We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Grub!”
Review of Glen Clova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Clova Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Certificate of Excellence
Nailsea
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Grub!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A great lunch to celebrate our 30th anniversary, with two friends. Service friendly and swift, lovely surroundings, great views. Two course lunch with drinks, well under 100 squid for four of us. Highly recommended. PS From previous visits, the high tea's are worth investigating ,too!
Keith M

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 977krm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    101
    31
    19
    12
See reviews for
100
175
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

i took my fiance up here in october for a week. we stayed in the hideaway lodges and it was brilliant. lodge is state of the art, large master bedroom, sauna, big livingroom and of course the hot tub! always on, heated and got lots of different settings, looks out to forest and valley- stunnig views. only thing i could say was bad, was that the tv was mounted to the wall so couldnt see it from the hottub! but then again, your not there just to sit and watch tv

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warden1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a beautiful place… perfect for walks around the valley. We went there for lunch and it was very good. The home-made goats’ cheese tart was excellent and so were the fish and chips. And what a view of the hills from the restaurant window! We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidgetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have just returned from a team away day at the Glen Clova hotel. We were very impressed with this hotel - the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the food is lovely, the rooms are decorated to the standard you would expect and there was a good selection of beers. Lesley (the hotel manager) organised mountain biking for us, a space for our team discussion and booked dinner for us. She even took us on a tour of the lodges next to the hotel which are lovely.
As there are only 10 rooms in the hotel, it is only suitable for a small team trip, but I would highly recommend it. It was not as expensive as some of the other options we were looking at and I think worked out much better. Everything was organised professionally and nothing was too much trouble. Would like to go back soon!!

Room Tip: the four poster room is lovely and has a big bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries scotland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night mid week break at a Hideaway Lodge on Glen Cova. Talk about chilled out, this is the most relaxing holiday we have ever had! We were there to celebrate my retirement & fingers x'd the rest of my retirement will be this relaxing.
The lodge was beautiful, our 1st impression was it was brand new only to be told they are around 2 yrs old. It was tastefully decorated with all mod cons & a fantastic sleigh bed with a very comfortable memory foam mattress. The living room had a very comfortable leather suite with large wall mounted tv& DVD player. The kitchen area contained everything you would ever need. Cooker,microwave, dishwasher, washer/dryer & large fridge/freezer. The cupboards were stocked with all the equipment you would ever need & more. They even supply foil,cling film,drying/ dish cloths,washing up liquid,dishwasher tablets & laundry tablets salt& pepper, tea,coffee& sugar..they even give you a pint of milk & orange juice in the fridge to start you off. The shower room is nice & spacious & contains a small sauna. Outside on the veranda is the "piece de resistance"! A beautiful jacuzzi all ready for you to luxuriate in with a glass of (plastic for safety reasons) bubbly. We certainly made full use of it. Using it in all weather. It was particularly nice using it at night. It's VERY dark there & the changing lights in the jacuzzi made it really special. The veranda also has a table & chair set & just beyond a barbecue..weather permitting,but don't forget your coal! The views from the lodge & veranda are breathtaking. Snow caped mountains & valleys with sheep & lambs. No phone signal or wifi but the hotel has free wifi.Almost forgot, lovely fluffy towels are supplied & large towels for use when you have been in the jacuzzi. The only thing we found missing was a toast rack & cloths airer but this caused us no problem. This really is a gem of a place, so very tranquil. A little gem among the hills. We chose to eat in the hotel each evening. They served good home made food. The staff were pleasant & helpful. Worth a visit. NB. If you are grilling in your lodge it is an oven/ grill & oven door has to be left down making it difficult to manoeuvre around it. The edge of the oven door is very sharp & gave my Husband a nasty scratch on his leg. We did report this to the Manager Lesley & she went to the lodge to check it out but unfortunately, did not feel it important enough to let us know what she plans to do about it! So please be careful!

Room Tip: Hideaway lodge for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank shonahowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was great, staff were great. Everytime I go up here I wonder if it will be as good as last time and it always is! So remote yet not to far from local towns! The snow just added a little something to it. Spent lots of time in front of the fire as was cold outside, but had some lovely walks over the two days I was there. Nothing like a nice few days the mountains with snow and luxury! :) will be back in 5 weeks!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProTaster S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Called in here for lunch 10 years ago and again last Thursday. The food during our first visit was excellent. We were in the area and called in again. Made to feel very welcome and the food was even better that we remember it from before.

The wild mushroom starter was one of the very best that we have had. Lots of different flavours and textures in a rich creamy sauce.

Lovely atmosphere and a gorgeous log fire burning in the wood burner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter&Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton of Clova
14.8 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
375 reviews
17.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
359 reviews
12.4 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
613 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
15.7 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Clova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Clova Hotel

Property: Glen Clova Hotel
Address: Glen Clova | Nr Kirriemuir, Milton of Clova DD8 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Milton of Clova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Clova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Clova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the idyllic serenity of the Angus glens, Glen Clova Hotel is the perfect get away. Our historic country hotel dates back to the Drovers Inn of the 1850's. The charm and allure of the hotel has been carefully preserved and we have exactly what you need to relax and escape. Our hotel provides the utmost pleasures of modern day living combined with a feeling of history. This is the ultimate Scottish get away. 10 en-suite rooms, bunkhouse that sleeps 32 with en-suite facilities & eight luxury lodges that sleep between 2 & 6 people and each have their own hot tub and sauna (prices vary depending on time of year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen Clova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Clova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing