We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
281
122
38
22
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
122
38
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubbunk househill walkingstunning sceneryvenisonmacaroni cheeseunderfloor heatinggreat lunchreal aleself cateringfood serviceloch brandysconespeace and quietlovely walkgreat facilitieslocal produce
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 477 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed one night for dinner, bed and breakfast - and that was enough. I left with the overall feeling that the business comes first and the customers have to fit in with that. The bar has good beers but the wines are not so good. Our dinner was lacklustre at best. The cooked part of our breakfast was good - but the rest of breakfast was unfortunate. Nothing was set out by 8am, we were given toast and coffee - but the milk, butter and preserves (strawberry jam) came later - by which time the coffee was cooling and the toast stale.
In spite of making it very clear in the evening that we wanted a ham sandwich only to take away with us when walking, they prepared (and tried to charge for) a full packed lunch.
Our room was comfortable but the over the bath shower was much too powerful - it was very hard not to spray the entire room from behind an inadequate screen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanatdyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Clova H, Office assistant at Glen Clova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear alan.

We are extremely sorry and sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at glen clova hotel. We hope this has not put you off coming to visit us again in the near future.

I would just like to comment and explain a couple of your points. During breakfast we normally give you tea/coffee and toast first so your not sitting without anything while you are waiting on your breakfast being cooked. As for the wait on your milk and butter i can only sincerely apologise for that mistake. If you had asked for more tea/coffee and toast then our staff would have been more than happy to give you more. That is what we are here for.

We apologise with the misunderstanding with your packed lunch although i am sure you would not have been charged for a full packed lunch.

For our shower i can only apologise again that you did not enjoy them. We do understand that they are extremely powerful but most of our visitors have commented on how good they are and how much they enjoy them.

We do hope that you come and visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a lovely place ,we only live 20miles away but have never visited before but now that we know what we have been missing we will certainly be going back . The food is excellent and the staff are friendly and efficient . The prices are very reasonable . A bit off the beaten track but well worth the drive to get there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing 7 night holiday in a Hideaway Lodge at Glen Cova, This was our first holiday to Scotland and was a long drive from Nottingham . However it was a perfect 'get away from it all 'break .The Lodge was of the highest standard & nothing was overlooked. Slippers,hot tub, indoor suana, bbq, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, microwave ...everything we could have possibly asked for to make it a wonderful experience. The scenery & surroundings were stunning and we really enjoyed walking& exploring the area ...especially Glen Doll , 3 miles up the road . The Glen Cova Hotel was only 2 minutes from our Lodge & we enjoyed 2 meals there during the week . Friendly staff & special mention to the Lovely Kim who chatted to us and made us feel very welcome. The food was delicious ! Worth noting that there is no phone signal and nearest town or shops is in Kirremiuir ....11 miles away ! But we loved the solitude and it made us relax without 'outside' intrusion ! ...If this is for you .....go there...... .you will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed with my elderly parents in the Glen Clova Lodge - we had the one called Angus. Really good choice as each bedroom has its own en-suite and the Lodges are finished to a high standard. Good for those less mobile as all on one level. underfloor heating must be fab in winter. Hot Tub lovely and maintained daily, great views from the tub and the decking. Liked that they supplied separate towels for the hot tub. The location is beautiful and isolated (no mobile phone signal) and there are lots of challenging and not so challenging walks either direct from the lodges or a short drive up to Glen Doll. The food at the hotel is ok and reasonably priced.
During the week out of peak season the choice of food for lunch was limited at the hotel. My parents asked for a sandwich and were told they could only have a panni or baguette, even though the hotel had bread, they were told they could only have bread if they ordered soup! Seems a bit inflexible. That said the Lodges themselves are great and we would go again.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodges they are high quality and well fitted out
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped in lovely Glen Clova while out for a Sunday jaunt. After disappointment in Kirriemuir the hotel was a welcome sight. Home made scones with jam and cream - very fresh and very tasty. Reasonably priced at just over £8 for two of us. Service good and very friendly staff. Going like a fair at the time so given the remote location they must be getting it right.What more is there to life than beautiful scenery and great food?

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews