We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveler rating
281
119
36
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
119
36
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubbunk househill walkingstunning sceneryvenisonmacaroni cheeseunderfloor heatinggreat lunchreal aleself cateringfood serviceloch brandysconesgreat facilitieslovely walklocal producerelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 469 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing 7 night holiday in a Hideaway Lodge at Glen Cova, This was our first holiday to Scotland and was a long drive from Nottingham . However it was a perfect 'get away from it all 'break .The Lodge was of the highest standard & nothing was overlooked. Slippers,hot tub, indoor suana, bbq, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, microwave ...everything we could have possibly asked for to make it a wonderful experience. The scenery & surroundings were stunning and we really enjoyed walking& exploring the area ...especially Glen Doll , 3 miles up the road . The Glen Cova Hotel was only 2 minutes from our Lodge & we enjoyed 2 meals there during the week . Friendly staff & special mention to the Lovely Kim who chatted to us and made us feel very welcome. The food was delicious ! Worth noting that there is no phone signal and nearest town or shops is in Kirremiuir ....11 miles away ! But we loved the solitude and it made us relax without 'outside' intrusion ! ...If this is for you .....go there...... .you will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed with my elderly parents in the Glen Clova Lodge - we had the one called Angus. Really good choice as each bedroom has its own en-suite and the Lodges are finished to a high standard. Good for those less mobile as all on one level. underfloor heating must be fab in winter. Hot Tub lovely and maintained daily, great views from the tub and the decking. Liked that they supplied separate towels for the hot tub. The location is beautiful and isolated (no mobile phone signal) and there are lots of challenging and not so challenging walks either direct from the lodges or a short drive up to Glen Doll. The food at the hotel is ok and reasonably priced.
During the week out of peak season the choice of food for lunch was limited at the hotel. My parents asked for a sandwich and were told they could only have a panni or baguette, even though the hotel had bread, they were told they could only have bread if they ordered soup! Seems a bit inflexible. That said the Lodges themselves are great and we would go again.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodges they are high quality and well fitted out
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped in lovely Glen Clova while out for a Sunday jaunt. After disappointment in Kirriemuir the hotel was a welcome sight. Home made scones with jam and cream - very fresh and very tasty. Reasonably priced at just over £8 for two of us. Service good and very friendly staff. Going like a fair at the time so given the remote location they must be getting it right.What more is there to life than beautiful scenery and great food?

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in one of the lodges and had a great weekend. The hot tub was up to temperature by the evening and there were clear instructions on how to work the sauna. Great water pressure in the showers and no shortage of hot water. We also made use of the secure storage area on the ground floor for our bikes. Lots of towels provided too. We ate in the hotel restaurant (we booked a bar table) and on the advice of the owner pre-booked. Glad we did as the weather was great and the hotel was busy! The food was excellent and the only issue was dealt with promptly and professionally. Couldn't recommend it enough - we will be back in 2014!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keyora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from my 3rd weekend at the glen lodges and they are now even better with the new 3rd room. We were a group of 3 couples, spent our days relaxing, bbqs drinks in the pub which has a great games room. Wish we had another couple of days there. Lodges are well decorated and have everything you need, hottub is fantastic. Can't recommend glen cloca enough it is just bliss!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews