We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb place.”
Review of Glen Clova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Clova Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Certificate of Excellence
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb place.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We frequently visit glen clova and always pop into the hotel for a drink or a meal. staff are fabulous!! Meals are terrific, atmosphere is second to none. We'll continue to visit glen clova as guaranteed a pleasurable time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Laura C.

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    93
    29
    18
    12
See reviews for
91
164
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Myself and my bf hve just returned from the most relaxing week we hve had at the glen clova hideaway lodge:-) cannot fault it at all. Perfect getaway and the sceneray is stunning. Highly recommended :-) x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weedonnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office Assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Donna.

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us in our hideaway lodges!

We hope that you will have another visit with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed one night for dinner, bed and breakfast - and that was enough. I left with the overall feeling that the business comes first and the customers have to fit in with that. The bar has good beers but the wines are not so good. Our dinner was lacklustre at best. The cooked part of our breakfast was good - but the rest of breakfast was unfortunate. Nothing was set out by 8am, we were given toast and coffee - but the milk, butter and preserves (strawberry jam) came later - by which time the coffee was cooling and the toast stale.
In spite of making it very clear in the evening that we wanted a ham sandwich only to take away with us when walking, they prepared (and tried to charge for) a full packed lunch.
Our room was comfortable but the over the bath shower was much too powerful - it was very hard not to spray the entire room from behind an inadequate screen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanatdyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear alan.

We are extremely sorry and sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at glen clova hotel. We hope this has not put you off coming to visit us again in the near future.

I would just like to comment and explain a couple of your points. During breakfast we normally give you tea/coffee and toast first so your not sitting without anything while you are waiting on your breakfast being cooked. As for the wait on your milk and butter i can only sincerely apologise for that mistake. If you had asked for more tea/coffee and toast then our staff would have been more than happy to give you more. That is what we are here for.

We apologise with the misunderstanding with your packed lunch although i am sure you would not have been charged for a full packed lunch.

For our shower i can only apologise again that you did not enjoy them. We do understand that they are extremely powerful but most of our visitors have commented on how good they are and how much they enjoy them.

We do hope that you come and visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a lovely place ,we only live 20miles away but have never visited before but now that we know what we have been missing we will certainly be going back . The food is excellent and the staff are friendly and efficient . The prices are very reasonable . A bit off the beaten track but well worth the drive to get there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham , England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing 7 night holiday in a Hideaway Lodge at Glen Cova, This was our first holiday to Scotland and was a long drive from Nottingham . However it was a perfect 'get away from it all 'break .The Lodge was of the highest standard & nothing was overlooked. Slippers,hot tub, indoor suana, bbq, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, microwave ...everything we could have possibly asked for to make it a wonderful experience. The scenery & surroundings were stunning and we really enjoyed walking& exploring the area ...especially Glen Doll , 3 miles up the road . The Glen Cova Hotel was only 2 minutes from our Lodge & we enjoyed 2 meals there during the week . Friendly staff & special mention to the Lovely Kim who chatted to us and made us feel very welcome. The food was delicious ! Worth noting that there is no phone signal and nearest town or shops is in Kirremiuir ....11 miles away ! But we loved the solitude and it made us relax without 'outside' intrusion ! ...If this is for you .....go there...... .you will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed with my elderly parents in the Glen Clova Lodge - we had the one called Angus. Really good choice as each bedroom has its own en-suite and the Lodges are finished to a high standard. Good for those less mobile as all on one level. underfloor heating must be fab in winter. Hot Tub lovely and maintained daily, great views from the tub and the decking. Liked that they supplied separate towels for the hot tub. The location is beautiful and isolated (no mobile phone signal) and there are lots of challenging and not so challenging walks either direct from the lodges or a short drive up to Glen Doll. The food at the hotel is ok and reasonably priced.
During the week out of peak season the choice of food for lunch was limited at the hotel. My parents asked for a sandwich and were told they could only have a panni or baguette, even though the hotel had bread, they were told they could only have bread if they ordered soup! Seems a bit inflexible. That said the Lodges themselves are great and we would go again.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodges they are high quality and well fitted out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
737 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in lovely Glen Clova while out for a Sunday jaunt. After disappointment in Kirriemuir the hotel was a welcome sight. Home made scones with jam and cream - very fresh and very tasty. Reasonably priced at just over £8 for two of us. Service good and very friendly staff. Going like a fair at the time so given the remote location they must be getting it right.What more is there to life than beautiful scenery and great food?

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton of Clova
17.2 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
17.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
15.7 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Clova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Clova Hotel

Property: Glen Clova Hotel
Address: Glen Clova | Nr Kirriemuir, Milton of Clova DD8 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Milton of Clova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Clova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the idyllic serenity of the Angus glens, Glen Clova Hotel is the perfect get away. Our historic country hotel dates back to the Drovers Inn of the 1850's. The charm and allure of the hotel has been carefully preserved and we have exactly what you need to relax and escape. Our hotel provides the utmost pleasures of modern day living combined with a feeling of history. This is the ultimate Scottish get away. 10 en-suite rooms, bunkhouse that sleeps 32 with en-suite facilities & eight luxury lodges that sleep between 2 & 6 people and each have their own hot tub and sauna (prices vary depending on time of year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen Clova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Clova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing