We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, but not worth the price”
Review of Loch Kinord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loch Kinord Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had chosen this hotel from trip advisor because of it's location and reviews. In particular the gourmet restaurant which was the high point of our stay there.

The down side, and I emphasise a slight dissapointment rather than a reason never to return is that we booked their premium room but found it small with the space taken up by a king size four poster bed.

There is no veiw, except from where I slept I had a street lamp directly outside illuminating the room so the curtains must be closed, not a fault of the proprietor obviously but a consideration when setting the price.

Lots of hot water on tap and a large bath but the temprature when using the shower fluctuated constantly from very hot to freezing again an acceptable annoyance in itself at any hotel where you have to share water pressure but taken all together with a £95 (b&b) price tag, sorry but it didn't make the grade.

I would return simply for the food though, the restaurant was delightful staffed by very pleasant waitresses and the dishes we had were excellent. We had pre booked the two course option with our room but added the coffee bean ice cream and a lemon tart I would highly recommended them both.

Breakfast served in the same style was delightful rounding off our stay as a good experience

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and our reveiw is based on it only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadrat102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 374 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel last week and could not praise the service, food and comfort enough. We also had the room with 4 poster bed and whirlpool bath - very impressive. Planning to go back next year already

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I would just like to say a big thanks to all the staff who accomodated me and my wife's needs on Saturday 2nd November. We had been meaning to stop by for a couple of years as the hotel appeared so warm and welcoming, the staff were really helpfull and the food was first class. The views were outstanding and I would reccomend the hotel to anyone who would like a nice friendly stay away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Of all the places I have stayed in the area I would have to say that this hotel has been the best!

Thanks again for your hospitallity,

Andrew McGregor

Room Tip: The master suite has a sauna and a Jacuzzi and the food is fresh and locally sourced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked the hotel at the (almost) last minute when we wanted to stay in Aberdeen but literally could not find an available room anywhere in the city! I do actually like independent hotels - with the main chains you know what to expect but you could be in any city anywhere in the world. on arrival the welcome was warm and the hotel has bags of character. We actually got the last available room but it was clean and had all the facilities required. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent - local produce well cooked and presented and prompt and polite service. Likewise the breakfast which was individually cooked rather than a buffet. Next time we are in the area we will come back rather than stay in Aberdeen - its worth the drive!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simmo5810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

First off, Andrew, owner and manager, couldn't have been more helpful with us when we made our reservations. Helpful and informative as to activities around Dinnet, he made our stay totally enjoyable. The hotel is located between Ballater and Aboyne, right near Loch Kinord, making it an location for visiting Balmoral, for riding at Glentanar, and for seeing this phenomenal countryside.
Then there were the meals! I want that mushroom feullité recipe! The morning porridge, in addition to the rest of the lovely breakfast, was sooo worth getting of bed for. Oh the wonderful Salmon-GravadLax. Even if one stays elsewhere, I would definitely make Loch Kinord my dinner destination.
The rooms were nicely appointed, albeit not all with a view. There is a pleasant drawing room filled with books, a fireplace and a whisky bar. Outside the hotel there is a pleasant garden area with a porch, terrace and picnic tables to enjoy meals or an evening drink.
Service was very friendly.
In short, if I could, I would make this my home away from home in Scotland.

Room Tip: The family room upstairs had a large bedroom plus sitting area, which was big enough to sleep two ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabenoit01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Small comfortable hotel offering warm welcome :) We had a lovely room with four poster bed & whirlpool bath Staff very friendly & helpful Excellent breakfast cooked to order
Would definitely come back here & recommend to others

Room Tip: Ideally placed for trips to Ballater, Balmoral etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionap60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Perhaps we arrived at the wrong time, needing a room for a Saturday night we were disappointed by the poor decor and standard of the attic room, it was scruffy to say the least. Dinner on the Saturday evening was as good as we had eaten elsewhere in Scotland, but more expensive..Staff were helpful and couteous ,until we were ready to leave when presumably the owner(who was willing to accept my payment) watched as my husband struggled out of the hotel with several heavy items - had he offered to hold the door open it would have meant a grat deal!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
5.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
647 reviews
4.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
287 reviews
11 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
404 reviews
20 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
291 reviews
19.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Kinord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Kinord Hotel

Address: Ballater Road | Royal Deeside, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Price Range: $99 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Kinord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside making an ideal location for many sporting & tourist activities in the area including Balmoral Castle, whiskey distillery, Cairngorm National Park and Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve on the doorstep. Great food, fine wine and Malt Whiskey to enjoy in front of real fires. Family owned and run country house hotel so you can be sure of a warm welcome and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Kinord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Kinord
Loch Kinord Dinnet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing