We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, comfortable hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Kinord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Kinord Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights due to a big family Golden Anniversary weekend. As a family of 4 we were accommodated in one of the lodges to the rear of the hotel. The lodge was very comfortable, clean and cozy with all the amenities, kitchenette, flat screen TV, good shower, plenty of storage and proper hangers (not those anti-theft things I hate). Breakfast, lunch and dinner all excellent, staff welcoming and friendly, malt whisky and open fires (important in June for Scotland) what more would you want.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceB1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    115
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
203
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I called about staying at the loch kinnord with our 2 small dogs, their website said they had 'dog friendly' rooms so I thought I would check if they had one available. When I called I spoke to a woman who I now believe to be one of the owners.. She asked me to hold on, and i could hear her discussing rooms with another member of staff.. She was obviously jiggling rooms around so that we could get a room with our dogs, very good of her! She offered me a better deal on the room than was offered on lastminute.com for dinner, bed and breakfast. I hung up from the call very happy and impressed at the effort made to fit us in..

On arrival we were given a room right at the top of the hotel, which was small but comfortable and quiet.. Beware the bathroom ceiling above the toilet! We both bonked our heads on a couple of occasions. Unfortunately the shower didn't work and we had no hot water at all, so no bath. When we brought this up on check out the male owner ( we think ) seemed not to believe me, but apologised anyway saying he would look into it.

Dinner was lovely.. Quick service by the two lovely polish girls who shared a giggle or two with us due to a drunken single traveller who kept shouting over dinner and going into the kitchen!
Food was lovely, good menu with plenty choice. Steak cooked to perfection.

Unfortunatly it was bucketing of rain when we stayed, and we returned with the dogs after numerous pee trips soaked.. We tried to towel dry the smelly dogs in the foyer as best we could, and sat infront of the fire in the bar to help them dry, but the owner made no comment except that they were beautiful..

Over all we were impressed with how accomodating they were from the get go considering we had the two dogs.. We also came across the other doggy guest who got the dog friendly room, so knew the owners had put the effort in to find us another room.

Thanks for a lovely stay, we will return!

Room Tip: If your taking your dog, give the hotel a call to book rather than using the website incase their do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogDays_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-On-Thames
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Just back from our first ever week exploring Deeside, made extra special by the folks at Loch Kinord hotel. Stayed in one of the family cabins at the rear, lovely situation backing onto woods and a path that leads directly to the Loch, for some great walking, even with younger kids. And very good value as we could choose when to eat the the restaurant, and when to stay in. Location is perfect for exploring the area, Balmoral, about 20 minutes away, and lovely towns like Ballater, where we could rent bikes. Great cycling and walking trails all around. Family run hotel makes all the difference, the couple running the hotel were both really helpful pointing out places to check out, including a local fishing spot who taught our kids to fish!

Room Tip: Cabin No.8 is perfect for a family with 5 people - as it has three bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed for two nights and paid £90 per night for what turned out to be a small double (comfortable but small) - the breakfast was good - we had a evening meal our first evening which was excellant quality but a little expensive for 3 star as you had to have two or three courses plus supplements

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We returned to Loch Kinord, one of our favourite Hotels, to find a warm welcome, excellent food and service.
The staff could not have been more helpful, fresh milk provided to our room for brew ups!
The skill of our host is in part the selection of well trained staff who take a pleasure in working as part of a happy team.
We only stayed two nights but on both evenings enjoyed chatting to other guests from Australia, France, Holland and several Scottish couples.
As a bonus the surounding countryside is relatively flat and beautiful.
If you treat youself to a stay I sure like us you will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart68Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have stayed here for a few months through work and it is a real home from home, comfortable, great staff, great food and the owners are very helpful,

I would recommend the Loch Kinord for anyone who wants a good quality hotel at reasonable prices for Royal Deeside.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

My stay at Loch Kinord was not pleasant at all. I was told to make my own bed every morning and empty my own rubbish. Not something you'd expect from a hotel you pay a significant amount of money to stay in. The staff were somewhat arrogant and spoke to me with no respect or consideration. All in all a terrible stay at Loch Kinord and consequently i would not return, nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochkinord, Owner at Loch Kinord Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Please ignore this review as it is obviously not genuine and we have asked TA to remove it.

If we did not make beds or empy rubbish (every day) then I am sure other guests would have commented on this previously.

Usually, if something has been forgotten, (which does happen I may add!) a proper guest would probably remind us. However if something has been forgotten every day then surely a proper guest would have said something during their stay.

We have lovely staff who are only too pleased to help and we as the owners do our best to make guests feel at home and comfortable.

please look at all the other reviews to see how hard we try and how we as owner managers go out of our way to look after our guests. Please form your opinion from these.

Unfortunately, we cant stop ant Tom, Dick or Harry posting on the TA website and so we do attract malicious posters who have never stayed with us.


We look forward to welcoming & looking after "proper" guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
5.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
6.2 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
19.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Kinord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Kinord Hotel

Property: Loch Kinord Hotel
Address: Ballater Road | Royal Deeside, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Kinord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside making an ideal location for many sporting & tourist activities in the area including Balmoral Castle, whiskey distillery, Cairngorm National Park and Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve on the doorstep. Great food, fine wine and Malt Whiskey to enjoy in front of real fires. Family owned and run country house hotel so you can be sure of a warm welcome and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your Loch Kinord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Kinord
Loch Kinord Dinnet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing