We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”
Review of Loch Kinord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loch Kinord Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had three nights at the Loch Kinord and would heartily recommend it. We found it idealy located for both the Lecht and Glenshee ski areas with both within about 45 minutes drive. The hotel is delightfull with a nice restaurant, lounge and bar. The room we had was well appointed with a good sized ensuite bathroom.

The management and staff are pleasant and helpful and the breakfast and dinner can't be faulted. The food in the restaurant is exceptionally good and dining there is not to be missed.

We will certainly stay again as and when we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    118
    40
    18
    12
See reviews for
52
213
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hi my partner and i stayed here for 1 night we had excellent service,, the food was perfect and made your mouth water just thinking about it,, the room was nice everything that you wanted or needed in a hotel and the staff were so friendly and helpful,
would definitely come back here and recommend to to others,
Thank you for making my stay so nice,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn2038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I am staying at a local guest house and this venue was suggested to me to try for dinner one night. On arrival the owner greeted me and introduced me to one of the very polite waitresses who served my meal. I had the haggis starter which tasted lovely until I got down to the centre of it only to find it still frozen. The meal wa returned and a new starter brought out, this one had been left in the microwave for far too long ( I assume to make sure it was cooked through?) and was therefore hard on the outside.

I then ordered the Aberdeen Angus on the recommendation of the staff, on its arrival it could only be described as the worst cut of meat I've had since I've been staying in Deeside. I asked for it to be cooked medium to well done but got rare! This was such a disappointment as my hosts had recommended I try the hotel for dinner, unfortunately dinner was not great but the staff were lovely. I am sure this instance was a one off but based on this experience it s doubtfull that I will be returning as the boat in Aboyne servers a much nicer aberdeen angus at a more realistic price. I am sure the owners work hard to try and offer a good product but on this occasion they were let down by the chef, the food had potential but did not live up to the expectations that the menu eluded to, one other item to note here was that my white wine was warm! Unlike my haggis!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcbaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Enjoyed a pleasant evening out in the warm and comfortable atmosphere of Loch Kinord's cosy bar and restaurant. The menu was imaginative, the food delicious and beautifully presented and the service excellent. Dinnet is situated between Aboyne and Ballater an area in which there are few good quality restaurants. In consideration of the quality of food and the wine list prices this hotel offers very good value for money coupled with very friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustWilliam15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

First time we have stayed here but would definitely come back. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely room with 4 poster bed. Impressed that a teapot was included in complementary basket of tea,coffee etc. These little touches make such a difference.
The evening meal was excellent with plenty of choice. Loved the lamb and of course the sticky toffee pudding.
Lovely large lounge to relax by the fire with your tea or coffee after the meal.
Great breakfast served by our friendly host Andrew.
Wonderful scenery all around.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was no 15 and had a lovely 4 poster bed. At side of hotel towards the back. Very quiet. Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsclicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Small and comfortable hotel which was warm even in February. 4 poster bed, traditional furniture and luscious tartan curtains at the window. Generous basket of tea, coffee, biscuits etc and nice bathroom. Quiet night's sleep and good breakfast served by the genial host. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed on a 2 night dinner bed & breakfast break between Christmas & New Year.
The choice & quality of evening meals was excellent and the cooked to order breakfasts a delight.
The waitress was attentive pleasant and very professional.
Our room was warm clean & comfortable.
We have stayed at this hotel previously and plan to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countryjo186490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
5.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
613 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
193 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
376 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Kinord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Kinord Hotel

Property: Loch Kinord Hotel
Address: Ballater Road | Royal Deeside, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Kinord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside making an ideal location for many sporting & tourist activities in the area including Balmoral Castle, whiskey distillery, Cairngorm National Park and Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve on the doorstep. Great food, fine wine and Malt Whiskey to enjoy in front of real fires. Family owned and run country house hotel so you can be sure of a warm welcome and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Kinord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Kinord
Loch Kinord Dinnet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing