We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm hospitality, great food and blazing log fire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marykirk Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marykirk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marykirk Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marykirk
Glasgow
2 reviews
“Warm hospitality, great food and blazing log fire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Stayed one night at the Marykirk Hotel during the week before Christmas and returned with two local friends for dinner on a very cold, snowy night.

My room was comfortable, well furnished, and warm. I liked the trouser press. In the morning, the enormous cooked Scottish breakfast arrived quickly and was delicious.

Evening dinner was superbly cooked by the new chef and was served on piping hot plates; all three of us thoroughly enjoyed the food, especially the Beef Wellington.

The charming lady owner was very attentive and the waitress served the food efficiently and kept the drinks flowing. They also had my favourite malt whisky in stock.

The weather outside was awful with a heavy fall of snow, but the car park was accessible and the interior of the Hotel was as warm as toast. There was a large Christmas tree beautifully lit and decorated standing in the corner of the bar.

The blazing log fire in the bar and dining area was particularly welcoming and I noted a lot of people having meals and drinking at the bar – considering the terrible weather outside, a very good indicator of the popularity of the place.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel, both for food and as a place to stay; It’s a traditional family-run country hotel in a lovely rural area. I felt very welcome there and it’s warm and cheerful. It was a real haven in the terrible weather that week.

And the owner gave me a Christmas card. Nice touch.!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egonvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
10
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

I hav'n't stayed here, as my Mum lives in the village, but I've had many meals here over 20 years, the foods always been good for a rural pub, but the new owners have taken it up a notch. All the good standards, first class haddock & chips, home made steak pie, etc, but a new addition is lovely Malaysian curry, I've travelled all over & can vouch for it's authenticity!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Hotel right next to River Esk, so great for us fishers...New owner has taken over the Hotel this year and the place is much improved from last time I stayed.

Owners very attentive ....even washed and dried my waders for me, and put my caught fish into their customer fish freezer until I left.

Great food, early full cooked breakfast, super the packed lunches, cosy bar and a clean, comfortable room. What more could I ask for.... well, maybe I could have caught more fish !

I had a great week's fishing and enjoyed my stay very much. Recommended for fishermen, sportsmen etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wetfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed 2 nights when attending an exhibition in Aberdeen. All other local hotels were full but managed to get a room here. Room was very comfortable, clean and had all I required. Bar was a friendly place were food was served. Quality of food was excelent and varied. Breakfast was served in a small breakfast room and was of a high standard, I beleive all local produce. I would certainly stay again even though it was a 40 minute drive to Aberdeen. Would be lovely for a short break were the local cost and countryside could be explored.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leyburnlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marykirk
5.6 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.1 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
5.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
17.1 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marykirk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marykirk Hotel

Property: Marykirk Hotel
Address: Main Street | Montrose, Marykirk AB30 1UT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Marykirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marykirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marykirk Hotel is situated in the charming village of Marykirk, just 4 miles from Montrose town centre, and 30 minutes drive south of Aberdeen along the A90 dual carriageway. The Hotel nestles in the rolling Montrose countryside only 200 metres from the River Esk, world famous for its salmon and trout fishing. A former Coaching Inn, the hotel was built in the mid 1800s. As a Grade C Listed Building, it still retains original charm and character although tastefully modernised: all guest room accommodation have en-suite facilities, central heating, flat screen TVs, and tea/coffee making facilities. Standing in an acre of grounds, the Marykirk Hotel has a landscaped beer garden plus a small front car park and a rear car park for 20+ cars. Both car parks are monitored by CCTV. The Hotel has a full Hotel Licence and a Children's Licence. Families with children are particularly welcome in both the bar and restaurant. As well as our cosy Stables Bar serving bar meals every lunchtime and evenings, the Marykirk's Esk Restaurant seats 35 persons and is open in the evenings from Friday to Sundays, offering quality dining at competitive prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marykirk Hotel Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing