We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptionnal bed and breakfast !”
Review of Glendavan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendavan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Dinnet B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went for the second time in Glendavan House in october. The house is truly magnificent and so the furniture and decoration. Excellent service and breakfast. Located in the Cairngorns, it's a nice place for walkers and nature lovers. But this place would not be perfect without warm welcome of the Milne family, delicate and thoughtful...It seems that the time stops in such places... Deeply recommended !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our two day break here with family and friends. Friendly hosts and their lovely daughter Rebecca just made our holiday. The bedrooms and in fact the whole house is beautifully furnished, full of character and spotlessly clean. Tea and homemade shortbread on arrival was most welcome. There was lots to do in the local area and several lovely places to eat nearby. Can't wait to return here someday.

Room Tip: No need to add a tip as there are only three rooms and each one is beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Trantor Suite in September 2012 (was forced to choose Oct 2012 from the drop-down)-I regret that I didn't get around to writing this recommendation immediately upon our return home last year.
After being awake all night on the plane from Canada, driving to the Braemar Gathering, and spending all day at The Gathering-we were knackered! To arrive at Glendavan House and see where we would spend the next two nights resulted in two enormously deep sighs. The pictures on the website are nice, but don't nearly capture the warmth and comfort of Glendavan. So much of the warmth of the place comes from hosts Alan, Moira and Rebecca. Every need was satisfied so effortlessly, our only regret was that we booked another B&B not too far away for our next stop, when we should have stayed where we were!
Our only warning is that if Alan suggests a 'wee' walk, then have a care, we walked 26km our first day in the hills at his recommendation, but then coming back to soak in the enormous bath, followed by warmed towels and port in the sitting room and a delicious breakfast next morning, had us ready to take on the world, once again! (and the recommended walk was excellent too)
We'd go out of our way to stay at Glendavan again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in July 2013. We had the Ogston suite which was very spacious and had its own conservatory with a regular cabaret of red squirrels just outside. The house has a great deal of character, is interestingly furnished with antiques and is beautifully situated among pines in an open setting near a minor road (neither seen nor heard). Alan and Moira make you welcome, provide good local advice and, if you ask in advance, will provide a splendid hamper dinner of soup, deli items, pudding and coffee. They also have a supply of bottles of wine at very fair prices. Breakfast is provided by the energetic Rebecca and included mango (beautifully prepared) and passion fruit on our first day. Very good value.

Room Tip: Ogston Suite is all on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gandnmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I can't fault this wonderful house and hosts. We have stayed in plenty of castles and mansion houses but this had the most perfect mix of quality and price. We were welcomed by Alan who showed us around the house and to our suite (which was a surprise to me since I thought i'd booked only a room), Then he bought up tea and shortbread to our room and explained something about local walks. The location was really nice - away from the road so no traffic noise, views of the forest and hills in the distance.
The room itself had a huge bathroom and lovely big bath. the sitting room with writing desk was lovely also as was the cosy bedroom and four poster bed.
Breakfast also exceeded expectations when the friendly Rebecca cooked up one of the best breakfasts i've had and a huge serving also. There was a great selection of fresh fruits and youghurt and cereals also on offer.
It turned out we'd been upgraded from the bedroom to the upstairs suite, which was very welcome and done at no extra charge.
The only problem with the stay was that we only booked one night and are longing to go back already. I would put this in the top 5 places we've stayed in ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Le066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Superb suite (bedroom, sitting room and bathroom) in beautiful home in the Cairngorms. Great welcome and hospitality from Rebecca, Moira and Alan. They immediately made us feel at home and were very helpful with expert advise.
So much enjoyed looking from our bedroom window in the morning at the red squirrels having their snacks, before being spoilt ourselves by a wonderful full Scottish breakfast.
Hope to come back to this lovely place in the near future. No better place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanellus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I cannot praise this B&B enough we stayed for 3 nights and it was absolutely fantastic from the warm welcome on arrival to the first class breakfasts everything was perfect. Rebecca and Alan could not have been more helpful. We really enjoyed the red squirrels. Hope to be back again soon. Once again thank you. Michele and Mark

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
0.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
No 45
No 45
#2 of 17 in Ballater
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morven Lodge
Morven Lodge
#5 of 17 in Ballater
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendavan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendavan House

Address: Glendavan House Road B9119, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dinnet
Price Range: $169 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glendavan House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendavan House is a 5* Gold Bed and Breakfast offering quality accommodation in spacious and luxurious suites of rooms. Each suite comprises large bedroom, en-suite bathroom and en-suite sitting room with real coal fires that will be lit for you in the evenings. The Ogston Suite also comprises a lovely conservatory from which you can watch the army of red squirrels and birds that play on the decking outside. Situated in glorious and peaceful countryside fringing the Muir of Dinnet Nature reserve and within the Cairngorms National Park, Glendavan House offers a fabulous retreat from busy life. Peace and relaxation guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Glendavan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing