hideaway lodges!

Hope you will visit again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We make a visit to clova every year for a meal out as part of our holiday and we are never disappointed. This year was no exception. The food is always excellent and the staff are friendly. Fantastic food, locally sourced, taste and presentation are second to none. You get what you pay for. We will be back again next year. Might look into the luxury lodges one time!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office Assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Many thanks for your tripadvisor review! We are over joyed that you enjoyed your meal with us again! If you do wish to have a look into our lodges then please let us know as we can offer you a tour of them to have a look inside of them to see what you think.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We frequently visit glen clova and always pop into the hotel for a drink or a meal. staff are fabulous!! Meals are terrific, atmosphere is second to none. We'll continue to visit glen clova as guaranteed a pleasurable time.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Laura C.

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Myself and my bf hve just returned from the most relaxing week we hve had at the glen clova hideaway lodge:-) cannot fault it at all. Perfect getaway and the sceneray is stunning. Highly recommended :-) x

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weedonnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office Assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Donna.

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us in our hideaway lodges!

We hope that you will have another visit with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed one night for dinner, bed and breakfast - and that was enough. I left with the overall feeling that the business comes first and the customers have to fit in with that. The bar has good beers but the wines are not so good. Our dinner was lacklustre at best. The cooked part of our breakfast was good - but the rest of breakfast was unfortunate. Nothing was set out by 8am, we were given toast and coffee - but the milk, butter and preserves (strawberry jam) came later - by which time the coffee was cooling and the toast stale.
In spite of making it very clear in the evening that we wanted a ham sandwich only to take away with us when walking, they prepared (and tried to charge for) a full packed lunch.
Our room was comfortable but the over the bath shower was much too powerful - it was very hard not to spray the entire room from behind an inadequate screen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanatdyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear alan.

We are extremely sorry and sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at glen clova hotel. We hope this has not put you off coming to visit us again in the near future.

I would just like to comment and explain a couple of your points. During breakfast we normally give you tea/coffee and toast first so your not sitting without anything while you are waiting on your breakfast being cooked. As for the wait on your milk and butter i can only sincerely apologise for that mistake. If you had asked for more tea/coffee and toast then our staff would have been more than happy to give you more. That is what we are here for.

We apologise with the misunderstanding with your packed lunch although i am sure you would not have been charged for a full packed lunch.

For our shower i can only apologise again that you did not enjoy them. We do understand that they are extremely powerful but most of our visitors have commented on how good they are and how much they enjoy them.

We do hope that you come and visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews