We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveler rating
281
119
36
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
119
36
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubbunk househill walkingstunning sceneryvenisonmacaroni cheeseunderfloor heatinggreat lunchreal aleself cateringfood serviceloch brandysconesgreat facilitieslovely walklocal producerelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 469 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The drive to the Glen Cova Hotel is one of the prettiest we enjoyed on our trip to Scotland. To find such an Inn/Hotel at the end of this single track road was a delight. We had been up the road earlier in the day, and called in the afternoon to book a table for the evening. We sat in the bar section, and ordered a pub type meal. My wife had the lamb stew, and I had a ground lamb burger. Both were delicious. The place was very busy, with hikers, sporting folk, and visitors like ourselves. It was a memorable spot.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Baysidetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Found hotel more by chance when looking for a location for more hiking in this part of Scotland. Glen Clova is stunning! Saw so much wildlife here - even when just driving into the glen. Sadly no red squirrels which are meant to be plentiful in Glen Doll just up from Glen Clova. There is so much wonderful hiking and mountain biking to do here could happily spend a week or more here. Hotel is very convenient for this. Early cut off time for dinner was not convenient for evening walks - certainly put a spring in your step. I wouldn't say this hotel rated against others we stayed in for the culinary experience but then we didn't stay here for that. Bar was good with different local ales each night. Room good, would be helpful to have wifi in room rather than just around reception. For hiking try http://www.wikiloc.com/wikiloc/view.do?id=3079032 but there are many others too. Forestry Commission office at Glen Doll extremely friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed last night - in the four poster room. Staff are so friendly without being false and in your face. Room was great - quaint and kitsch. Could do with a new shower in the Four poster room but worked fine. TV has numerous channels which compared to what we had in a supposed four star luxury hotel in Edinburgh was great.
Bar lovely and cosy, tasty meal with good veggie options for me.
Good choice at breakfast - didnt have a cooked breakfast so dont know how good it was.
Chalets look amazing and would definitely consider them for a weekend break.
Missed my mobile signal but a 24 hour detox did me good!!
location is AMAZING!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperScotsGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Went here for a birthday party and would return, food was excellent room good, seems to be new shalets out the back the look the business.........................................................

Room Tip: Good place great staff............................................................................................................
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G3VVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We decided to take the children to Glen Clova on Sunday, after years of telling them about our nightmare school trip to Loch Brandy, some 35 years ago. We were delighted to see that the hotel has been considerably updated since then!

We had a great meal. The youngest had a children's steak pie, which frankly many adults would have struggled to finish, and declared it delicious. The other two had soup and paninis. The only complaint there was that the gammon in one was a bit too salty. The lentil soup went down particularly well. The adults both had lovely venison burgers, with great homemade chips.

The restaurant had been completely empty when we arrived, so we ate in the bar, which was quirky and nice. By the time we left though, the restaurant was full, with a nice mix of families and older couples.

We had intended to head off for a walk in the hills, but a serious downpour put us off. We'll be back to do it again though.

The children spied the hot tubs by the lodges too, and have been trying to persuade us to stay for a whole weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escorchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews