We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, beautiful food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Kinord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Kinord Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We booked our stay here a few hours before our arrival and what a great choice. Our four poster bedroom was clean and comfortable and even with the snow falling outside we were warm and cosy. Our dinner was very good and the dining room nicely furnished topped off by a nightcap in the bar in front of the fire. We would love to come back to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    115
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
203
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed in a lodge and had a very pleasant family break. The staff in the hotel were very welcoming and the accommodation was of a high standard. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. Lovely setting and lots of local walks. We will be recommending the Loch Kinord to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_DL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Jenny, Andrew and all the staff were so friendly and made you feel extremely welcome and relaxed from the first minute to the time we left, amazing food and the service was top class, lovely open fire to relax beside before sitting for dinner, and lovely local characters join in also, will most certainly go back many times, rooms are perfect for a nice break and cleaned to an extremely high standard, scenery is amazing and so relaxing, anyone wanting to stay in the area should certainly try this little friendly hotel, value for money guaranteed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Shanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Andrew and his team were extremely welcoming, great atmosphere and accommodated extra requests with ease and charm. Food was very good (in particular the puddings), lovely fires burning, rooms were slightly on the small side but you cannot change that, very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Having recently moved to the area my husband and I decided we'd go out for New Years Day for dinner but the vast majority of establishments were sadly closed. Luckily for us the Loch Kinnord Hotel was not. We read on here a few mixed reviews - about how the food let people down, bad service and unfriendly staff, dark unlit rooms etc but to be honest we did not experience this at all. We phoned initially to see whether they could accommodate non residents for dinner and left a message - received a prompt returned call from Andrew who booked us in for dinner in the restaurant. We made him aware that I am lactose intolerant as well as pregnant and he said that would not be an issue. We were greeted by Andrew in a warm manner and shown to the restaurant. The restaurant was clean, nicely presented with comfortable and stylish furnishings and lit by both candles and lights. Although the main lights were not on this was not a problem and it was by no means 'dark' as suggested in other reviews and it created a nice cosy atmosphere. The food was delicious and the chef was able to prepare freshly cooked local produce for both of us catering exceptionally well for my allergy. Normally chef's get away with just offering 'fruit' as a desert but instead I was offered a variety of items which was very surprising and most appreciated. There did not seem to be any complaints from any of the other guests dining either. Overall both my husband and I were very pleased with the service, food quality and choice and the hotel on a whole. Many thanks to Andrew and staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigglingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our stay at Loch Kinnord was comfortable and very cosy on a cold winter night! Andrew and the other staff were attentive, friendly and cheerful. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay. The area is very beautiful - picture perfect when there is a fine blanket of snow. The local people are lovely. Would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubled525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I hired the Loch Kinord hotel for my wedding reception, so my wife and I and all our guests had the run of the place for two nights. The reception was fantastic and the food was amazing (everyone commented on the food afterwards). The Holytree Hall out back is a great place for a ceilidh or any other entertainment with a nice bar too. The rooms are great with everything you'd need/want and the service from Andrew and his staff is excellent. The price was very reasonable too for everything we had - if you book your reception here you won't be disappointed, and I'd recommend you go for the full deal booking all the rooms as it makes for a very relaxed atmosphere with everyone enjoying themselves not having to worry about other guests. The location of the hotel is great too, between Aboyne and Ballater - 2 great places for a visit if you've never been out that way before.

Room Tip: Room 3 has an amazing sauna/spa bath plus a four poster bed, while room 22 has a fourposter bed, a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtrip4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
5.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
6.2 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
19.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Kinord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Kinord Hotel

Property: Loch Kinord Hotel
Address: Ballater Road | Royal Deeside, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Kinord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside making an ideal location for many sporting & tourist activities in the area including Balmoral Castle, whiskey distillery, Cairngorm National Park and Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve on the doorstep. Great food, fine wine and Malt Whiskey to enjoy in front of real fires. Family owned and run country house hotel so you can be sure of a warm welcome and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Loch Kinord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Kinord
Loch Kinord Dinnet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing