We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small”
Review of Loch Kinord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loch Kinord Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed for two nights and paid £90 per night for what turned out to be a small double (comfortable but small) - the breakfast was good - we had a evening meal our first evening which was excellant quality but a little expensive for 3 star as you had to have two or three courses plus supplements

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Loch Kinord Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 366 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

We returned to Loch Kinord, one of our favourite Hotels, to find a warm welcome, excellent food and service.
The staff could not have been more helpful, fresh milk provided to our room for brew ups!
The skill of our host is in part the selection of well trained staff who take a pleasure in working as part of a happy team.
We only stayed two nights but on both evenings enjoyed chatting to other guests from Australia, France, Holland and several Scottish couples.
As a bonus the surounding countryside is relatively flat and beautiful.
If you treat youself to a stay I sure like us you will return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart68Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have stayed here for a few months through work and it is a real home from home, comfortable, great staff, great food and the owners are very helpful,

I would recommend the Loch Kinord for anyone who wants a good quality hotel at reasonable prices for Royal Deeside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My stay at Loch Kinord was not pleasant at all. I was told to make my own bed every morning and empty my own rubbish. Not something you'd expect from a hotel you pay a significant amount of money to stay in. The staff were somewhat arrogant and spoke to me with no respect or consideration. All in all a terrible stay at Loch Kinord and consequently i would not return, nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anon504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochkinord, Owner at Loch Kinord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Please ignore this review as it is obviously not genuine and we have asked TA to remove it.

If we did not make beds or empy rubbish (every day) then I am sure other guests would have commented on this previously.

Usually, if something has been forgotten, (which does happen I may add!) a proper guest would probably remind us. However if something has been forgotten every day then surely a proper guest would have said something during their stay.

We have lovely staff who are only too pleased to help and we as the owners do our best to make guests feel at home and comfortable.

please look at all the other reviews to see how hard we try and how we as owner managers go out of our way to look after our guests. Please form your opinion from these.

Unfortunately, we cant stop ant Tom, Dick or Harry posting on the TA website and so we do attract malicious posters who have never stayed with us.


We look forward to welcoming & looking after "proper" guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Booked three rooms here for a birthday weekend with friends, and a good choice it was. Lovely service and lovely people. Well done!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank SailAway1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We booked our stay here a few hours before our arrival and what a great choice. Our four poster bedroom was clean and comfortable and even with the snow falling outside we were warm and cosy. Our dinner was very good and the dining room nicely furnished topped off by a nightcap in the bar in front of the fire. We would love to come back to stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed in a lodge and had a very pleasant family break. The staff in the hotel were very welcoming and the accommodation was of a high standard. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. Lovely setting and lots of local walks. We will be recommending the Loch Kinord to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_DL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
5.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
628 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
19.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
197 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Kinord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Kinord Hotel

Address: Ballater Road | Royal Deeside, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Price Range: $102 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Kinord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside making an ideal location for many sporting & tourist activities in the area including Balmoral Castle, whiskey distillery, Cairngorm National Park and Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve on the doorstep. Great food, fine wine and Malt Whiskey to enjoy in front of real fires. Family owned and run country house hotel so you can be sure of a warm welcome and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Kinord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Kinord
Loch Kinord Dinnet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing