We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotland at it's most welcoming”
Review of Glendavan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendavan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Dinnet B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the start of July and had a fabulous time. The welcome was so friendly, and we were told to make ourselves at home. Our room was very comfortable - the house is Victorian-era, so most furnishings etc. are antique but very much in keeping. We slept like a log in a huge, comfortable bed and breakfasted like kings with a beatiful cooked-to-order full Scottish - perfect! Glendavan is in the most quiet, serene spot you could imagine but handy for Royal Deeside and all around. There were three other couples who stayed over our two nights and everyone raved about the place - we can't all be wrong. Alan, Moira and Rebecca are a real credit to the place, and really went that extra mile to help make our weekend memorable. We'll definitely go back! Oh, and try the shortbread...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fife_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2010

Rebecca and her parents Moire and Alan run probably the best B&B in the country. A wonderful forest setting, a large, exquisitely appointed house and the best breakfast ever. We were lucky to stay in the Ongston suite, which was so much more that that, a huge bedroom, connected to a fully furnished study connected to a lovely conservatory outside which you could see squirrels rummaging through peanuts right through the day
One point worth mentioning is they were the only B&B who offered to launder our clothes in their washing machine which is such a big boon, especially if you are travelling for a couple of weeks.
Definitely will look to visit them again

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marzdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

During our 14 day tour of Scotland, we experienced some very good B+B's but Glendavan House was right there up at the top.

Moira & Alan Milne together with their daughter Rebecca have thought of everything when it comes to running a B+B. The house is beautifully furnished & our room, the Davan suite, was magnificent, large & very comfortable. The separate bathroom was not an issue as it was very close & for our sole use. Check their photos on their website. Lovely as they look, it's even better in real life.

The breakfasts, cooked by Alan & delivered by Rebecca, was truly superb. Again, we had some great breakfasts along the way but Glendavan's was better than any other.

If you have the opportunity to stop in this area of Royal Deeside, which is well worthwhile, I would strongly recommend that you book into Glendavan House.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macdaddyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

The house is a ten-minute drive from Aboyne and is in a peaceful, rural setting.

We stayed in the Trantor Suite, which is spacious and beautifully decorated with antiques. The open fire was lit for us whilst we were out in the evening. Free wi-fi was provided.

The breakfast was the best breakfast we had enjoyed on our holiday in Wales and Scotland. Choices on the menu were extensive and all cooked to order, without the need to pre-order the night before.

The hosts are very welcoming and informative about the local area. They aim, and meet, very high standards of hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarranTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Let me say first of all, I have never stayed at the same place twice before and don't visit the same cities etc more than once, I think the world is too big for that. That said, we were so impressed with this place we had to go back and stay here again.

We stayed here for one night during December 2009 and it was just as good as the first time.

Its an amazing house, with fantasic hospitality, great rooms, great atmosphere, amazing breakfast, you just cant fault it and I am VERY fussy.

If you are looking for a night away in the country this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSJAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

This was our second stay, we first stayed Oct 14 2008 and returned a year later, what an excellent place. We stayed in the suite upstairs last year and then the suite downstairs this year, the hospitality was superb,as was the food. The rooms are gorgeous, spotless and so comfy. The local amenities are great, good food, golf, river Dee etc, loads to do. Cant wait a year for our third visit and have agreed we need to spend more than a night next time so looking forward to a fantastic week end away as soon as possible. We have recommended Glendaven House to many friends. Thanks for a wonderful stay both times.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneMulgrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

This was the first B&B on our scotland trip & it set the standard to a almost unreachable level. Honestly, it was just fabulous. Perfect wheather, perfect environment, wow what a room (absolutely loved the bathtub in the separate bathroom), superfriendly hosts & the breakfast was amazing aswell.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiukohah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
0.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Morven Lodge
Morven Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ballater
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
No 45
No 45
#2 of 17 in Ballater
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendavan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendavan House

Address: Glendavan House Road B9119, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dinnet
Price Range: $169 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glendavan House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendavan House is a 5* Gold Bed and Breakfast offering quality accommodation in spacious and luxurious suites of rooms. Each suite comprises large bedroom, en-suite bathroom and en-suite sitting room with real coal fires that will be lit for you in the evenings. The Ogston Suite also comprises a lovely conservatory from which you can watch the army of red squirrels and birds that play on the decking outside. Situated in glorious and peaceful countryside fringing the Muir of Dinnet Nature reserve and within the Cairngorms National Park, Glendavan House offers a fabulous retreat from busy life. Peace and relaxation guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Glendavan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing